We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Great Golf” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Banff Springs Golf Course

Banff Springs Golf Course
Ranked #9 of 31 Outdoor Activities in Banff
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Designed by the late Stanley Thompson, this challenging 6,729-yard, 27-hole course offers scenic thrills and golf challenges throughout its "Stanley Thompson 18" and "The Tunnel 9" courses.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
“Great Golf”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

The course was in beautiful condition. The only unpleasant experience occurred around the washroom facilities near holes 6 & 7...the smell was so bad we couldn't use the facilities. Hopefully that has been corrected, because it's a great course and for the price of green fees, should never have a negative comment made.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sherry O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

187 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    111
    53
    12
    7
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Gaithersburg, Maryland
Level Contributor
85 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“One of the best golf courses!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

DO NOT miss playing this great track. The views are simply amazing. The course was in superb condition with greens rolling incredibly fast. The prices are high but expected. Just wish they offered a twilight rate to play late in the afternoon. The rentals were new Titleist, including Scotty putter. Would highly recommend for any golfer.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank cmangum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, Canada
Level Contributor
119 reviews
37 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“It's worth every penny.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

I have always wanted to play this course. When I was 18 I worked in Banff and I couldn't afford it. When I was 29 I lived in Calgary and I didn't have time, and I couldn't afford it. When I was 40 I lived in Toronto and as a family we travelled to Banff in the winter so even if I could have afforded it, it was closed. Now that I am 62 I finally played Stanley Thompson's gem of a layout and I LOVED it. The weather changed every five minutes. We had sun and clouds and some thunder and some rain but we pressed on. I am now a reasonably good golfer with a 12 handicap but I didn't find the course too difficult and neither did my higher handicap pals. We took carts because of the weather but it is a walkable track except for a couple of hikes - one beside the lovely Spray River, and the other to an elevated tee. My advice - if you are in Banff and you love to play golf just pay the price and do it. You won't regret it. And for goodness sakes take your camera.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Tim G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fairmont Banff Springs Golf Course”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

The Fairmont Banff Springs Golf Course is one of the most scenic golf courses in North America. Every hole is breathtaking and the grounds are very well maintained. The mountains, rivers and woods surrounding the course are amazing. It is one of the most beautiful courses in the world. I played with my son here and would like to bring him back.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Dr-CB1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario
Level Contributor
40 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Jaw dropping scenery”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

It's hard to focus on your game when the scenery is so stunning. Therefore we played twice. The course is well looked after, and should be on the bucket list of every golfer. #15 looks intimidating but probably my most favourite hole.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Calypso88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Banff Springs Golf Course also viewed

 
Jasper, Jasper National Park
Canmore, Kananaskis Country
 

Been to Banff Springs Golf Course? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing