We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good choice for breakfast” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Chinook Family Restaurant

Chinook Family Restaurant
Ranked #60 of 142 Restaurants in Banff
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $26
Cuisines: American, Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids, Business meetings, Large groups
Dining options: Brunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Buffet, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: The Chinook Family Restaurant offers stunning views of the surrounding Rockies, while you enjoy a casual, relaxed dining experience that caters to all ages, most budgets and practically all tastes. If you are in the hotel or in Banff on Sunday, don't miss Banff's Best Sunday Brunch. The brunch features a wide selection of hot and cold entrees, salads, seafood, full breakfast selection including an omelet station, carving station and a wide variety of desserts, fruit and cheeses. Indulge your chocolate cravings with our spectacular chocolate fountain. Senior prices are available.
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
178 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Good choice for breakfast”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2013

Easy to get to (inside Banff Park Lodge). Tasty selections for buffet breakfast. Well-lit large room accommodates a good-sized crowd.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Morris-Madison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    73
    46
    12
    12
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Skip this place for breakfast”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2013

I love Banff and all the excellent restaurants but this one came up short on my expectations. Breakfast is important to me so when they came up short I was very disappointed. My toast was cold and the butter was unmelted which makes my skin crawl. My wife's eggs were not cooked to
expectations and the coffee tasted like it had been made last week. I have never been there before and likely will stick to other places for breakfast. I disliked it so much I never even took any pictures.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Patsfancanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Wow”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2013 via mobile

Incredible Western Buffet! Excellent breakfast buffet. The only change I'd recommend would be to leave the breakfast buffet out longer for those of us who can't crawl out of those extremely comfortable beds in your hotel before 10 am :)

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank RickandVicky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Level Contributor
66 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“The Best Seafood Buffet EVER....”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2013

We visited the restaurant for the Seafood Buffet night which is a Friday after a recommendation from a firned in Banff. The seafood was amazing and so much choice. Scallops, prawns, fish and as many crab legs as you can eat - and we ate lots! All of the food was very well presented and really tasty. There was even a chef cooking one of the prawn dishes fresh for you which was amazing.

Our server Reese was wonderful and really looked after us. The Restaurant Manager Alec was very friendly and attentive ensuring we had everything we needed.

We visit Banff every March and will definately be back for the Seafood buffet next year!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
4 Thank SpinkysWorldTour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banff, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Super Seafood”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2013

Went to the Seafood buffet with some friends visiting from York, UK. We all had the best experience. Our server Reese was a delight. The food was excellent with never ending crab legs. I am from Nova Scotia so really appricate good seafood considering Alberta is land locked. The sauteed shrimp was amazing. Great moubtain views as we watched the snow fall. Loved it and would recommend to everyone. They do it right!!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank allyanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chinook Family Restaurant also viewed

Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 
Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 

Been to Chinook Family Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing