We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“View of the Hotel is compelling” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Surprise Corner

Surprise Corner
Book In Advance
More Info
$107.09*
and up
Banff and Lake Louise Full-Day Tour with a Small Group
Ranked #10 of 75 things to do in Banff
Certificate of Excellence
Titusville
Level Contributor
1,602 reviews
1,083 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1,294 helpful votes
“View of the Hotel is compelling”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2013

We visited the Bow Waterfalls and took pictures of the hotel way up on the hill, then we took the Surprise Corner option on the other side of the river once we saw folks why up there looking down. This turnoff gives you a wonderful view of the hotel as well as the falls below. Walking up and down the roadway gives you very different perspectives. A very short ride out of town along Bow River. Very accessible.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank James H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

449 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    213
    163
    66
    5
    2
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Ok for a short visit”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2013

The location does provide a view of the Bow Falls but outside that it is considered a short stop and not much else to do. We prefer the Gondola lift and the scenery from top of the mountain. But kind of ok.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Kate B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
89 reviews
57 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Great view”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2013

Nice spot to stop and see the area, great view and interesting explanations. We got to see a young deer just by the parking lot which was also very nice.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank OrnaLavie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Charles, Louisiana, Usa
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“A real surprise!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2013

We stopped to view the hotel across the valley, but the real surprise was to see an Elk casually meander across the road with all the tourists around!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank taylorc225
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
118 reviews
61 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Nice place for a quick photo stop”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013

worth the couple of minutes for a photo op. We tried following the path down to the water but couldn't find the end of the trail... Drive over to the other side for a view of the Bow Falls.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank ddkphotos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Surprise Corner also viewed

Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 
Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 

Been to Surprise Corner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing