We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not Recommended”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The YWCA Banff Hotel
Ranked #16 of 18 Specialty Lodging in Banff
Reviewed July 29, 2007

We stayed in the private room with two double beds and a private bath for $110 Canadian, with no taxes. Undoubtedly a good deal in Banff, but it would be really wise to pay a little more for a hotel along Banff Avenue, in Canmore or elsewhere. It was extremely warm during our stay and the hallways and our room were very uncomfortable. Many rooms did not have fans. At least one family room did not even have a window. The rooms are tiny and the bathrooms are extremely cramped. You're much better off paying another $50 a night for a better, more comfortable budget hotel. Many people I met staying or working there were extremely nice, though some of the staff seemed clueless. I wouldn't stay here unless you can help it.

  • Stayed: July 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Scott R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (258)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

210 - 216 of 258 reviews

Reviewed July 25, 2007

We stayed there in private room with shared bath room. The rooms have obviously not seen any touch up for 30 years therefore 80$/night are ok for Banff in the peak season. But the shower curtain of the same age in the tight shower cabin is more than disgusting!! An investment of $10 for a new one would justify a far better rating

  • Stayed: July 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KrautFra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2007

When we arrived we saw the construction work going on on the top floor, about which we had not been told about during booking. However, this did not cause too much problems in terms of noise apart from a few mornings. The room with private bathroom was very basic, which is fine, but was not very clean. Added to this the mosquito protection on the windows was broken so we were inundated with them. The staff were not overly friendly on reception but were very nice in the cafe which is a very good deal for breakfast. For the $95 we paid I am sure one could find a much nicer bed and breakfast in town than this but if not I would think this is better than the over priced budget hotels in the area.

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Wildmanpunk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2007

Recently spent 3 nights at the Y in Banff at the end of our holiday to the Rockies. The price and location attracted us, and they both definitely lived up to expectations (nice to be 5 mins out of the main town as there is a massive contruction effort going on there and it's noisy/dusty!).

I know it's a hostel, but I wasn't quite ready for how basic the rooms were - we had a double with private bath. It may have been the culture shock from the last place we'd stayed, but I was disappointed. Broken blind and peeling paint didn't help! We did get used to it though and for £45 a night what do you expect?! The money we saved here meant we could stay at better properties elsewhere, and we only really came here to sleep. Nice little cafe downstairs for breakfast.

However, as noted in other reviews (although I didn't see these before booking) they are adding a 3rd floor and it is really noisy. The place is a complete building site and we were woken in the morining with builders shouting, drilling and hoovering. We seriously considered moving as it was so noisy and dusty but decided we wouldn't waste our limited time looking for another room. Wasn't as bad the next 2 mornings but on top of the cell-like rooms, the experience wasn't great.

Would recommend for price and location, but expect very basic and take your earplugs!!

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kitty44a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2007

This was a great place to stay for an exceptionally low price. my husband and i had our own room with private en-suite, towels and hairdryer in room. free parking. whilst the room was basic in its decor, it was immaculately clean, warm and comfortable, and for the price $24 can dols in total, was an absolute steal. i am used to staying in 3 - 4 star hotels and was a bit nervous when booking this, but wont ever hesitate again, we made an unbelievable saving. breakfast is not included, but there is a restaurant in the foyer which is very reasonably priced. there is internet, laundry and tel facilities. the staff are really friendly and helpful. the hotel is situated in the town centre and next door to the famous Fairmount Banff Springs hotel, so if you fancy rubbing shoulders with the hoi poloi then you can nip up there for a coffee or a glass of wine and take in the atmosphere. (mindyou two glasses of wine there cost more than our nights stay in the 'Y'). Across the road is the Hot Springs, and whilst it looks a bit like an ordinary outdoor swimming pool, the water was really relaxing and the surrounding scenery simply spectacular. only cost about $5, so well worth it. Also took the tram up the mountain, and it was really worth the money, again, the scenery is amazing. I always had the impression that YMCA were hostels for students, and was amazed that some now have more hotel like accom for couples - would def recommend this to anyone, old and young alike. (also if you are in vancouver the YWCA is even better! - tho more expensive, but still great value for money).

  • Stayed: May 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
3  Thank IrelandMaureen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2007

The accommodation is excellently located and cheap in the off season (58 canadian dollars for a double with shower room) but be aware that until Nov 2007 building work is being undertaken - they're adding an additional floor of accommodation to the main block with the rooms directly below (3rd floor) still being occupied, so it could get noisy! This is not advertised on the YWCA website and we were not informed upon booking. Oh, and if you've a HI card you can get 10% off prices - note that if you book on the YWCA website the discount doesn't come up as an option but they will honour it at check in.

  • Stayed: May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LadyBManchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2007

Very good value clean and comfortable but the Australian woman on reception was unfriendly to the point of outright rudeness. This is also the only hotel/hostel in the world that I have been to that would not allow us to store our bags for a few hours - apparently there is no room in their very large office.

Stayed: April 2007
1  Thank Chub39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Banff hotels
0.6 mi away
Moose Hotel and Suites
0.5 mi away
Bow View Lodge
Bow View Lodge
#21 of 33 in Banff
780 reviews
0.4 mi away
Brewster's Mountain Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Rundlestone Lodge
Rundlestone Lodge
#7 of 33 in Banff
1,161 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Juniper Hotel
The Juniper Hotel
#4 of 33 in Banff
993 reviews
1.3 mi away
HI-Banff Alpine Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The YWCA Banff Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The YWCA Banff Hotel

Address: 102 Spray Ave | P.O. Box 520, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1A6, Canada (Formerly Banff Y Mountain Lodge)
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 18 Specialty Lodging in Banff
Price Range: $60 - $164 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The YWCA Banff Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
YWCA Banff Hotel is a perfect mountain hideaway for travellers looking for affordable lodging in downtown Banff. Whether you're gearing up to ski & snowboard in the winter or bike & hike in the summer, settle in to the YWCA Banff Hotel. Enjoy unbeatable prices across a range of room options to suit your needs from private rooms with ensuite or shared bath, family suites and 4-10 bed dorms. Our hotel is a social enterprise, meaning each dollar you spend on your stay goes directly back into funding our organization’s violence prevention education programs and victim services. By staying with us you’ll enjoy a great room at a fantastic price while simultaneously helping women and children across our community live a safe and healthy life free of violence. Other highlights include; 24/7 knowledgeable & friendly Guest Services, clean & safe rooms, cozy common room with TV, spacious guest kitchen, complimentary WiFi, free guest parking, coin-op laundry, security lockers and included linens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your The YWCA Banff Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banff y Mountain Hotel Banff

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing