We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Storm Mountain Lodge & Cabins
Nearby Hotels
Douglas Fir Resort & Chalets(Banff)(Great Value!)
$151
$141
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hidden Ridge Resort(Banff)(Great Value!)
$228
$207
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$406
$311
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Rundlestone Lodge(Banff)(Great Value!)
$245
$209
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa(Banff)(Great Value!)
$192
$178
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Fox Hotel & Suites(Banff)(Great Value!)
$232
$216
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Fairmont Banff Springs(Banff)
$434
$388
Fairmont.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$213
$166
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Banff Aspen Lodge(Banff)(Great Value!)
$254
$216
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$255
$243
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (414)
Filter reviews
414 results
Traveler rating
296
75
15
17
11
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
296
75
15
17
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswood burning fireplacebison tenderloinlake louiselog cabinmarble canyoncozy cabinsrustic elegancecharcuterie boardcanadian rockiesclaw foot tubsnow shoesgreat canadianperfect mountainbanff national parkromantic weekendour honeymoongranola
Filter
Updating list...
358 - 363 of 414 reviews
Reviewed September 23, 2008

For our first visit to the Canadian Rockies, we wanted to really experience the mountains. Storm Mountain Cabins are just what we wanted...rustic authentic cabins in between Banff & Lake Louise. A nice lodge with excellent dining & the cabins are warm & cozy. Not really luxurious, but well taken care of & well appointed. Very good staff & we stayed 6 nights & hated to leave.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sstj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2008

We spent 4 nights at Storm Mountain in the beginning of September. Our cabin (#3) was very charming with claw foot tub, wood burning fireplace, leather chair and comfy queen bed. Our cabin was in the row closest to the road, so there was some road noise - but it quieted down at night, so wasn't a problem. We did have an issue with the fireplace flue not working properly - ended up with a cabin full of smoke and set off the fire alarm. The main lodge building is fabulous with a huge fireplace and wrap around windows. We had dinner 2 nights and the lamb was terrific. We had breakfast each morning - also very tasty (excellent cranberry scones) - the menu is limited to fruit, granola and one omelet. The staff were always very friendly. Overall, we enjoyed our stay. The lodge is conveniently located between Banff & Lake Louise - so close to all the major attractions and hikes.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AZTraveler38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2008

We called Storm Mountain Lodge at the last minute on a Saturday afternoon and were lucky enough to reserve a cabin for two people for the same night. We also made a reservation for the restaurant. We were looking for somewhere different to stay and were enticed by the description of wood log cabins, wood burning fireplace and restaurant on site. Our stay was fantastic. The main building where you check in and have dinner is amazing - old style cabin complete with hardwood floors, deer antler chandliers, a piano in one corner with 1930's paper music and even a buffalo head mounted on the wall. In short, it's cozy and inviting. The cabin we had included a wood burning fireplace and it was set up with logs and kindling neatly wrapped in little bundles ready for us to use. Will admit I'm not experienced at lighting fires so took me over an hour to actually get it going. The queen size bed was really comfortable and we had a claw foot bathtub/ shower too! Anyway, dinner was amazing too - we stuffed ourselves. Must try the scallops; my boy and I split the choc mousse for dessert, yum! Can't reccomend this place enough! :) We stayed at a few local Fairmont's and would actually rather stay here again than go back to the Fairmont properties again. Everybody really nice and friendly - rustic fun in the mountains.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LittleMissSilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2008

Our broker had said the best meal he ever had in his life was at Storm Mountain. Since we were going to Calgary via Banff, we decided this just had to be one of our destinations. The log cabins are rustic and charming. It's very wooded and peaceful there. It was our last day before returning to Minneapolis so we didn't have a chance to check out the trails that might be nearby. Apparently there's a bear in the woods, and the berries are plentiful and ripe right now so it may be just as well.
The staff were very friendly and capable. The room (cabin) was clean and fully furnished and plenty of hot water in the shower.
The food somehow managed to live up to our expectations. The bison was so good I'm salivating all over again! The grilled vegetable tower was dramatic and delicious, as was every other morsel we put in our mouths!
Breakfast was really good too.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rascallyroz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2008

When planning our trip to the Canadian Rockies we wanted to stay outside of the hubbub of Banff and Lake Louise, and Storm Mountain Lodge turned out to be a wonderful choice. The setting is magnificent, close to some beautiful trails and other attractions, and the cabins well appointed and charming. The food at the restaurant is excellent and the small lodge is a wonderful place to hang out.

There are some quirks. The location is at the top of a steep grade of route 93 (approaching Vermilion Pass from the north) that is used by many big trucks, and they make a lot of noise. But the traffic eased up after about 10 pm and overall we didn't find it bothersome.

The lodge website asks if you want to make a reservation for dinner. That's great...but don't expect them to follow up if you say yes. They expect you to figure out that you have to tell them the time, and if you don't, no reservation. So we arrived after a long drive expecting to have dinner there, but had no reservation and didn't want to wait until their first available table. They were accommodating in arranging another option, but the experience felt like poor guest service that could have been avoided with a simple change to their website.

The other issue we experienced was with the charming but dysfunctional fireplace, whose flue didn't pull the smoke out of the cabin. Gradually smoke filled the room, set off the fire alarm, and left us with a very smoky cabin the rest of the night. The staff implicitly blamed us for starting the fire too far forward in the fireplace. Again, this felt like poor guest service.

Despite these quirks, I'd stay there again.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank GreenTraveler9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews