We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful hospitality, fabulous location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The YWCA Banff Hotel
Ranked #15 of 18 Specialty Lodging in Banff
Reviewed April 12, 2014

I based here for my Rockies holiday. It was clean comfortable and the staff were exceptional. Also a great location for exploring the incredibly beautiful surrounding areas. Definitely recommend for good value accommodation

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lovetoeatout1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (261)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

89 - 95 of 261 reviews

Reviewed March 27, 2014

3 of us stayed here for two nights whilst skiing. Clean and comfortable with a decent breakfast thrown in (the guy in the cafe was super friendly) got very hot overnight but overall we were happy with the stay.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gingerreaper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2014

room was spacious and comfortable. Bathroom was small but functional and just what we expected for the price we paid.
The lodge is located at the Southern end of Banff and is only a short 5 minute stroll into the centre of town.

Only downside is that there is no individual thermostat in the rooms and they get very hot and dry which can be uncomfortable.

Free WI-FI is good at best and has some periods of drop outs, however it was functional enough to get us through.

the hostel is run by the YWCA and as such any profits made go back into worthy causes.

Over all we were quite happy with the accommodation and would stay here again. Just remember this is a backpacker hostel, not a 5 star hotel

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank imgettingannoyed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2014

we stayed here one night, only because it was holiday and there was no other place available. the room was small but very clean with bathroom inside the room. it is a big hostel with many rooms and the price is not cheap. also take under consideration that the parking lot is small and if you arrive late , you probably won't find a place to park. there are several streets near the lodge that you can park, just make sure with the reception so you won't get a ticket...
the location is very good in the center of banff.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank oritzuf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2014 via mobile

It's cheap sure but not the cheapest in town, and definitely not the best value for money.

Room was pretty bad, roasting hot and no heat control, so slept with the window open all night.

Apart from the environmental downside of that, the blinds also didn't go all the way down so we got snow blowing in all night long.

Light switches are on the outside of the rooms??? Seriously get an electrician to sort it. It doesn't help the feeling your In an abandoned hospital.

Maintenance guy let himself in the room without knocking, with no apology.

The list goes on. Stay elsewhere.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Cobrasan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2014 via mobile

You may be thinking, "ah, a cheap night out in Banff to a place in a great location, totally worth it!" But to you I would say, "just sleep in your own bed and make the drive to Banff in the morning!"
We really tried to be positive but after waking up 4-5 times in the night, we were not. Bit of a dirty room, paper thin walls, uncomfortable bed (my pillow felt like cottage cheese, but my husband's didn't seem as bad...) and boiling hot! It was -10 outside and we kept the windows open all night because there's no control of heat in the rooms. I really would not recommend it.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank AlexandraDanae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve W, Public Relations Manager at The YWCA Banff Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 30, 2014

Hi Alexandra,

Thanks so much for spending the time to review your stay recent at the Banff Y Mountain Lodge.

We're disappointed to hear that you were less than satisfied with your visit. We pride ourselves on offering a peaceful nights sleep to all guests, so we're keen to learn from your experience. Can we ask why your sleep was broken during the night? We were unable to find any occurrences of noise disturbances in our guest services pass-on-diary.

In your response to your note about the heating. As a large building with an central heating system, we sometimes have to increase the heat level generated to ensure all guests receive sufficient warmth. Sadly as a downside to this, some of the rooms closer to the boiler room are hotter than desired. We suggest that guests open a window to displace excess heat, just like you did. As you can imagine this isn't our preferred solution, especially from an environmental standpoint.

Although all of our mattresses were replaced 2 years ago, we appreciate that not all of them may suit your personal preferences. In this instance we would suggest that all guests speak with our guest services staff to find an immediate solution to any issues that may arise during a stay.

Lastly, in response to your comment about your pillow, the possibility of replacing our stock will be discussed at tomorrows operations (management) meeting.

We thank you once again for your feedback. We really value your suggestions as they help us monitor the quality of our product and improve services.
Best wishes,
Steve

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2013

Boy I have to say coming back here second time around has been a huge disappointment. Maybe new management or something. Day I arrived the girl at the desk didn't seem to understand English well enough. As a result I almost got charged for an extra day. My room: first thing I noticed was the odd smell in the room. Emanating from the bathroom. Had to get an air freshener. My light on the ceiling has what looks like dead insects. Gross. There was also the proverbial hair in my food in the cafeteria. I was too embarrassed to say anything. There is also the disturbing fact that one of the cleaning people took some liberties in going through my stuff while I was asleep. Overall this time around was a big disappointment and would recommend this place to no one. Even my coffee cream curdled up.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ToddMiki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Banff hotels
0.5 mi away
Bow View Lodge
Bow View Lodge
#21 of 33 in Banff
801 reviews
0.7 mi away
Irwin's Mountain Inn
Irwin's Mountain Inn
#23 of 33 in Banff
586 reviews
0.9 mi away
Banff Inn
Banff Inn
#17 of 33 in Banff
846 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Rundlestone Lodge
Rundlestone Lodge
#7 of 33 in Banff
1,171 reviews
0.9 mi away
Fox Hotel & Suites
Fox Hotel & Suites
#12 of 33 in Banff
2,204 reviews
1.3 mi away
HI-Banff Alpine Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The YWCA Banff Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The YWCA Banff Hotel

Address: 102 Spray Ave | P.O. Box 520, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1A6, Canada (Formerly Banff Y Mountain Lodge)
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 18 Specialty Lodging in Banff
Price Range: $59 - $159 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The YWCA Banff Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
YWCA Banff Hotel is a perfect mountain hideaway for travellers looking for budget-friendly, cozy accommodation in downtown Banff. Gearing up for the ski season or planning a summer of hiking and biking? We have great options for you! Choose from a range of room types to suit your needs; private double & single rooms with ensuite or shared bathroom, family suites and 4-10 bed dorms- all at unbeatable rates! Our hotel offers you the unique opportunity to experience life in the heart of Banff National Park while directly contributing to the health and safety of our charming mountain town. We are proud to be a social enterprise, which means that by booking your stay with us your vacation dollars are reinvested into programs and services that protect local women, children & communities from violence. In return for your support, we provide a 24-hour Guest Services team, complimentary WiFi, clean & safe rooms, free guest parking, security lockers, & the lowest rates in Banff! Come settle in. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your The YWCA Banff Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banff y Mountain Hotel Banff

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing