We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Bike It, don't Drive It!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Vermilion Lakes

Vermilion Lakes
Ranked #8 of 68 things to do in Banff
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Perrysburg, Ohio
Level Contributor
141 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 170 helpful votes
“Bike It, don't Drive It!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

Great little choice here for a bike rental ride from Banff. A lot of waterfowl are present and the reflection from the nearby mountains makes for some excellent pictures. You can drive around the lakes; however, biking seems to fit better for the area. It's ~2 miles outside of Banff and an easy ride.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Greg L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

549 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    270
    204
    61
    9
    5
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Loughborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
487 reviews
114 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 287 helpful votes
“Nice Lakes But Not A Lot To See”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013 via mobile

These were suggested as great place to see wildlife and as only short drive from Banff we took a drive. The lakes themselves were ok but few places to stop and not much to see. OK wildlife isn't going to jump out at you but suspect you need to go very early in morning or late at night

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank MalcH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windlesham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Not much to see”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

We drove along the Vermillion Lakes road one evening to see if we might see some wildlife but we didn't have much luck to be honest - here were just a few elk on the other side of the bank.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank REOF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oosterzele
Level Contributor
63 reviews
44 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“very pretty drive”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

on a sunny afternoon we decided to drive the vermillion drive. We were very surprised to see only 10 cars on this drive of 30 minutes. So we stopped at every lake (not always without dangerbecause of a few cars). we took plenty of nice pictures with Mount Rundle dominating the area.
Do not return before the parking lot behind thelast lake where you have a differrent lake view.
After this drive we went to to the viewpoint on the norquay mt , only 10 minutes drive - for a stuning 5 stars view af the whole city and THE VERMILLION LAKES in ONE picture.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank idesbald d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clarkston, Michigan, United States
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Go see them at dusk.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

Take a drive or bike through. Make sure you drive to last lake. Absolutely beautiful picture with mountains in waters reflection.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Kim G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Vermilion Lakes also viewed

Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 
Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 

Been to Vermilion Lakes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing