We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Excellent!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Lodge Bed & Breakfast & Cabins

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Holiday Lodge Bed & Breakfast & Cabins
Ranked #7 of 33 Banff B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Edmonton, Alberta
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Excellent!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

My friend and I stayed here on a girls' trip in July 2013. The lodge was easy to book and close to everything. We stayed in one of the cabins and it was ideal for the two of us, very quaint and cute. It's not exactly luxurious but has everything you need, and the owner is very accommodating. I would absolutely recommend this place to anyone...plus the price is right! You can't go wrong!
The only con: no air conditioning

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Luv2Travel011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    19
    4
    2
    1
See reviews for
12
46
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Level Contributor
104 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

I stayed there for two nights in September.
I had one of the two rooms in the house itself located on the 1st floor. One of the room is larger with a larger outside bathroom, and mine was the smaller one with the smaller outside bathroom.
It was nice and had a very homey feeling.
The owner is a great person and I think she is the only owner I have ever met in a B&B that like to speak and share so much with her guests and she really treats us as guests. She knows the park very well and is of very good counsel (plus she had tons of guides too read).
She does a great breakfast and her muffins are just delicious. I should have asked the recipe before leaving.
The house is very well located, just minute by feet from the city center and all the shopping areas.
Please note due to the train not being far, ear plugs are a must in the whole city as it is quite noisy at night and early morning!
PS2: The only low point is that the rooms in the house do not have a tv so if you want to watch tv you have to go downstairs which I really do not like to do after a long day of travel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ParisianAgnes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coquitlam, Canada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

Karin's B & B is similar to going home - warm and welcoming! I have stayed here on numerous occasions and would highly recommend for location, price and overall atmosphere. While not new or large, the facilities are extremely clean and the food is delicious and homemade! Karin encourages guests to use the sitting room, make a cup of tea, watch tv or visit with other guests.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Valerie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vacaville, California
Level Contributor
153 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

This is real vintage charm. This is an old (1920's?) house with vintage bathrooms and squeaky floors. We loved it. It is centrally located within walking distance of downtown, and we were easily able to walk to the Fairmont for brunch and the river walk as well.

Karin is a lovely hostess, and made a fabulous breakfast of fresh peach waffles and fruit salad. She also took lots of time giving us a map and recommendations of where to go hiking and sight-seeing. The place is immaculately clean. The only downsides to the whole place was the very steep staircase with narrow stairs, which made it difficult to bring luggage up to the room. So I recommend limiting the number of suitcases you take upstairs! Also, though we had our own bathroom, it is not attached to the room (it is next door). They do provide a robe to dash from bedroom to bath if you need it.

There is parking in the back. We didn't get to see the cabins, but we would recommend this place to anyone.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank beaglemom22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scawton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

I was struggling to find a hotel in Banff for the fri/sat and those that were there seemed to think they could just charge what they wanted!! Found this place through a friend and Karin the owner was great in finding me a room for two nights. In a great location, and as stated by others a little dated, but that was fine. The breakfast was exceptional, fresh fruit,bread baked goods and much more. Great value for a town that is usually so overpriced.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dynabob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

We stayed in this lovely B & B for 4 nights in August with my son, and had the two upstairs bedrooms in the main house. My other son and his fiance joined us for a night and stayed in one of the cute little cabins. Yes, a little dated, but all in all a lovely, cosy place to stay, immaculately clean and in an ideal ideal, central location just near the main high street.
Karin our lovely host provided us with amazing breakfasts - everything you could wish for from fresh fruit salad, cereals and toast with lovely jams to gorgeous home baked muffins and pancakes .
There was also off street parking available and WIFI which worked just fine for us.
I would highly recommend staying this B&B, the rates were very reasonable, excellent value and I would certainly stay there again........hopefully very soon!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Valann46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

We stayed in cabin behind the B&B for a week in August 2012. The cabin was exactly what we needed for our stay. The cabin was cosy with a full kitchen (proper stove), a double bed, and a bunk bed in another little room, which our daughter slept in. There is also a little garden to relax in, and parking right outside the cabin. Even though we had full self-catering facilities, we were delighted that breakfast was still included in the price (in the main house). Breakfast was plentiful - always home baked treats, fresh fruit, cereals, juices etc.
Just across the road is a large grocery store, and you are just one block from the main street in Banff - so easy walking distance to the tourist office, restaurants, shops etc.
Even better, it worked out around the same price for our family of 3 to stay here in our cute cabin with breakfast included, than in Banff Youth Hostel! Of course the cabin is not high-spec luxury - but that is also reflected in the price. The owner, Karin was very helpful and friendly. This was our favourite place to stay during our month trip around the Canadian Rockies. We would definitely stay here again if we ever get the chance to return.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank janiedlondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Banff hotels
0.1 mi away
Brewster's Mountain Lodge
0.9 mi away
The Juniper Hotel
The Juniper Hotel
#4 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 stars 752 reviews
0.3 mi away
Banff Aspen Lodge
Banff Aspen Lodge
#8 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 stars 1,246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Fox Hotel & Suites
Fox Hotel & Suites
#13 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 stars 1,968 reviews
1.1 mi away
Fairmont Banff Springs
0.1 mi away
Banff Park Lodge Resort and Conference Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Lodge Bed & Breakfast & Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Lodge Bed & Breakfast & Cabins

Property: Holiday Lodge Bed & Breakfast & Cabins
Address: 311 Marten Street | PO Box 1417, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1B3, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 33 B&Bs / Inns in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Holiday Lodge Bed & Breakfast & Cabins reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing