We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A good choice”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
A Banff Boutique Inn - Pension Tannenhof
Ranked #3 of 28 Banff B&B and Inns
Watford,UK
Level Contributor
218 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 172 helpful votes
“A good choice”
Reviewed August 1, 2013

We stayed a total of 4 nights and were very happy here. Yes, it is a little old and dark and creaky in places but the good points make up for that. We had 2 rooms as we stayed twice and both were spacious and comfortable. The room off the great room downstairs was particularly good. Huge bed and bathroom. Everything was clean and comfortable.
The young ladies who make up the staff were friendly and helpful.
Breakfasts were hearty food, all you need before heading out on a hike. I appreciated the home made granola and the daily cookies or cakes.
It is a short walk over the bridge into town so meals out in the evening are easy and drive-free.
Walking the other direction ie to the Cave and Basin was not so pleasant due to the intense numbers of vicious mosquitos. Not a problem in either of our rooms thanks to the bug screens.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank UnaW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

398 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    217
    120
    42
    14
    5
See reviews for
50
261
21
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Shropshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
366 reviews
237 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 225 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2013

We stayed here for 5 days during The Flood in June and couldn`t have been in a better place.All the staff and the owners, Lee and Becky, did their utmost to help guests change reservations etc.They even put on a little party for us on one day to cheer us up after being marooned!
The inn is a 5 minute walk into town which would have been good if the rain had stopped! We couldn`t do much of what we had planned but this was of little consequence compared to those who had lost their homes and livelihoods.
Our room was very well-equipped but the best part was having use of the kitchen to make tea, coffee etc at any time and use of an area of the fridge to store food. As the weather was so bad we bought food for the evening in the very good supermarket and ate it in the inn`s dining room.
We also had use of a large sitting room with comfortable seating and plenty of books and games.
Breakfast was great for us - plenty of fresh fruit, good breads and home-made cookies.
I have no hesitation in recommending this place.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tryfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
72 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2013

My wife and I chose this inn after an extensive internet search for Banff B&Bs. We were sold after calling the inn and speaking to the owner. Our experience here justified our long-distance impression. The inn is in a lovely location - almost all that we wanted to see i Banff was within walking distance. Our room was cozy, quiet and comfortable. The owner and staff were great and went above and beyond to help us enjoy our stay. They are all very knowledgeable about what to see and do in the area as well as in the other locales we visited like Lake Louise and the ice fields. Their suggestions made our five days exhilarating. We would go back in a heart beat.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sabba75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 24, 2013

We stayed three weeks with Becky and the team and we couldn't have been happier with our stay. Becky went out of her way to accomodate us and was exceptionally friendly and helpful. We thoroughly enjoyed our trip and would highly recommend Banff Boutique Inn. It is a well located, homely place to stay with great breakfast.
Thanks again guys!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Kings suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank griffiths_alli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level Contributor
59 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2013

While in Banff, my wife and I stayed a night at this lovely inn. Room was very comfortable and roomy. Breakfast was satisfying and well laid out. The Inn is in a great location, within a seven minute walk to downtown Banff. It is located across the street from the Bow River which makes for a nice walk anytime of day. The staff at this Banff Inn are superb.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 18, 2013

We were in Banff for a week and were in the room in the basement. It was extremely large and very comfortable. We were gone for most of each day enjoying all of the day hikes and hot springs. The breakfast before we left for the day was more like brunch for us, as it sustained us for the day. The room was clean, bright, and the staff were very gracious, friendly and helpful. Great location since it is located across the bridge and a little away from downtown. The community room was comfortable and had many books and board games to enjoy.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mmdyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bergerac, France
Level Contributor
792 reviews
160 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 422 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2013

A very average B&B but expensive although that is typical of Banff... Reasonable rooms - beds/linen OK; bathroom very small and cramped; room was large (rooms 9 and/or 10), TV far too small for the room and the potential viewing positions (14inch TV to be viewed at 10-14 foot), bedrooms very hot when sunny and very difficult to cool down as window mesh must be kept on to keep out insects, B&B had no bug killer! Decor is old and not attractive. Overall the place is not attractive either. Housekeeping a bit slapdash - left dirty glasses etc...Breakfast OK if you like lots of carbs..... Only hardboiled eggs not "carbie". A 10-15 minute walk from town. Quiet. Owners/staff helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AJCG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Banff hotels
0.7 mi away
Moose Hotel and Suites
1.1 mi away
Fox Hotel & Suites
Fox Hotel & Suites
#14 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,087 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hidden Ridge Resort
Hidden Ridge Resort
#12 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,988 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Rundlestone Lodge
Rundlestone Lodge
#7 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,094 reviews
1.0 mi away
Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge
1.2 mi away
The Juniper Hotel
The Juniper Hotel
#4 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 880 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to A Banff Boutique Inn - Pension Tannenhof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A Banff Boutique Inn - Pension Tannenhof

Property: A Banff Boutique Inn - Pension Tannenhof
Address: 121 Cave Avenue | Box 1870, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1B7, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 28 B&Bs / Inns in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — A Banff Boutique Inn - Pension Tannenhof 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to A Banff Boutique Inn, a contemporary designer Inn; offering unique accommodation in Banff, Alberta. Whether you’re here to relax, rejuvenate or seek adventure, A Banff Boutique Inn is the place to stay in the Rockies. We offer a healthy continental breakfast to start your day. Our breakfast includes; a selection of fresh seasonal fruit, yogurt, cold cereals, freshly baked bread, gluten free bread and cereal, homemade granola, Banff Roasting Company Fair-Trade Coffee and Banff Tea Co specialty loose-leaf teas. Our location is just a few minutes from the Bow River, offering an abundance of wildlife viewing opportunities. Just a few minutes walk to Cascade Gardens and The Cave and Basin. Private off-street parking is available behind the Inn; public transit is just around the corner. All guest rooms are uniquely decorated; include complimentary WIFI, and private en suite bathrooms. The Inn’s facilities are perfect for your rocky mountain wedding, reunion, anniversary or corporate retreat. At the Inn, we support local artists, offering our Inn as a “Locals Art Gallery”. You will find many unique pieces throughout the Inn available for purchase. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Evoline ltd and Agoda so you can book your A Banff Boutique Inn - Pension Tannenhof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
a Banff Boutique Inn - Pension Tannenhof Hotel Banff

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing