We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Budget Stay in Banff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The YWCA Banff Hotel
Ranked #16 of 18 Specialty Lodging in Banff
Edmonton, Alberta
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Great Budget Stay in Banff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2006

My fiancee and I stayed at the Y for the Canada Day long weekend. We got a private room with 2 beds, no bath, and it was the most affordable room in town by at least half. The location is hard to beat, as you can walk to anywhere in town from here (which is a plus compared to the HI up on Tunnel Mtn). The rooms are basic, but they're clean, quiet and spacious. And really, that's all we needed, since you don't come to Banff to hide out in your hotel room. This is a solid choice for budget travelling.

  • Stayed July 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank EdmontonMarc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

239 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    68
    61
    39
    32
See reviews for
32
83
35
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ann Arbor, MI
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2005

I stayed in a private room with 2 beds and a bath. The room was very clean and quite adequate. It is very easy to walk to town from the Y. The restaurant was quite good. It was a bit noisy in the early evening. Overall, a very good value.

  • Stayed July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank dogluver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bozeman, Montana
Level Contributor
69 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2005

I loved my stay at the Banff YWCA, great location and nice clean room for the price.
I don't understand all of the "whining" about the room and service...if you want a nicer room you can get it all over town for five times the price.

  • Stayed August 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Remy12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sapporo, Japan
Level Contributor
68 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2005

If you're planning to cook at the YWCA...make plans...they only have one cooker with 3 electric rings for the whole hostel...so you end up waiting in line while someone else cooks their dinner...
We stayed there FEb 2005 and there seemed to be no problems with cleanliness or front desk rudeness...just a bit noisy with lots of teenage snowboarders having deep meaningful conversations in the corridors late at night...

  • Stayed February 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Amanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Banff hotels

Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
96 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 211 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 13, 2004

If you like hostels, then maybe this is for you. Arrived at what seemed to be a renovated hospital. Booked a double with private bathroom. Room was very basic, bed, chair, cupboard. There was a new small bathroom fitted. No cooling/heating. Very uncomfortable bed, and limited security. Maybe our expectations were too high, if your use to hotels this wouldn't be for you. Pay extra and stay somewhere nicer in banff.

Also had troubles getting the booking done and confirmed...I think they must use a booking service.

  • Stayed September 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TSW42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2004

I found the staff to be well informed and helpful. The rooms, while definitely budget, were clean and comfortable. No tax as well! Great way to support a great organization.

Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2003

I stayed at the YWCA in Banff with 3 friends over the Christmas period.
All three of us were present at the front desk, and checked in and paid $110 for a family room. This was fine, and they even gave us 3 keys.
The following morning upon checking out, we were told we had to pay an additional $20, because the rate we had paid was for 2 people! The girl we were dealing with was extremely rude, straight away threatening to take the $20 from the security deposit if we didn't agree to pay. How's that for customer service! They screwed up in charging us an incorrect amount, and should have eaten the additional cost themselves. We would have stayed elsewhere if we'd known the cost was $130. I would not recommend this place at all.

Helpful?
3 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Banff hotels
0.6 mi away
Moose Hotel and Suites
0.5 mi away
Bow View Lodge
Bow View Lodge
#21 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 681 reviews
0.9 mi away
Fox Hotel & Suites
Fox Hotel & Suites
#13 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,070 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Brewster's Mountain Lodge
1.0 mi away
Rundlestone Lodge
Rundlestone Lodge
#8 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,085 reviews
0.7 mi away
Samesun Banff
Samesun Banff
#1 of 18 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 486 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The YWCA Banff Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The YWCA Banff Hotel

Property: The YWCA Banff Hotel
Address: 102 Spray Ave | P.O. Box 520, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1A6, Canada (Formerly Banff Y Mountain Lodge)
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 18 Specialty Lodging in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — The YWCA Banff Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The YWCA Banff Hotel is the perfect mountain hideaway for travelers on a budget. Whether you're coming to ski & snowboard in the winter or mountain bike and hike in the summer, we've got great deals for you! Our hotel has a number of room options, so we can easily accommodate your parties needs. We feature private rooms with bath, private rooms with shared bath, (4, 6, 8 and 10-person) dorms and family suites all at lowest-in-town prices. As the YWCA Banff Hotel is a social enterprise funding domestic violence preventions programming you know what when you stay with us, not only are you getting a great room at a fantastic price, but you're also helping women and children in the Banff. Other features;*Knowledgeable friendly staff*Clean, safe rooms *2 tv/media rooms*New! Large open plan guest kitchen which seats upto 24 people *Wi-fi Internet (For a small daily fee) *Free parking*Coin-op laundry *Large outdoor space with volleyball*Security lockers*Free linens*Licensed restaurant with Happy Hour beer prices *24/7 front desk service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The YWCA Banff Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banff y Mountain Hotel Banff

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing