We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Good but still needs improvement” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Banff Ave Brewing Co

Banff Ave Brewing Co
Ranked #24 of 142 Restaurants in Banff
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $9 - $25
Cuisines: Brew Pub, Bar, Pub, Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Families with children, Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Brunch, Lunch, Drinks, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Bear Hill Brewing Co's mission is to enrich the lives of our guests, our employees and our communities through superior quality hand crafted beer, food with attitude, unique beverages, fun customer service, and by treating our employees like family.
Level Contributor
70 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Good but still needs improvement”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2013 via mobile

We are here on Saturday March 30th, 2013. My brother ordered a side of hot wings to share with everyone and the first order came out cold. The 2nd order was much better. The rest of the food was good tho. The Service needs to be alot better than what it was. The server we had only Re filled our drinks once. Good thing there was Hockey on to keep us entertained.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Mikeman222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brett I, General Manager at Banff Ave Brewing Co, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Hello Mikeman222, thanks for your review. As a senior contributor to Tripadvisor we value your feedback. I'm sorry the first round of food and service wasn't up to your expectations, but please be assured we are taking your feedback seriously and will continue to put emphasis on improving all aspects of the customer experience. Please come back and try again and we will keep an eye out for your next review. Thanks again, hopefully we'll see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

809 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    307
    346
    99
    37
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Okay, but needs improvement”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2013 via mobile

First went to this restaurant last March and it was a really good experience.

This time the food and beer were good but the service was terrible.

As requested, we seated ourselves and were then ignored for 15 minutes. . I finally went and asked for menus, which were quickly dropped off but then we were ignored for another 10 minutes before anyone showed up to help us.

Staff appeared to be working hard but things seemed a bit chaotic.

Once we ordered, drink and food came quickly but then we were forgotten again and we had to find someone to pay our bill. To the servers credit, there was a small reduction of the bill to make up for the poor service but this really took away from the overall experience.

Helpful?
2 Thank Alex M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brett I, General Manager at Banff Ave Brewing Co, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Hi Alex M, thanks for your review. Obviously something went very wrong with your service and there was a small attempt to fix that, but it wasn't enough and that's not your fault. Please be assured we are taking these comments to heart and will continue to place emphasis on improving our service. Please come back soon and hopefully all areas of concern will have been addressed. Thanks!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Good Micro Brewery”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2013

Great pub with a good atmosphere, brews about 6-7 beers, a dark pilsner which is very good, an IPA which is a flat English beer which is also very drinkable

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank pbentham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brett I, General Manager at Banff Ave Brewing Co, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Hi pbentham, thanks for your review. Glad to hear you enjoyed the beer; that's what we do! If you're ever passing through Banff again, make sure to pop in for pint. Thanks for the feedback!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great music.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2013 via mobile

Great atmosphere. Great music. Great staff. Average micro brewery. We drank Saskatoon blonde, Pilsner, cream ale. Nothing amazing but overall good experience. Prices are average or below.

Helpful?
1 Thank polarpheonix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brett I, General Manager at Banff Ave Brewing Co, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Hi polarphoenix, thanks for the review. Sorry to hear you didn't enjoy the beer - it's definitely what we hang our hat on, so please come back and try again! Glad the rest of the experience was good though, hopefully we'll see you again soon. Take care!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“afternoon beer...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2013

As a family, we all enjoyed our meals.

They make their own beer. We each tried a few flavours and were all very good.

The lunches were tasty and satisfying. The service was great. Everything came out on good timing.

Atmosphere was average, but was nice to sit at the window and watch the people walk by on Banff Ave.

I dont know what the dinners are like here, but was certainly a good spot to go for lunch.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Barbara M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brett I, General Manager at Banff Ave Brewing Co, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Hi Barbara M, thanks for the review. Glad to hear you enjoyed your experience here! If you're ever passing through the mountains again, please be sure to stop in for a pint. Take care!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Banff Ave Brewing Co also viewed

 
Banff, Banff National Park
 

Been to Banff Ave Brewing Co? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing