We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our Engagement Weekend!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
A Banff Boutique Inn - Pension Tannenhof
Ranked #3 of 28 Banff B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Kelowna
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Our Engagement Weekend!”
Reviewed April 23, 2008

We arrived in Banff on perhaps the coldest weekend of the year! Friday was -26C and it didn't warm up outside all weekend! Fresh snow every morning and all afternoon that was almost knee deep at times. My boyfriend arranged the entire weekend with the help of Lee (The owner) from the selection of a very romantic room - comfortable, away from the rest of the house and very quiet (the fake fire place was a great attempt at making the room romantic!) to the great restaurants and even a recommendation of where some popular spots are to "pop the question"

Lee and his staff were great. They must have been up early - with the amount it snowed. The walkway to our room and the entrance was always shovelled clean and the breakfast was great! The room was nice and warm, the beds were amazingly comfortable, the fridge in the room kept the champagne and strawberries cool until they were needed.

We were a lovely walk from downtown. Just far enough...great scenery, great exercise...but, not too far either.

Lee made excellent recommendations for restaurants and activites. The hot springs were a huge highlight. We were there with only 4 other people - I suppose the cold weather really scared people away.

Even with the cold temmperatures and the incredible amounts of snow...even though many of the planned events for the weekend were cancelled due to the cold...the engagement was amazing, I was completely surprized, and of course...my fiance and I are hoping to return to Banff on our honeymoon this summer. Hopefully there will be space at the Boutique Inn.

Enjoy - you will certainly love your stay at the Boutique Inn

Stayed February 2008
Helpful?
2 Thank PinkyTuscadero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

413 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    224
    125
    44
    15
    5
See reviews for
54
270
21
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, England
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2008

We arrived in Banff with no fixed plans but as soon as we saw this place we knew that it was for us, just a short walk from Banff Ave "the main high street" and on the other side of town from the railway tracks. We stayed for 3 nights and were able to negotiate a pretty good deal, (expect room prices to be high everywhere in Banff).
Lee and his staff were superb, our room over looked the river and was very comfortably furnished. Breakfast was excellent and Lee positively encouraged his guests to make use of the kitchen "out of hours". There was a fridge that we could use and he was happy for us to borrow wine glasses etc. While you are there take the time to visit Cave and Basin just down the road and also the Buffalo Nations Museum which is almost opposite.
For a really special meal try the Maple Leaf restaurant on Caribou. Other decent eateries are Cafe Soliel, the Buffalo Bistro and Georges Trattoria.
Would we stay there again? Absolutely!

  • Liked — It's location and cleanliness
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Nelson1815
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2007

My husband and I were just in Banff celebrating our wedding. We chose for our friends and family to stay at this Bed and Breakfast because we have stayed there before and just loved it! Lee O'Donnell was the most curteous and accomodating host. He made sure that we were all comfortable and that we had everything we needed for our entire stay.
The ambience of this B&B is beautiful. All the rooms are very pretty and clean. The history in this place is obvious and you're surrounded by it.
Our wedding was a dream come true and it was made even more special because of the wonderfully unique experience we had at this B&B.
It is a fairy-tale B&B and the people working there are amazing.
We will always recommend this B&B to our friends and family. We cannot wait until the next time we go. I am looking forward to a great ski season and stayinh at the Pension Tannenhof!

  • Liked — the service
  • Disliked — not being able to keep our dog there
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank JennCalgary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2007

My wife and I visited this B & B from August 28-31, 2007. The bed and covers were very comfortable and warm. The Inn was tastefully appointed. Everything was extremely clean and the staff were helpful in every way. The morning breakfasts were absolutely fresh, from the cereals, breads, fruit, etc. The inn's location was just far enough away from downtown to allow us to walk outside and absorb a mountain-quiet feeling, but completely convenient and within close walking distance to the main street. But what elevated our experience to the highest level was the Innkeeper, Lee. Lee is a bright, witty and professional individual who went out of his way to ensure that his visitors completely and thoroughly enjoyed their experience in Banff. Banff and Jasper were awesomely beautiful and I look forward to returning again soon and enjoying Lee's warm hospitality. Thank you.

Stayed August 2007
Helpful?
3 Thank golfergrace1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Levallois-Perret
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2007

Location :
Not exactly in the busy center of Banff, some 500 meters from beginning of main street. Was perfect for us, as we had a car and could escape from shops/restaurants area to go to quiet b&b place. Location is on the way to Cave and Basin, on a nice small road. Rooms are not too close from the road, which makes that noise has never been an issue for us. Good to know for hotel locations in Banff : train is horning each time it is leaving the station (North of Banff). This leads to a HUGE noise every other hour, including at night. The B&B being at the opposite of the station, we think it is a good choice.

Room :
We chose a room for 3 people, with external bathroom. It was nice, but rather small. It is true that furnishing and decoration are a bit old, but everything was very clean, and updated every day. We also had a convenient storage room inside, which was very useful for our bags. BAthroom was very small, with toilets inside. We would say it is not very nice, very far from high level hotel rooms, BUT we though it was sufficient.
Mai issue with the room was noise from adlacent room. We could really hear any noise in it, at all times. We think one big room was split into 2 smaller ones, by building a surely low-cost wall. We were really lucky to have neighbours with same timings as we had, but it may really have been an issue.

Breakfast :
Really very nice, many drinks, cereal, bread, ... Everything fresh from the nearby kitchen, and served in a modern large dining room.

Service :
Really helpful at all times, proposed help at all times, really welcoming. Really nice people who made everything to make our stay enjoyable.

Value for money :
We paid 150 CAD per day (negotiated a rebate from 180 to 150 as we stayed 4 nights), and thought it was a fair deal for Banff area in the summer. The other rooms we saw on the internet for comparable prices seemeds really of lower quality.

  • Liked — Quiet location
  • Disliked — RIsk of noise from neighbour room
  • Stayed August 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
6 Thank Epigone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Alberta
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 5, 2007

My husband and I recently returned from our stay at the beautiful Banff Boutique Inn, nestled quietly above the river, a short 5 minute walk into the center of Banff. We were in Banff celebrating the marriage of our daughter and rather than stay at the hotel where the reception was hosted we opted to gather the wedding party, immediate family and close friends at the lovely and intimate Banff Boutique Inn. What an excellent idea this proved to be as our host, Lee O'Donnell ,and his wonderful staff, added to the joy that we experienced by providing exceptional service, and helped immensely whenever a need arose - we are hard pressed to thank Lee and his staff enough, as his very unique bed and breakfast Inn housed 30 of us in a way that was very private and yet allowed us all to share our time together in an intimate fashion. The living area and the outdoor fireplace allowed us all to gather and enjoy each others company, while still allowing for people to sleep in warm and cozy rooms that were picture perfect.
Whether you are looking for a snug getaway spot or planning to host a ski weekend for friends and family, I cannot recomend this B & B enough - check it out, you'll be glad you did. We are personally looking forward to returning soon.

  • Liked — The service, location and intimacy of the inn.
  • Stayed August 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank GuidoCalgary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alberta
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2007

We stayed at this B&B for one night in August, a mini getaway that was supposed to be romantic and relaxing. We were given "the best room" which opens out on to the main common area and breakfast room. Given the lack of soundproofing, it sounded as if everyone was standing in our room. The room was clean, but in bad need of updating. The bathroom is straight out of the 1970s, complete with peeling paint, cracked tiles, and old fixtures. The bed was very old and uncomfortable.

This room was $300/night. For this amount of money, we expected a lot more.

  • Liked — Updated common areas
  • Disliked — Room badly in need of update
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank veronika75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Banff
0.7 mi away
Moose Hotel and Suites
1.1 mi away
Fox Hotel & Suites
Fox Hotel & Suites
#12 of 33 in Banff
2,143 reviews
1.0 mi away
Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.9 mi away
Stoneridge Mountain Resort by CLIQUE
1.4 mi away
Buffalo Mountain Lodge
0.8 mi away
Fairmont Banff Springs
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to A Banff Boutique Inn - Pension Tannenhof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A Banff Boutique Inn - Pension Tannenhof

Property: A Banff Boutique Inn - Pension Tannenhof
Address: 121 Cave Avenue | Box 1870, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1B7, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 28 B&Bs / Inns in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — A Banff Boutique Inn - Pension Tannenhof 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to A Banff Boutique Inn, a contemporary designer Inn; offering unique accommodation in Banff, Alberta. Whether you’re here to relax, rejuvenate or seek adventure, A Banff Boutique Inn is the place to stay in the Rockies. We offer a healthy continental breakfast to start your day. Our breakfast includes; a selection of fresh seasonal fruit, yogurt, cold cereals, freshly baked bread, gluten free bread and cereal, homemade granola, Banff Roasting Company Fair-Trade Coffee and Banff Tea Co specialty loose-leaf teas. Our location is just a few minutes from the Bow River, offering an abundance of wildlife viewing opportunities. Just a few minutes walk to Cascade Gardens and The Cave and Basin. Private off-street parking is available behind the Inn; public transit is just around the corner. All guest rooms are uniquely decorated; include complimentary WIFI, and private en suite bathrooms. The Inn’s facilities are perfect for your rocky mountain wedding, reunion, anniversary or corporate retreat. At the Inn, we support local artists, offering our Inn as a “Locals Art Gallery”. You will find many unique pieces throughout the Inn available for purchase. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your A Banff Boutique Inn - Pension Tannenhof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
a Banff Boutique Inn - Pension Tannenhof Hotel Banff

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing