We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Knockout view no matter the season” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Vermilion Lakes

Vermilion Lakes
Ranked #9 of 69 things to do in Banff
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Surrey, BC
Level Contributor
42 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Knockout view no matter the season”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2013

Vermilion Lakes, west of Banff, Alberta, provide a stunning view not only of the surrounding mountains (notably the iconic Mount Rundle, seen in these paintings.), but of the rich and colourful grasslands which provide a haven for waterfowl and other wildlife. For photographers and artists, this is an easily accessible yet remarkably private place to see the changing seasons and their evocative colours.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank albatrossmyrtle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

570 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    280
    212
    64
    9
    5
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lechlade, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
125 reviews
62 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Wilderness on the outskirts of town!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013

Vermilion lakes are situated just a couple of miles out of the town of Banff. We were there in April and pretty much had the place to ourselves. We sat on the shore of the lakes watching the sun go down over the mountains, we could have been 100's of miles from anybody - serene and relaxing.

This is a great place to pass away a couple of hours although I'm not sure what it would be like when all the summer visitors are in town.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank garrytev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
94 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“We saw our first Cyote!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

A quick drive along the shores of the interconnected lakes (low water levels at the end of summer) revealed a Cyote, more intent on the squirrel he was seeking out amongst the rocks of the nearby highway embankment than us. The lakes are accessible from downtown Banff by canoe when the water levels are at their peak we're told.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Warooka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
35 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“is the colour real?”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

There is something other worldly when you get to view the colours of the lakes and streams that are fed from glaciers, and should be sought out if you are anywhere close......

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Judy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buford, Georgia
Level Contributor
113 reviews
81 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Peaceful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

We were here late one evening and early one morning. Both experiences were peaceful and beautiful but different. The light changes, the birds change and the reflections change. Since the road getting here is so narrow you don't have to be concerned about hoards of bus people. One of my favorite pictures of our trip is from here

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank princes110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Vermilion Lakes also viewed

Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 
Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 

Been to Vermilion Lakes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing