We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
  
Ways to Experience Vermilion Lakes
from $792.85
More Info
from $1,077.85
More Info
Reviews (881)
Filter reviews
881 results
Traveler rating
418
328
113
15
7
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
418
328
113
15
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviews mount rundle bird life bike ride fenland trail short drive close to town some great photos banff town surrounding mountains take photos amazing views bow river lake louise birds highway moose canoe
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 881 reviews
Reviewed September 10, 2019

Moose, Bear, Elk? Must have pretty good camouflage as were absent without leave. No birds... must have flown south and not even a ripple of fish coming up for air

Date of experience: September 2019
1  Thank tourerBrighton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2019

There are a number of pretty sights around Banff that can be easily seen in one day. Vermillion Lakes includes three small, but pretty, lakes and surrounding wetlands. It would appear to be great habitat for, say moose, but we only sighted some ducks and geese. There are hiking/biking tails, but we stuck to the road. Mt. Rundle is in the background. A welcome center and a large BANFF sign (great picture) are within a couple hundred yards of the Vermillion Lakes Road.

Date of experience: September 2019
Thank loves2travelandmore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2019 via mobile

Situated just outside the town, it is easy access to the lakes. They have beautiful views of the mountains and is good for bird watching. Unfortunately there are not a lot of spots to stop and enjoy the view and it is a relatively short drive, most of which is through trees.

Date of experience: September 2019
Thank travelnat97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2019

If you rent a bike this is a great place to ride it. The road is quiet if there are cars the speed limit is 30km. Not that many places to stop (you can park on the side of the road) but we took some of our best pictures in this spot.

Date of experience: September 2019
Thank JsHappytravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2019

Drove down by the Vermillion Lakes hoping to at least spot some wildlife, which would’ve made the time spent worth it. However, we weren’t that lucky and found the area not all that impressive compared to so many other drives and lakes we explored. Don’t think I’d waste my time if I had it to do over again.

Date of experience: August 2019
Thank Diane T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews