We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“A short drive up Tunnel Mountain Drive” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tunnel Mountain Drive

Tunnel Mountain Drive
Book In Advance
$96*
and up
Banff City Sightseeing Tour
Ranked #11 of 69 things to do in Banff
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
454 reviews
218 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 177 helpful votes
“A short drive up Tunnel Mountain Drive”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

This is one of the attractions in Banff. We went for a short walk and saw the Hoodoos. They were nothing compared to Bryce Park in Utah but there is a beautiful view of the Bow Valley and the mountains in the distance. There are long and short trails around for hikers.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank seema60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

435 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    199
    173
    58
    4
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
931 reviews
478 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 422 helpful votes
“Wonderful views”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

This is a lovely short drive around the Banff area. As well as enjoying the wonderful views we were fortunate enough to see wildlife during our trip. Well worth including this drive in your schedule when visiting Banff.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank manswa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
derbyshire
Level Contributor
107 reviews
41 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Don't miss the views”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

From our accommodation it was easier to access by using this drive so we stopped a couple of times to look at the view. You can often see some wildlife in the valley so take binoculars.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank guest2302
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
80 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“One of our favourite views”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

After driving up quite a bit, we found a nice viewpoint which had views of all the major mountains in the Banff Area, the Hoodoos, Banff Spring hotel and the golf course. It was very secluded so we sat back on the bench and took in the peaceful scenery.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank universalis123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Windy, scenic lookout”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

From the vantage of Tunnel Mountain, one can see from various clearings, sightings of Banff below. The power of the flooded river in June 2013, or the surrounding granite spires of the timeless Rockies, and the charm of this town surrounded by this beauty. Definitely take a drive on Tunnel Mountain. Lots of good accommodation there too.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Colleen F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tunnel Mountain Drive also viewed

Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 
Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 

Been to Tunnel Mountain Drive? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing