We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Nice atmosphere, good service, good beer” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Banff Ave Brewing Co

Banff Ave Brewing Co
Ranked #26 of 136 Restaurants in Banff
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $9 - $25
Cuisines: Brew Pub, Bar, Pub, Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Local cuisine, Families with children, Large groups, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Drinks, Dinner, Late Night, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff
Description: Bear Hill Brewing Co's mission is to enrich the lives of our guests, our employees and our communities through superior quality hand crafted beer, food with attitude, unique beverages, fun customer service, and by treating our employees like family.
Calgary
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Nice atmosphere, good service, good beer”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

Nice atmosphere, good service, good beer - what more do you want? My wife and I left the kids at the hotel to slip away for a date - had the sampler of the local brews. Loved some more than others, but a great a little brew pub all around!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Love2Eatz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

725 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    272
    311
    92
    35
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
wausau, wisconsin
Level Contributor
50 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“go here for football”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

We were looking for a packer game and found the game here along with a friendly staff..good beer..and great chicken wings. They have the complete nfl package so whatever your team they will have your game. Go pack!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank cotimes2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Bad service”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

Ordered Coke, brought Pepsi. Interac down. Could not pay by credit card either. I ran down to the street to the bank machine and the waiter acted like HE was doing me a favour.

    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TrueNorthMax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brett I, Owner at Banff Ave Brewing Co, responded to this review, December 28, 2012
TrueNorthMax, I apologize for the inconvenience of your experience. Unfortunately our contract with Pepsi does not allow us to carry Coke products. We normally do not get complaints about it but I will instruct my staff to clarify with customers. As for the credit/debit machines there was a system outage with our provider that day. It definitely creates headaches for everyone and the staff can get frustrated. I hope you can try us again on your next visit and we will strive to provide a better experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatchewan, Canada
Level Contributor
71 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Love it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

With so many restaurants & bars in Banff, this one has a way of staying unique and the service was great!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Rosalee B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Airdrie, Canada
Level Contributor
108 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Great food, server needs some training”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

I visited during the Bon Appetit festival with a large group of girlfriends and we opted for the special tasting menu. After a hiccup with our reservation (we waited over 30 minutes to be seated) everything seemed to run a bit more smoothly. The food was incredible! For an appetizer I ordered the Sweet Potato and Spinach salad which was so good I wanted more. My main was braised beef with papardelle and was equally well done. The pumpkin cake was a bit dry and heavy though the flavour was excellent. I was truly delighted with the food and had not expected such flavour from a pub.

The downside of our newbie server came as we attempted to clear up the bill. With 12 ladies at one table we had expected that our server would have split our orders according to seat. Sadly, that didn't happen and he refused to split the bill out after the fact. As we had all had a few drinks at that point, it took us over 45 minutes to sort out the bill. I would like to see Banff Ave Brewing Co better train their staff and advise best practice for dealing with large tables. That being said, I will likely return, though not with a large group.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank nielsensmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brett I, Owner at Banff Ave Brewing Co, responded to this review, December 28, 2012
nielsensmith, thank you for the input. We were very happy with the Bon Appetit menu the chef created this year and look forward to the event next year!!
It is unfortunate that the server was unable to split the bills. Our menu does state that we do not split bills for large groups and this is due to our Point of Sale system which unfortunately is lacking the software to perform certain functions with larger groups . We are in the process of finding a new point of sale system to better accommodate guests in the future.
We look forward to serving you again and trust we will be able to improve upon certain areas.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Banff Ave Brewing Co also viewed

Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 
Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 

Been to Banff Ave Brewing Co? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing