We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quiet and very comfortable” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of A Banff Boutique Inn - Pension Tannenhof

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
A Banff Boutique Inn - Pension Tannenhof
Ranked #3 of 28 Banff B&B and Inns
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
128 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Quiet and very comfortable”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2012

The staff at Pension Tannenhof are very personable and helpful. The accommodations are very comfortable and spacious. Our room had dresser space for both my wife and I, as well as a lighted closet to hang clothes, put luggage and shoes. Our separate bathroom was detached from our room which is perfectly fine and acceptable by us. Rooms with a detached bath have an individual bathroom dedicated to only the occupants of that room. Other rooms at the inn do have the bathroom included within your room. One of the best things we like is the quiet. There are no noisy occupants here. Plus there is a beautiful great room where one can cozy up with a book and sit in front of the fireplace.
The breakfast was excellent. We had a variety of fresh fruit to choose from, yogurt with museli, cold cereals, hot cereal, hot tea, herbal teas, cocoa and coffee, bagels, toast, hard boiled eggs as well as treats such as granola cookies and breakfast bars.
There is a separate carriage house to store skis if you stay at the inn during the winter.
We will be returning to the Pension Tannenhof without a doubt.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank f16addict
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

392 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    215
    117
    41
    14
    5
See reviews for
48
259
20
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Shelly Beach, Australia
Level Contributor
136 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2012

My wife and I visited Banff in April 2011 and stayed at the Pension Tannendoff. We arrived mid afternoon and had no trouble in signing in and being given our room. (unlike many Australian hotels that wont admit you until usually 4pm) The inn had offstreet parking.
It is situated a little over 500m from the town proper. It is an easy walk and is flat the entire way. When we had to go into town from the Inn we always walked and found this exhilerating as on 2 nights it was snowing and was beautiful. There is a path which connects to the the main bridge which leads into town.
The rooms are of different standards and we had a good room a the far end of the upper storey. This room was comfortable and clean. It also had a toilet and shower. Many of the other rooms had shared facilities. We stayed from Wednesday night through Saturday night and found at this time of the year that the first 3 nights were very quiet and had relatively few guests. Saturday night was very busy and a lot noisier with many families staying to ski. People were easily heard at night in there rooms or using the toilets.
This is not the usual b & b and is more a hotel style inn. The staff were aussies and were extremely friendly and helpful. They suggested things to do and rang and booked some of them for us. Breakfasts were always good and tea and coffee were available during the day.
Our daughter was and still is working in Banff and the attractions we enjoyed were: the dogsledding (although expensive), the gondolier, the hot springs and of course Sunshine ski fields. We found The Elk and Oarsman Pub great value for lunch or dinner and had a great atmosphere.
Overall we loved Banff and thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Pension Tannanhof

Room Tip: Choose upstairs in the ensuited rooms for best value. Also had a verandah and window.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank holidays2407
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2012

We stayed 4 nights at this property and found the location excellent and only a few minutes walk into the main street of Banff. The Inn was very clean and breakfasts were beautiful. The staff were very friendly and accommodating. I would definitely stay here again and recommend to anybody considering staying here.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carolyn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2012

We stayed one night in the Banff Boutique Inn. Our room was a king room in the coach house. It is close to the centre of Banff (5 minute drive) and also easily accessible to the hot springs and the Fairmont. The room is cosy and warm, the breakfast was delicious (home-made granola!) and the staff are friendly and welcoming. They had a special room rate, too which made it very cheap and affordable!

Great place to stay in Banff.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Schmody77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatoon, Saskatchewan, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2012

The location is about 7-9 mins walk to downtown, and the building is beautifully maintained. We stayed in the King w/ the private bathroom. THIS IS NOT A TRADITIONAL BED & BREAKFAST. You don't get to know the family - they were not present during our trip at all- the staff is very friendly though. You don't get to know any of the guests who are also staying, as there is not large communal breakfast. I knew before coming that the breakfast was continental, but I am thoroughly dissapointed in what was available. Coffee/tea/hot chocolate/ juice, toast/bagel, fruit, yogurt, and cereal. This was all fine the first morning or two, and after that I was tired of the blah, we are on holidays! The staff was very helpful, polite and kind. It felt more like a hotel, without the ammenities. Next time I will go to a real b&b for the experience, or I will go to a hotel for the pool/hotub & conveniences.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ashley Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2011

Great location just a short walk from the nightlife of Banff and an even shorter walk to the river. Elk were the first wildlife spotting of the weekend. Very nice room and very quiet especially considering how many people we saw at breakfast. It was nice to have my gluten free preference met. Thanks for a nice escape from the city!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank McBfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rock Hill, SC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2011

Not sure I understand some of the other comments. I think of a hostel as a place where multiple people stay in a dorm-like environment. This is nothing like that. We had two different stays here, and both rooms were large, beautiful, and modern. We stayed in the king room on the main floor and had a huge room, bed, and private bathroom for an excellent rate. Later we stayed in the king room in the basement, which again had a huge room and bed. (One note: if you're very large or overweight, the shower and toilet area in this room are rather small, so you might want to pick another).

As for the location, it's an easy walk to town, and you can pick up a walking-biking trail right across the street. If you walk or bike one way for about a mile, you get to Bow River Falls. If you walk or bike the other way, you get to the Cave Basin area, which is currently closed, but the surrounding ecosystem is very interesting and you can continue biking or hiking to another waterfall. I can only conclude that those who didn't like the area are sedentary.

As for the view, I'm not sure what the person who said there is no view was expecting, but if you eat breakfast in the front room, you're looking right out the window at a giant snow-covered mountain. I certainly don't have that kind of view at home.

The rate was good, the staff was friendly to us, the manager was friendly and accommodating, and we enjoyed the granola and pumpkin muffins at breakfast.

Room Tip: King room in the basement is a good room but has a small bathroom. Preferred the king room on the ma...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RockHillian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Banff hotels
0.7 mi away
Moose Hotel and Suites
1.0 mi away
Fox Hotel & Suites
Fox Hotel & Suites
#13 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,061 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hidden Ridge Resort
Hidden Ridge Resort
#12 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,958 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
The Juniper Hotel
The Juniper Hotel
#4 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 842 reviews
1.0 mi away
Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge
0.8 mi away
Banff Aspen Lodge
Banff Aspen Lodge
#6 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to A Banff Boutique Inn - Pension Tannenhof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A Banff Boutique Inn - Pension Tannenhof

Property: A Banff Boutique Inn - Pension Tannenhof
Address: 121 Cave Avenue | Box 1870, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1B7, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 28 B&Bs / Inns in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — A Banff Boutique Inn - Pension Tannenhof 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to A Banff Boutique Inn, a contemporary designer Inn; offering unique accommodation in Banff, Alberta. Whether you’re here to relax, rejuvenate or seek adventure, A Banff Boutique Inn is the place to stay in the Rockies. We offer a healthy continental breakfast to start your day. Our breakfast includes; a selection of fresh seasonal fruit, yogurt, cold cereals, freshly baked bread, gluten free bread and cereal, homemade granola, Banff Roasting Company Fair-Trade Coffee and Banff Tea Co specialty loose-leaf teas. Our location is just a few minutes from the Bow River, offering an abundance of wildlife viewing opportunities. Just a few minutes walk to Cascade Gardens and The Cave and Basin. Private off-street parking is available behind the Inn; public transit is just around the corner. All guest rooms are uniquely decorated; include complimentary WIFI, and private en suite bathrooms. The Inn’s facilities are perfect for your rocky mountain wedding, reunion, anniversary or corporate retreat. At the Inn, we support local artists, offering our Inn as a “Locals Art Gallery”. You will find many unique pieces throughout the Inn available for purchase. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your A Banff Boutique Inn - Pension Tannenhof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
a Banff Boutique Inn - Pension Tannenhof Hotel Banff

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing