We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nothing much to enjoy” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Vermilion Lakes

Vermilion Lakes
Ranked #9 of 69 things to do in Banff
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
39 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“Nothing much to enjoy”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

there is nothing much to enjoy here. We went there and were dissappointed. The water in this lake is not heavy. and light lakes doesn't have a beauty.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Shruti0104
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

570 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    280
    212
    64
    9
    5
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, Alabama
Level Contributor
73 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Peaceful”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

I expected more. This was a rambling peaceful drive along side small lakes that provide sanctuary to local birds. Biggest drawback is that runs alongside a major highway.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank hugsforall3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Maine
Level Contributor
452 reviews
283 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 437 helpful votes
“Lakes Best Seen Early or Late in the Day”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

These three fairly small, shallow, boggy but lovely lakes, located west of Banff just 4.5 km out on dead-end Vermillion Lakes Drive, each has the same gorgeous mountain backdrop. It’s definitely a camera-worthy place. Between the first two lakes is a small, forested island. The lake farthest from the village has hot springs, which we’d hoped to see firsthand. When we got there at mid-morning on a cloudy and cold mid-June day, we found nowhere to park at the pullouts, so we headed back out.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank mainemountainbear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
183 reviews
93 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
“Beauty in the sunshine”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

A short 4km drive along the lakes with spectacular views over to Mt. Rundell. We drove with windows down to enjoy the sound of the wind in the pines...spotted mule deer and many species of ducks. Very tranquil and pleasant

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank HelencTorontO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Bad”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

All there was was moss, fungus, mosquitoes & dirt. No place for picnic. It's just water surrounded with trees and bushes. Nothing so great.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Gauri K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Vermilion Lakes also viewed

Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 
Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 

Been to Vermilion Lakes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing