We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“interesting menu”

Banff Ave Brewing Co
Ranked #24 of 143 Restaurants in Banff
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $9 - $25
Cuisines: Brew Pub, Bar, Pub, Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children, Bar scene, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Brunch, Lunch, Drinks, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Bear Hill Brewing Co's mission is to enrich the lives of our guests, our employees and our communities through superior quality hand crafted beer, food with attitude, unique beverages, fun customer service, and by treating our employees like family.
Halifax Nova Scotia
Level Contributor
49 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“interesting menu”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2012

The menu was more varied than I had anticipated, a pleasant surprise as I am a vergetarian and tend to shy away from sports bars as I find they have little on the menu to offer me. I had an interesting sounding vegetarian dish "the Fist Pumping Hippy" and it was beautifully presented, not at all what I expected for a sports bar, and tasty too. Service was friendly and fast especially in light of the large table of 12+ beside us. My dining partner had one of their brews which he deemed to be fine but not memorable, similar to his meal.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ueejit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

871 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    334
    368
    110
    39
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Not impressed”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2012

It's a brewery, which is cool, but I wasn't impressed with the food or the atmosphere. There are a lot of other sports bars in the area with good beer selections.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Kate L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Not bad, expected better..”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2012 via mobile

The service was fantastic, the food we had was mediocre, fish was yummy though, would go back but would order different things.atmosphere was great except was the only tAble in the place with no light over the table to see.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Dbug84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greater Cleveland
Level Contributor
329 reviews
220 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 203 helpful votes
“Went for some beer and "poutine"”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2012

I went with my wife for some drinks. We sat outside on a fall evening overlooking the main street and city. It was a cool place to sit to people-watch and soak in the views. The black pilsner was a pretty good beer. We also ordered the "Donald Trump Poutine." It did taste good, but it is annoying when places call a dish poutine and it is not made with cheese curd, but just regular cheese. It is a fun place to grab a pint and enjoy Banff. The service was good.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ClevelandBeachBoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Cool atmosphere. Food was hit and miss.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2012 via mobile

Nice plating. Smaller portions. Butter chicken was mostly rice and could have used more flavors (like cilantro). Turkey club on Nam was really tasty. We tried 3 beers and found them all quite thin.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank christobe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brett I, Owner at Banff Ave Brewing Co, responded to this review, November 22, 2012
Thanks for the feedback christobe. We are constantly trying to be the best in every way possible and really appreciate your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Banff Ave Brewing Co also viewed

Banff, Banff National Park
 
Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 

Been to Banff Ave Brewing Co? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing