We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Excellent Accommodation, Recommended” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of A Banff Boutique Inn - Pension Tannenhof

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
A Banff Boutique Inn - Pension Tannenhof
Ranked #4 of 29 Banff B&B and Inns
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent Accommodation, Recommended”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2013

We stayed for 3 nights and loved the place. Helpful hosts and staff, excellent buffet breakfasts, useful guest amenities, well located on a quiet side of town, perfect base for exploring. Thanks to all who made our visit so enjoyable!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Colin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

382 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    211
    111
    41
    14
    5
See reviews for
46
254
18
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2013

My husband and I stayed in the Banff Boutique Inn for three nights mid September. From the moment we entered the front door, we were treated with outstanding hospitality. The Inn Keeper, Becky, helped us plan our entire trip from Banff to Jasper and back to Lake Louise. Becky and her husband, Lee, are professionals in the hospitality field and extremely knowledgeable about the whole Canadian Rocky experience. We took their advice and had a 11 wonderful days in Alberta. Thank you, Becky and Lee!!! While at the Inn, we enjoyed marvelous breakfasts while chatting with other guests from around the world. We shared travel experiences and adventures of the day before. Guests are able to store food and beverages in the fridge and use the kitchen for coffee and tea while enjoying the Inn's homemade treats. The lounge area is a comfortable gathering area with sofas, chairs, a fireplace, books and games. I especially enjoyed the original watercolor paintings from a local artist which were displayed in the common areas. The Inn is located within a 5 minute walk to downtown Banff. It is also within walking distance to the Cave and Basin site and the community field where the elk gather in the evenings. My husband and I stayed in room 8 with a very comfortable king bed, sitting chair and private bath. The room had great natural light and crisp ironed sheets. I highly recommend staying at A Banff Boutique Inn. I can hardly wait to return.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank pjteach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
57 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 177 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2013

A great experience with this Inn, from the time of making reservations to our departure.. everyone was so pleasant and helpful. The Inn is a lovely property - and we loved our very spacious room off the main floor sitting area, complete with a huge, retro, green-tiled bathroom. Nicely furnished with a very comfortable king bed, small settee and coffee table (though the space could warrant another chair). The TV is small but who cares when the beauty of Banff awaits outside?! The Inn's communal sitting area is very nice, with picture windows, large, comfy sofas, a fireplace, books and games. The kitchen is always available for making tea and coffee, and there's a fridge to store lunch stuff. The buffet breakfast was mostly cold stuff, but outstanding, healthy choices, we loved it! It's a nice 10-minute walk into town along a pathway and over the bridge. This was our ideal small inn/B&B -- meticulously maintained and managed, beautifully furnished, with a homey feel and delightful personal touches (those cookies were delish!).

Room Tip: The king room on the main floor is enormous, very bright and fairly quiet... though you will hear th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank D3TO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Congleton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2013

A friendly welcome, smart rooms, tasty help yourself breakfasts make this a lovely place to stay. The location, away from the bustle and commercialisation of downtown Banff, make it perfect. A short walk along to the Cave and Basin area is ideal and a stroll across the bridge for an evening meal is ideal. A charming building.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front have a mountain view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnC776615
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, UAE
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2013

Staying at this hotel was like being welcomed into the family. Guests have free use of the huge kitchen, there is a wonderful sitting room with a picture window overlooking the mountains, breakfast was generous and the staff were wonderful. Nothing beats coming home after a hard days travel to the smell of freshly baking cookies, a hot cup of tea and a friendly smile!

The location was excellent - an easy walk across the Bow River into town or a stroll along the river to the Falls. Also great for a late night trip to the hot springs. I particularly loved the historical feel of the building which started life as two cabins. Much of the period detail has been lovingly retained. SO much more enjoyable than a modern hotel.

Room Tip: The Great Room on the ground floor is a little exposed - the window faces the carpark and the door c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LindenAbuDhabi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ayr, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2013

This was my last night in Canada before flying back to Scotland from Calgary. I had requested a quiet room with a sitting area and a very good bed and this is exactly what I was given. The shower room was small but perfectly adequate.
The young innkeeper in charge came out to greet me when I arrived, showed me around and explained that I could use the kitchen and help myself to hot drinks and homemade cookies or cake at any time. I found this a very welcome feature.
The name 'Boutique Inn' may be something of a misnomer as it is not a chic, designer type of establishment, more a very comfortable and informal B&B.
I would certainly choose to stay here again if I were in Banff.

Room Tip: Room 8, upstairs at the end of a corridor,was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roger T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2013

We had a great stay here. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Our room was on the top floor and it was very comfortable. The location to downtown was a very short walk so there was no need to drive. This place has character and we really enjoyed it.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dcarter40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Banff hotels
0.7 mi away
Moose Hotel and Suites
1.2 mi away
The Juniper Hotel
The Juniper Hotel
#4 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 790 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hidden Ridge Resort
Hidden Ridge Resort
#10 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,892 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Banff Aspen Lodge
Banff Aspen Lodge
#5 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,291 reviews
1.0 mi away
Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge
0.4 mi away
Brewster's Mountain Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to A Banff Boutique Inn - Pension Tannenhof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A Banff Boutique Inn - Pension Tannenhof

Property: A Banff Boutique Inn - Pension Tannenhof
Address: 121 Cave Avenue | Box 1870, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1B7, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — A Banff Boutique Inn - Pension Tannenhof 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to A Banff Boutique Inn, a contemporary designer Inn; offering unique accommodation in Banff, Alberta. Whether you’re here to relax, rejuvenate or seek adventure, A Banff Boutique Inn is the place to stay in the Rockies. We offer a healthy continental breakfast to start your day. Our breakfast includes; a selection of fresh seasonal fruit, yogurt, cold cereals, freshly baked bread, gluten free bread and cereal, homemade granola, Banff Roasting Company Fair-Trade Coffee and Banff Tea Co specialty loose-leaf teas. Our location is just a few minutes from the Bow River, offering an abundance of wildlife viewing opportunities. Just a few minutes walk to Cascade Gardens and The Cave and Basin. Private off-street parking is available behind the Inn; public transit is just around the corner. All guest rooms are uniquely decorated; include complimentary WIFI, and private en suite bathrooms. The Inn’s facilities are perfect for your rocky mountain wedding, reunion, anniversary or corporate retreat. At the Inn, we support local artists, offering our Inn as a “Locals Art Gallery”. You will find many unique pieces throughout the Inn available for purchase. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your A Banff Boutique Inn - Pension Tannenhof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
a Banff Boutique Inn - Pension Tannenhof Hotel Banff

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing