We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home away from home!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
A Banff Boutique Inn - Pension Tannenhof
Ranked #4 of 28 Banff B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 21, 2009

What a great experience. Lee and the girls truly made us feel at home. My husband is on a special diet and it was so nice to stay in a place that allowed us to prepare meals that he could eat and offer tips on local restaurants that could prepare meals for him. The house is beautiful, the rooms clean and elegant, and the location could not have been better. It is a five minute walk on a beautiful path by the park to downtown Banff. All walks to town resulted in a nature show surrounding us by deer, elk, and caribou. A perfect home away from home in the beautiful Canadian Rockies!

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tourtoes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (432)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

364 - 370 of 432 reviews

Reviewed May 15, 2009

Perfect location, helpful & friendly staff, very clean and reasonably priced = Totally awesome experience. :)

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DCoffey77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2009

First of all, kudos to the person who photographed this hotel for its official website. These pictures look a 100 times more fabulous, modern and trendy then reality. In actuality the hotel feels more like a museum than a modern B&B. Nothing wrong with that, but not what we expected.
Sound isolation is non-existant, so if you`re planning a romantic getaway, be prepared to express your love very quietly, otherwise the gloomy receptionist will throw scorning glances at you. As well, be prepared for the constant sounds of the floor squeeking. The bed was fine for me, but gave my other half a back pain. Our room had no bathtub, only shower. No bubblebath and candles for us, oh well. No TV either, luckily we didn`t want any.
The breakfast was the biggest disappointment. Multigrain bages with jam or peanut butter, cereal and scarce slices of yesterday`s fruit awaited us in a room full of other inhabitants. With nostalgia we remembered eggs, bacon and bowls of fresh fruit we had at another B&B in Banff last year.
The owner, Lee, seemed like a great guy - unfortunately we only saw a glimpse of him and heard him on the phone before coming. The rest of our stay was very undeserving of $140 we paid (with taxes).

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank oplap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2009

My friend booked the four of us at Pension Tannenhof for a weekend getaway and I'm so glad she did! The Inn was charming. We had a separate area (formerly maid quarters) all to ourselves that contained three bedrooms, a bathroom and a WC. We took two of the rooms and there was no one in the third. I think it would be perfect for a group of 6 or 7 (with a cot). The rooms were beautifully furnished and I really liked the toiletries. The great room was so inviting and warm.

When we stepped out of the Inn to go to town for dinner, there were three deer sitting on the front lawn staring at us. I don't know who was more scared, them or us!

Unlike some other comments on this site, I really enjoyed the breakfast. There was a great selection of breakfast foods (cereal, oatmeal, pastries, fruit, etc.) and I enjoyed picking what I felt like eating and not being waited on. I could enjoy the breakfast of my choice and enjoy the company of my friends. If you enjoy sitting around someone's kitchen table while they make you breakfast, this isn't for you.

I think it's the perfect distance from town because you're away from all the commotion of the main drag, but just a quick 5 minute walk away. The staff is very courteous and Lee is very knowledgeable about the area and helpful with suggestions. He ensured my cross country ski experience was a success! I know they'll do whatever they can to make your stay enjoyable.

If you value a well-located, beautiful Inn where you can relax, feel comfortable, do your own thing and don't feel like you're imposing on anyone, I would recommend Pension Tannenhof to you.

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AlliCat_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2008

After staying at a few different B&B's previously this is defiantly Banffs' best B&B. Extremely friendly owners & staff who go out of their way to make sure you feel welcome and relaxed. Great sized rooms, excellent breakfast and only a short 5min walk to town. Will be staying here again!

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank damit182
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2008

The staff were very friendly and helpful and welcoming on our arrival.

We stayed for 1 night in the queen/garden level room. The room was a good size, with a huge en-suite shower. The weather was quite cold so the heating had been cranked up. The room was like a sauna when we arrived. We turned all the radiators off and by the time we turned in the temp was OK.

Bed very comfortable and clean, and good healthy breakfast - lots of fresh fruit, cereals and selection of breads.

Good quiet location. Just 5 mins walk into Banff centre.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank RedJock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2008

We stayed for 5 nights with two double bedrooms, adjoining bathroom and lobby. Nothing was too much trouble especially for four female birders getting up atn the crack of dawn to go to Cave & Basin Marsh . We were even invited to help ourselves to an early breakfast to avoid starvation! Evening use of kitchen and dining facilities meant we could bring in our own prepared food if we did not want to eat out. The restaurants in Banff are busy and noisy at this time of year so this was a haven of peace. The Hotel is in a delightful quiet location within easy walking disrtance of the town with deer on the lawn and squirrels in the trees. Over all clean, comfortable, friendly;, helpful staff, We'd go there again.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank WestCountryDodo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Banff hotels
0.7 mi away
Moose Hotel and Suites
1.3 mi away
The Juniper Hotel
The Juniper Hotel
#4 of 34 in Banff
1,012 reviews
0.8 mi away
Banff Aspen Lodge
Banff Aspen Lodge
#8 of 34 in Banff
1,500 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Elk + Avenue Hotel
Elk + Avenue Hotel
#11 of 34 in Banff
1,511 reviews
1.2 mi away
Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa
0.5 mi away
Bow View Lodge
Bow View Lodge
#21 of 34 in Banff
826 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to A Banff Boutique Inn - Pension Tannenhof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A Banff Boutique Inn - Pension Tannenhof

Address: 121 Cave Avenue | Box 1870, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1B7, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 28 B&Bs / Inns in Banff
Price Range: $74 - $304 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — A Banff Boutique Inn - Pension Tannenhof 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to A Banff Boutique Inn, a contemporary designer Inn; offering unique accommodation in Banff, Alberta. Whether you’re here to relax, rejuvenate or seek adventure, A Banff Boutique Inn is the place to stay in the Rockies. We offer a healthy continental breakfast to start your day. Our breakfast includes; a selection of fresh seasonal fruit, yogurt, cold cereals, freshly baked bread, gluten free bread and cereal, homemade granola, Banff Roasting Company Fair-Trade Coffee and Banff Tea Co specialty loose-leaf teas. Our location is just a few minutes from the Bow River, offering an abundance of wildlife viewing opportunities. Just a few minutes walk to Cascade Gardens and The Cave and Basin. Private off-street parking is available behind the Inn; public transit is just around the corner. All guest rooms are uniquely decorated; include complimentary WIFI, and private en suite bathrooms. The Inn’s facilities are perfect for your rocky mountain wedding, reunion, anniversary or corporate retreat. At the Inn, we support local artists, offering our Inn as a “Locals Art Gallery”. You will find many unique pieces throughout the Inn available for purchase. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your A Banff Boutique Inn - Pension Tannenhof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
a Banff Boutique Inn - Pension Tannenhof Hotel Banff

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing