We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just Don't”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The YWCA Banff Hotel
Ranked #16 of 18 Specialty Lodging in Banff
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
138 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Just Don't”
Reviewed July 8, 2014

Unless you're 20 and want to be loud and not sleep, do not stay here. I'm 35 and have stayed in dozens and dozens of hostels and this one is very disappointing. I'm not on a budget but decided to book here because I enjoy the traveling feel of hostels and meeting new people. I've cancelled my other days and have opted to pay more at a hotel where I can actually sleep. I have never done that before. Staff is so-so. There is zero atmosphere in this hostel. Every single hostel I've been in has a cozy feel and a chill vibe, making it easy to meet people and feel somewhat at home. This hostel has no pictures in the common areas, no activity board, and nothing makes it cozy. It's sterile and bland: boring. May sound silly, but a cool cozy welcoming vibe in a hostel goes a long way. Not even an area to sit outside unless you buy at their café. There are renovations going on, piles of debris around the building, looks bad. Renos going on indoors as well: makes it uninviting. This morning I woke up to more slamming doors and loud people in the hall (repeat of last couple mornings and nights) and people having conversations right outside my door. Then I heard a lot scraping...like furniture being moved. Over and over and over. I finally forget sleep and look in the hallway and they are disassembling all the beds in surrounding rooms. It was loud and extra annoying since I'd barely slept. I wear earplugs. People smoke right outside here and the smoke smell woke me up the first morning. Walls are paper thin and people seem to enjoy slamming doors relentlessly. I can also hear the elevator ding. This mattress is ridiculously terrible and I invite the management to sleep on it one night to see for themselves. Shower is the tiniest of any hostel I've been in.
I repeat: I've stayed in tons of hostels and this one is a huge disappointment. I'm off to a hotel, willing to pay more to get out of here asap.
If you're really on a budget, book ahead at the Banff Centre! Wish I had booked there again.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brenda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

239 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    68
    61
    39
    32
See reviews for
32
83
35
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Banff National Park, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2014

Thankyou to the staff at the Y Banff. You made our stay very welcome. Super friendly. Special thanks to KENDRA at reception. She went beyond her duty to help two Aussies organise accommodation. A million blessings dear heart. Karma comes around. Also to the chef...and waitress...a happy mob, many thanks for great food.

Kathy and Greg, Sunshine Coast, Queensland

Room Tip: Try upstairs floor 3 if you can get it
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathleen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2014

The Banff Y mountain lodge was noisy with paper thin walls. When the shower next door was being used it was so loud you could not talk, sleep, or concentrate. The halls were often noisy too, but quieted down at night. The room was very hot with no ventilation even though there was a small window and the weather was cool. The price seemed high but it is a very expensive area. There definitely was no frills though. Location was good, easy walk to downtown and bike path. The cafe coffee was terrible so don't bother even though it is convenient. The internet was patchy and didn't always work. The shower was so small you could hardly move and the curtain would not stay closed.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cynthia W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Banff hotels

Coquitlam, Canada
Level Contributor
37 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2014

If you are going to spend your most time on exploring Banff or Rockies Mountains instead of staying in the room, this hotel is your good choice. Facilities are simple but clean and comfort enough. You can have a good sleep and short rest in between your sightseeing activities. Staffs are friendly and location is perfect for everything. Good choice for budge traveler.

Room Tip: Two beds room with shared both rooms are good choice for budge travelers as the shared both rooms ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Liming Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
1 review
Reviewed May 18, 2014

I stayed in a standard room that had one double bed, a desk, and a bathroom with a shower. There is ample free parking around the lodge. The best thing about this place is the location. It is very easy to find and is situated close to the popular shops and restaurants. If you're looking for a basic stay and do not require a lot of additional amenities, then this place will be fine.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank C W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terrace, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2014

I mean, it's a hostel. Then again, I have been in much better hostels. The internet was extremely patchy. I was fortunate to be in a room with attached bathroom, but that isn't the case for all rooms. It was also ridiculously hot in the rooms, and the fans that staff kept bringing into the room were all broken. Just left the windows open all the time which is very energy inefficient. Good location.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank r h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2014

The staff were friendly. The room was a little strange, hard stone floor. The blinds were very thin so we were woken up when the sun rose each morning. The light switches were outside the room which was inconvenient. The on site cafe was decent. The best thing is the location, it is just over the bridge from the shops

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pixie354
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Banff hotels
0.6 mi away
Moose Hotel and Suites
0.5 mi away
Bow View Lodge
Bow View Lodge
#21 of 32 in Banff
678 reviews
0.9 mi away
Fox Hotel & Suites
Fox Hotel & Suites
#13 of 32 in Banff
2,069 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Brewster's Mountain Lodge
1.0 mi away
Rundlestone Lodge
Rundlestone Lodge
#8 of 32 in Banff
1,085 reviews
0.7 mi away
Samesun Banff
Samesun Banff
#1 of 18 in Banff
486 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The YWCA Banff Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The YWCA Banff Hotel

Property: The YWCA Banff Hotel
Address: 102 Spray Ave | P.O. Box 520, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1A6, Canada (Formerly Banff Y Mountain Lodge)
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 18 Specialty Lodging in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — The YWCA Banff Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The YWCA Banff Hotel is the perfect mountain hideaway for travelers on a budget. Whether you're coming to ski & snowboard in the winter or mountain bike and hike in the summer, we've got great deals for you! Our hotel has a number of room options, so we can easily accommodate your parties needs. We feature private rooms with bath, private rooms with shared bath, (4, 6, 8 and 10-person) dorms and family suites all at lowest-in-town prices. As the YWCA Banff Hotel is a social enterprise funding domestic violence preventions programming you know what when you stay with us, not only are you getting a great room at a fantastic price, but you're also helping women and children in the Banff. Other features;*Knowledgeable friendly staff*Clean, safe rooms *2 tv/media rooms*New! Large open plan guest kitchen which seats upto 24 people *Wi-fi Internet (For a small daily fee) *Free parking*Coin-op laundry *Large outdoor space with volleyball*Security lockers*Free linens*Licensed restaurant with Happy Hour beer prices *24/7 front desk service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotwire, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The YWCA Banff Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banff y Mountain Hotel Banff

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing