We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a Jewel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
A Banff Boutique Inn - Pension Tannenhof
Ranked #4 of 28 Banff B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 17, 2007

I was lucky enough to stay at this gorgeous Inn for a weekend in June. The owners/management were unbelievably friendly and helpful and couldn't do enough to make my stay enjoyable - I was treated just like family, actually better.
I understand these new owners are currently updating and refreshing the Inn and the room I stayed in was beautifully appointed.
Looking forward to my next visit to the Rockies and will definitely stay at this charming Inn again.

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank luckyten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (421)
There are newer reviews for A Banff Boutique Inn - Pension Tannenhof
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

372 - 378 of 421 reviews

Reviewed August 15, 2007

This place is AMAZING!! The manager 'Pat' gave us lots of care and attention and the rooms (we stayed in 2 different ones because we were so happy that we extended our stay!!) were super clean and very stylish. The breakfast variety is fantastic and the location is brilliant! We will certainly be back and also telling our Hong Kong and Aussie friends to stop by there too!!
You will be more than happy if you stay there!!!

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank melken410
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2007

We booked direct with the B&B from a list given out by the Banff VIC. Pat ( the acting manager, and proprietor's father) managed to squeeze us in and couldn't do enough to make our stay as comfortable as possible even going so far as to find us accommodation in Jasper for the next leg of our holiday. We stayed three nights and would thoroughly recommend it to friends and would stay there again if going that way again. It's just south of the river and only 5 minutes walk to town which is a big plus as its the opposite side of town to the railway line.
Thanks again Pat for making us so welcome.

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Trvelman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2007

Also called Pine Tree Lodge as recently bought by current owners/managers. This is a large B&B with a "split personaility" where the common parts of the living and dining areas have lovely exposed wooden floors, nice furniture and look good but the 2 rooms we saw were really poor and if we had been staying more than 1 night, i think we would have moved. The first room was small, hardly room to store 2 suitcases on the floor and so we moved to a larger room next door. These 2 rooms shared a bathroom which was ok as we didnt see the other 2 guests. Both rooms were very shabby, paint peeeling off the furniture, outdated, dirty paintwork, a kind of throw back to the 1980s. Think the current owners may be updating the property but until then, go somewhere else as for $175+tax, there must be lots better.

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sally66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2006

We stayed here for a week in July of 2003, and had a lovely time. We stayed in the loft, with a king-sized bed, very large suite, with a fireplace, TV, jacuzzi, and best of all, we were separate from the main house, like we had our own private cottage.

The owners were very hospitable and helpful; breakfasts were more than ample and delicious. This place was a short walk outside of downtown Banff, but we felt like we were in a country setting.

It was quiet, the rates were very reasonable, and we used this place as our homebase for all our touring throughout the area. Even took a daytrip up to Jasper.

Wouldn't hesitate to stay there again.

  • Stayed: July 2002
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank sophiedog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, traveled with family
Thank Libramed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: June 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank strand2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Banff
0.7 mi away
Moose Hotel and Suites
1.1 mi away
Fox Hotel & Suites
Fox Hotel & Suites
#11 of 33 in Banff
2,185 reviews
1.0 mi away
Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.9 mi away
Stoneridge Mountain Resort by CLIQUE
1.4 mi away
Buffalo Mountain Lodge
1.3 mi away
The Juniper Hotel
The Juniper Hotel
#4 of 33 in Banff
970 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to A Banff Boutique Inn - Pension Tannenhof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A Banff Boutique Inn - Pension Tannenhof

Address: 121 Cave Avenue | Box 1870, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1B7, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 28 B&Bs / Inns in Banff
Price Range: $112 - $329 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — A Banff Boutique Inn - Pension Tannenhof 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to A Banff Boutique Inn, a contemporary designer Inn; offering unique accommodation in Banff, Alberta. Whether you’re here to relax, rejuvenate or seek adventure, A Banff Boutique Inn is the place to stay in the Rockies. We offer a healthy continental breakfast to start your day. Our breakfast includes; a selection of fresh seasonal fruit, yogurt, cold cereals, freshly baked bread, gluten free bread and cereal, homemade granola, Banff Roasting Company Fair-Trade Coffee and Banff Tea Co specialty loose-leaf teas. Our location is just a few minutes from the Bow River, offering an abundance of wildlife viewing opportunities. Just a few minutes walk to Cascade Gardens and The Cave and Basin. Private off-street parking is available behind the Inn; public transit is just around the corner. All guest rooms are uniquely decorated; include complimentary WIFI, and private en suite bathrooms. The Inn’s facilities are perfect for your rocky mountain wedding, reunion, anniversary or corporate retreat. At the Inn, we support local artists, offering our Inn as a “Locals Art Gallery”. You will find many unique pieces throughout the Inn available for purchase. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your A Banff Boutique Inn - Pension Tannenhof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
a Banff Boutique Inn - Pension Tannenhof Hotel Banff

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing