We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Winter wonderland hospitality”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Banff
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mountain Home Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #22 of 28 Banff B&B and Inns
Reviewed January 4, 2014

This is our 6th stay at this wonderful accommodation located centrally to Banff shops and services. It was as enjoyable as ever, Lynne and Eckii's hospitality is so welcoming when we are so far awy from Australia. We always stay in the Rundle room located at the front of the house with a great view of the mountain. The room is extremely comfortable especially with its own fire place and lounge chairs. But the most important start to the day before skiing or snow mobiling is the delightful and delicious breakfast Lynne prepares, she may even share a recipe with you, our favourite this week was Nest eggs. Defnitely looking forward to coming back.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lyn P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (165)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

54 - 60 of 165 reviews

Reviewed October 5, 2013

From the moment we arrive we felt like we were interfering and intruding on Lyn's home.
Upon arrival we were directed to put on her used slippers and immediately directed to our room. My questions of recommendation of outings and restaurants were ignored as we were directed to a pile of brochures in the hall way. Breakfast was served by Lyn with no interaction what so ever. We paid cash and were not issued a official receipt, rather a hand written note with no date or appropriate details. This was the exception to our B+B experience for our other wise wonderful B+B experience for Canada and Alaska.

Room Tip: this is a last resort accommodation
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank BrendaLampley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2013

A quiet location 5 minutes’ walk from the main street; comfortable, immaculately-clean rooms, furnished with good taste and an eye for charming antiques and local crafts; satisfying and perfectly-cooked breakfasts with a different hot dish each day…if this sounds appealing, you’ll appreciate the value offered by Mountain Home B&B. As a bonus, you can benefit from Lynne’s experienced advice about the Banff area and enjoy comparing notes with the other guests at breakfast.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lee M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2013

The Mountain Home is a lovely B and B with quality furnishings and amenities. It is located in an excellent part of the city in easy walking distance to the commercial parts of Banff. Breakfasts were good and varied by day. There are many positive reviews of this B and B and despite its location and qualify, I would not stay there again. Other reviewers have commented on taking your shoes off at the front door which as someone from a muddy, snowy, location is not unusual. What is unusual in not being allowed to roll your roller suitcases over the floors.
Breakfast was served with the kitchen door closed and little or no interaction with the hostess. When we asked about places to eat we were referred to the dining guide where some guests had put annotations next to restaurants they liked. Now she has lived there for a long time, wouldn’t you think some local knowledge would be welcomed and offered? One of the reasons you stay at a B and B is to get the local knowledge and friendliness of the host/hostess; there was none here.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 95Leedy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2013

Stayed for six nights as we wanted to do some hiking in the Rockies. Beautiful bedroom and bathroom, the most comfortable and huge bed and breakfasts were delicious. This B&B is only five minutes walk from the main street in Banff yet very quiet overnight.

We had to take our shoes off in the hallway and some slippers were provided but many looked like they had already been worn by others so best to take your own. Didn't find it easy to "connect" with Lynne but she seemed to warm to us after six nights.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roger2504
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2013

...we left somewhat confused as never really experienced Lynne's hospitality over our three night stay. She was pleasant enough but never instigated a conversation (even when opening the front door upon our arrival) or explained about our room, the facilities in the B&B or indeed what there was in the town. This left us feeling intrusive when we asked about where a couple of things were. Breakfast was perfectly fine it was no better than scores of others we have enjoyed over the years and again there was no interaction between hostess and guests. It was left to us to make sightseeing suggestions and restaurant recommendations to each other.

Having said that the location just a couple of blocks from downtown and it's shops and restaurants was hard to beat and our room was welcoming, comfortable and spotless.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank adamhornets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2013

If you search for an excellent B&B close to Banff town center, but enough far away to have a quite room and an own parking lot for your car, Lynne's Mountain Home B&B is perfect. Elegant and Banff-Style rooms with a king size bed and a huge bathrooom. Especially the breakfast makes it worth to stay here. Start your day with fresh fruits and a glass of orange juice, choose between different cereals, yoghurt or jams. Of course you have to try the daily warm treat (one day sweet, one day tasty). Enjoy to sit with the other guests at the table and discuss the best places in Banff National Park.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kathrin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Banff hotels
0.1 mi away
Beaujolais Boutique B&B at Thea's House
0.2 mi away
Rocky Mountain B&B
Rocky Mountain B&B
#6 of 28 in Banff
251 reviews
0.5 mi away
A Banff Boutique Inn - Pension Tannenhof
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Blue Mountain Lodge
Blue Mountain Lodge
#17 of 28 in Banff
219 reviews
0.4 mi away
At Wit's End Bed and Breakfast
0.5 mi away
Buffaloberry Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mountain Home Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mountain Home Bed and Breakfast

Address: 129 Muskrat St. | P.O. Box 272, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1A4, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 28 B&Bs / Inns in Banff
Price Range: $125 - $175 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mountain Home Bed and Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mountain Home Bed & Breakfast Lodge is located in an elegant home that features spacious guest rooms equipped with antiques, king-size beds, goose- down duvets, sitting areas with a 32" flat screen HDTV and a large private ensuite bathrooms. Located in a quiet, central area that is only a five minute walk to shops and restaurants. Delicious homecooked breakfasts are served each morning. Free off-street parking is offered as well as high speed Wi-Fi. 4 star Canada Select Rating. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Mountain Home b&b
Mountain Home Hotel Banff

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing