We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Low Customer Service” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mountain Home Bed and Breakfast

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Mountain Home Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #10 of 28 Banff B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Shropshire
1 review
“Low Customer Service”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2008

We stayed at this bed & breakfast for two nights in September, 2008. The property is very nice and comfortable, but don't expect a warm welcome as the owner is very unfriendly and in our view is not suited to a people orientated service.

If you are looking for a cosy welcoming bed & breakfast, consider alternative options.

  • Liked — Room view
  • Disliked — The customer service
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank SueShropshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    105
    33
    13
    3
    5
See reviews for
9
118
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Alberta
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2008

We stayed at Mountain Home B & B for two nights. We were greeted by a note on the front door which stated the host was unavailable and the note directed us to our key.

The website describes the rooms as being on the second floor. The note enclosed with the key stated that our room, the Buffalo Room, was on the main floor. This room is located behind the staircase and beside the kitchen. The room itself was clean and comfortable.

In the morning at breakfast our host did not introduce herself to us which felt awkward and very unwelcoming.

The second night we went to bed around 10:45 pm and for almost an hour we tried to sleep but could not because of noise coming through the wall from the kitchen beside us. At 11:40 pm I went to the kitchen door and politely pointed out the time and asked if the noise could stop soon. Our host seemed irritated and was very rude to me and said she was doing stuff in the kitchen and yes, it was going to stop soon.

The next morning as we were leaving our host attempted an apology by saying sorry for the noise but then went on to say she was waiting for some guests to return.

We have never had such a disappointing experience at a bed and breakfast.

  • Liked — clean room
  • Disliked — the host
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank luvtohike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford England
Level Contributor
40 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2008

We stayed for two nights at the Mountain Home B&B, and we couldn't have asked for a better start to our trip. I do not understand some of the previous comments on this website. We found Lynne charming, and her breakfasts were to die for! Yes, she wants to know what time you are arriving, she doesn't want to have to wait in all day on the off chance you may turn up, but I dont think it is unreasonable to ask people to give an ETA. We knew our flight was delayed, so we informed her, and she left a key out for us, so that we could settle ourselves in.
The house is in a quiet part of town, yet within easy reach of all Banff has to offer.
The room was beautiful with the most comfortable bed I have ever slept in (Kingsize) The bathroom was large, and very well equipped, even providing a hair dryer.
The breakfasts consisted of a hot entree (different each day) fresh fruit with yoghurt, toast and croissants with home made jam and on one day we had blueberry pancakes with home made raspberry sauce, exquisite!
All in all we couldn't fault this place. If you are looking for a great place to lay your head either as part of a trip or a longer stay - look no further!

  • Liked — Tha fantastic bed, and the wonderful breakfasts
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank prettybullet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holmfirth
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2008

The sign outside the front door, "Registration 5.00 pm. to 6.30 p.m. kind of sums up the attitude of the hostess. This was reinforced when we were asked, whilst being shown our room, "If we would like to register." For register, read pay.

Whilst the house and our room were very nice, it was clear we were customers, rather than guests. Without exception all the other house guests we met during our 5 day stay passed the same comment.

Breakfasts were unispiring. We stayed at 5 B&B during our tour and enjoyed some very good breakfasts; regrettably this was not the case at Mountain Home.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — We were cutomers rather than guests
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank HolmfirthHotdog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2008

I enjoyed my short stay at the Mountain Home Bed and Breakfast. I was able to meet many different people during our breakfast time, and I looked forward to finding out what the main dish would be each day. It was always very tasty. My favorite was the strawberry filled french toast. The lodgings themselves were excellent. Everything from a hair dryer to body lotion was provided. It all added up to a very pleasant stay.

Stayed June 2008
Helpful?
Thank ebrackin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melbourne
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2007

To be honest, we didn't really feel that welcome when we arrived at Mountain B & B (I felt that perhaps Lynne wasn't in a good mood the day that we arrived).

The decor in the room that we stayed in was nice and the common areas are kept very tidy. We were told that if you are staying in the Norquay room (facing Muskrat Street), you may need to shut the windows at night because there can be noise coming from the street and sounds travel at night.

The breakfast was nice. Breakfast is self-serve. Lynne offered different hot items each day that we stayed. You get a few choices of cereal, fresh fruit/fruit salad, bread and condiments for the bread and one hot item (like scones and waffles). Lynne has a lot of quality literature available to guests to use regarding the area and we (and the other guests) found that useful during the time of our stay. Lynne has good knowledge of the area as well, so for those who don't know the area, she is a good source of knowledge.

Lynne has strict rules with regards to shoes in that you must take off your shoes in her place. Also, Lynne is very strict about breakfast times. From my experience, she will only serve breakfast between certain times during the peak season. I am not sure whether she is more accommodating during the off season.

The decor is nice, location is central and breakfast is nice, so if you are looking for above average accommodation, you will get it here. However, if you are really wanting value for money and from our experience someone who will go out of the way to really help you, I don't feel that you really get it here.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — could be noisy
  • Stayed July 2007
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sweetstarneon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
colin the caribou
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2007

An unforgettable experience.We arrived late (9.30pm)with appologies to Lynne who was very gracious about it,were shown to the Norquay room which was beautiful and had a good night's sleep on a very comfortable bed.Breakfast was a choice of cereals,toast,delicious home made jams or special home made cooked items(and Lynne is a very good cook).It is about a five minute walk to the town and easy to avoid the present roadworks on the main street if you wish to travel further afield.We booked the accomodation over the internet so did not really know what to expect,but we enjoyed our six nights there and have no hesitation in recomending it to anyone wishing a more intimate,reasonably priced B&B.

  • Liked — Intimate atmosphere,friendliness,cleanliness&good food
  • Disliked — No dislikes
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank homer_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Banff hotels
0.3 mi away
Moose Hotel and Suites
0.2 mi away
Brewster's Mountain Lodge
0.3 mi away
Banff Aspen Lodge
Banff Aspen Lodge
#5 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Rundlestone Lodge
Rundlestone Lodge
#9 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,042 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Juniper Hotel
The Juniper Hotel
#4 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 791 reviews
0.7 mi away
Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mountain Home Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mountain Home Bed and Breakfast

Property: Mountain Home Bed and Breakfast
Address: 129 Muskrat St. | P.O. Box 272, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1A4, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 28 B&Bs / Inns in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Mountain Home Bed and Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mountain Home Bed & Breakfast Lodge is located in an elegant home that features spacious guest rooms equipped with antiques, king-size beds, goose- down duvets, sitting areas with a 32" flat screen HDTV and a large private ensuite bathrooms. Located in a quiet, central area that is only a five minute walk to shops and restaurants. Delicious homecooked breakfasts are served each morning. Free off-street parking is offered as well as high speed Wi-Fi. 4 star Canada Select Rating. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Mountain Home Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mountain Home b&b
Mountain Home Hotel Banff

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing