We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Restaurant Fantastic, Cabins Rustic but Charming” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Storm Mountain Lodge & Cabins

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Storm Mountain Lodge & Cabins to your Saves list
Storm Mountain Lodge & Cabins
3.0 of 5 Lodge   |   Hwy. 93 South -Banff-Windermere Highway | Box 3249, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1C8, Canada   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 18 Specialty Lodging in Banff
Certificate of Excellence
calgary,ab
Level Contributor
53 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Restaurant Fantastic, Cabins Rustic but Charming”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2013

We visiting one night in the off season from Calgary and enjoyed a amazing dinner-scallop salad/brie to start followed by the best Bison we have had anywhere. Portions are very generous and Wine was reasonable. Our dinner and breakfast was included with our nights accommodation.
It was very cold when we visited but the fireplace and heater was able to keep our cabin cosy.The cabins were built in 1923 and although rustic are charming- I would rate the cabins as good and the restaurant as excellent therefore the overall rating of very good.
I would recommend visiting Storm mountain lodge - you can make reservations just for dinner , just keep in mind that it is about 1/2 an hour drive from Banff.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bee-bum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

234 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Caloundra, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

You will need your own car to find this location but it’s definitely well worth the effort.
Head out west from Banff, turn off the Trans-Canada Highway at a main intersection near the Castle Mountain area and take the Banff/Windermere Parkway for about 2 kilometres up the first climb and look out for the right hand turn-off to Storm Mountain Lodge.
If you can’t afford to stay a night, it’s still worth dropping in for a beer or two, sitting in their lounge on their comfy leather couches, sitting beside a crackling fire and you will find and certainly experience the real Canadian ‘feel’ that visitors to Canada should not miss. Vintage snow sled coffee table, snow shoes, ski s, antlers and of course a variety of stuffed heads of wildlife (road kill rescue of course) decorate the room but not in any way offensive or off-putting.
A wonderful highlight would be to stay a night or two in one of their absolutely authentic ‘Canadian’ log cabins. Again, another open fireplace, comfy bed and definitely another Canadian ‘must do’ experience if you have the time. These cabins are historically authentic, and beautifully furnished in a rustic elegance. The log buildings were built way back in 1922 by the Canada Pacific Railway as a bungalow camp to promote tourism in the Banff National Park. Look out for the little cabin welcome committee – chipmunks!
Even more!............. the Restaurant! Enjoy dinner and you won’t be disappointed. Delicious food with a good choice and it felt like five star dining to me. This was included in our night’s stay. Bargain!
All in all a memory to tuck away that you will never forget, ever!

  • Liked — The whole feel of the place
  • Disliked — Getting there required the use of my own car - I'm not sure if they pickup from anywhere.
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gubbidono
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Collins, Colorado
Level Contributor
35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

We have visited this location on previous visits to the Banff area, but just for an evening meal. This visit we stayed 3 nights to enjoy the ambience of the area. The owners and staff go out of their way to make your stay special. We were in Log Cabin #9, and it was very clean, up to date comfortable and made cozy in the evening with a fireplace. The meals served in the main lodge were outstanding, served beautifully and exceptional in taste. The setting is quiet and lovely among the pine trees, set back from the road and across the highway from Storm Mountain. What a fantastic respite after a days activities, whatever they may be, in the Banff/Lake Louise area.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Griffith85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

What a wonderful evening and stay...fantastic food..and tranquil setting...we can not wait to go back..great distance for a weekend stay from Calgary. Friendly service and a quiet get a way.

The cottages are quaint and comfortable. We had a sitting area which was nice to have the extra space.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gochitwa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

Storm Mountain Lodge is equidistant from Banff and Lake Louise. The log cabins are set back from the road in a beautiful setting. Yes, they're close to the road but the road noise is really not a factor (if you're really noise sensitive, try a weekend stay when there's less truck traffic). Note that TripAdvisor's map locates the Lodge in Banff but it is actually 25 km from town. It's a cozy, rustic, spacious enough room with a wood-burning fireplace. The lodge is comfortable, accessible and has an excellent (but not inexpensive) restaurant.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Steven S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We stayed here in August and it was the perfect place to end our week in Jasper and Banff. The cabin was small, but most cabins are. There was a beautiful fireplace right in the center of the room and enough firewood to enjoy many fires. The bed was a little lacking in comfort and the heater clicked and popped all night, but those were minor details we overlooked due to the rustic nature of the cabin. If you have a choice, request a cabin in the back, as our cabin was right on the highway and you could hear the trucks passing all night long. The restaurant was really charming, but the prices were a bit much considering the rustic nature of the rooms. We opted to go the store and picnic our way through our stay, but you can also drive to Banff for a nice dinner at reasonable prices. They do not have a coffee maker in the room or hairdryers, so plan to bring your own. Overall, a charming stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Andrewsmom67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Red Deer, Alberta
Level Contributor
114 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

Looking for a quiet, cozy, charming stay in the woods on the mountain? Look no further! The log cabin was just as delightful inside as the outside looked - right out of a fairytale storybook! Great getaway from tv, internet, electronics, etc. Just bring a good book or a board game and RELAX! The bed was extremely comfy, the cabin was immaculate. We enjoyed the gourmet dinner and relaxing in front of the fireplace after dinner in the lodge. The staff were very friendly and helpful. We would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jaggsmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Banff hotels
20.1 mi away
Hidden Ridge Resort
19.5 mi away
Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge
20.0 mi away
Buffalo Mountain Lodge
Buffalo Mountain Lodge
#15 of 31 in Banff
4.0 of 5 stars 900 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.5 mi away
Fox Hotel & Suites
Fox Hotel & Suites
#13 of 31 in Banff
4.0 of 5 stars 1,800 reviews
19.7 mi away
Rundlestone Lodge
Rundlestone Lodge
#7 of 31 in Banff
4.0 of 5 stars 881 reviews
3.6 mi away
Castle Mountain Chalets
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Storm Mountain Lodge & Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Storm Mountain Lodge & Cabins

Address: Hwy. 93 South -Banff-Windermere Highway | Box 3249, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1C8, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 18 Specialty Lodging in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3 star — Storm Mountain Lodge & Cabins 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Storm Mountain Lodge was constructed in 1922 as one of eight Bungalow Camps built by Canadian Pacific Railway to promote tourism in the Rocky Mountains. Our Banff Park cabins and lodge offer guests exceptional accommodations and cuisine amidst the majestic Canadian Rockies. Whether its a romantic getaway, weekend retreat, family vacation or a Canadian Rockies wedding, Storm Mountain Lodge provides an ideal setting. Guests will experience delicious Canadian cuisine prepared with a dedication to organic ingredients and naturally raised Alberta meat and wild fish pared with Canada's finest selection of wine. All of our breads, desserts and breakfast pastries are baked daily on site. The Historic Log Cabins provide guests with amenities such as wood-burning fireplaces, antique soaker tubs and offer a cozy place to relax! Stay at our Banff lodge and make the most of your Canadian Rockies vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Storm Mountain Lodge & Cabins reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Storm Mountain Lodge And Cabins
Storm Mountain Lodge & Cabins Hotel Banff
Storm Mountain Banff

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing