We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Visit to Banff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mountain Home Bed and Breakfast

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Mountain Home Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #9 of 33 Banff B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Hudson, Ohio
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Visit to Banff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

The Mountain Home is a lovely B and B with quality furnishings and amenities. It is located in an excellent part of the city in easy walking distance to the commercial parts of Banff. Breakfasts were good and varied by day. There are many positive reviews of this B and B and despite its location and qualify, I would not stay there again. Other reviewers have commented on taking your shoes off at the front door which as someone from a muddy, snowy, location is not unusual. What is unusual in not being allowed to roll your roller suitcases over the floors.
Breakfast was served with the kitchen door closed and little or no interaction with the hostess. When we asked about places to eat we were referred to the dining guide where some guests had put annotations next to restaurants they liked. Now she has lived there for a long time, wouldn’t you think some local knowledge would be welcomed and offered? One of the reasons you stay at a B and B is to get the local knowledge and friendliness of the host/hostess; there was none here.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 95Leedy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    101
    31
    13
    3
    5
See reviews for
9
112
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle
Level Contributor
34 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

Stayed for six nights as we wanted to do some hiking in the Rockies. Beautiful bedroom and bathroom, the most comfortable and huge bed and breakfasts were delicious. This B&B is only five minutes walk from the main street in Banff yet very quiet overnight.

We had to take our shoes off in the hallway and some slippers were provided but many looked like they had already been worn by others so best to take your own. Didn't find it easy to "connect" with Lynne but she seemed to warm to us after six nights.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Roger2504
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watford
Level Contributor
33 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

...we left somewhat confused as never really experienced Lynne's hospitality over our three night stay. She was pleasant enough but never instigated a conversation (even when opening the front door upon our arrival) or explained about our room, the facilities in the B&B or indeed what there was in the town. This left us feeling intrusive when we asked about where a couple of things were. Breakfast was perfectly fine it was no better than scores of others we have enjoyed over the years and again there was no interaction between hostess and guests. It was left to us to make sightseeing suggestions and restaurant recommendations to each other.

Having said that the location just a couple of blocks from downtown and it's shops and restaurants was hard to beat and our room was welcoming, comfortable and spotless.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank adamhornets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

If you search for an excellent B&B close to Banff town center, but enough far away to have a quite room and an own parking lot for your car, Lynne's Mountain Home B&B is perfect. Elegant and Banff-Style rooms with a king size bed and a huge bathrooom. Especially the breakfast makes it worth to stay here. Start your day with fresh fruits and a glass of orange juice, choose between different cereals, yoghurt or jams. Of course you have to try the daily warm treat (one day sweet, one day tasty). Enjoy to sit with the other guests at the table and discuss the best places in Banff National Park.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathrin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

Cosy rooms within from anywhere in or around Banff. Lynnes breakfasts were delicious and different both days we stayed with home cooked muffins, pancakes and nest eggs. Would definitely recommend a stay.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RichandSarahW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

We stayed for 3 nights in the Rundle Room (which faces the front and has a fireplace). This B&B is only 2 blocks from the town centre and you can easily access the shops and restaurants. The room was cosy with a king size bed, free inclusive Wifi (very fast) and a coffee maker and fridge on the landing outside the room. There is a phone on the landing too which you can use,

Lynne was a lovely host and made us very welcome. Her breakfasts are superb and it is worth staying just for that! The breakfast spread included the usual cereals, toast, fresh fruit, yoghurt, orange juice and coffee. But she also offers a hot treat too - we had nest eggs one day, french toast with strawberries the next day and frittatas on the last day. Lynne also baked lovely cakes and scones which were simply delicious.

I would have no hesitation staying here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leiden, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

A very nice spacious room with a king-king size bed. We slept like babies. The breakfast was excellent, a different main dish every morning and plenty of fresh fruits. Coffee and tea were available all day. Nice to have parking space at the back of the house.

Room Tip: The room with the king size bed and en-suite bathroom is a very good choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nanda D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Banff hotels
0.2 mi away
Brewster's Mountain Lodge
1.3 mi away
Hidden Ridge Resort
0.5 mi away
Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
The Juniper Hotel
The Juniper Hotel
#3 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 stars 682 reviews
0.3 mi away
Banff Aspen Lodge
Banff Aspen Lodge
#8 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 stars 1,192 reviews
0.3 mi away
Banff Park Lodge Resort and Conference Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mountain Home Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mountain Home Bed and Breakfast

Property: Mountain Home Bed and Breakfast
Address: 129 Muskrat St. | P.O. Box 272, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1A4, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 33 B&Bs / Inns in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mountain Home Bed & Breakfast Lodge is located in an elegant home that features spacious guest rooms equipped with antiques, king-size beds, goose- down duvets, sitting areas with a 32" flat screen HDTV and a large private ensuite bathrooms. Located in a quiet, central area that is only a five minute walk to shops and restaurants. Delicious homecooked breakfasts are served each morning. Free off-street parking is offered as well as high speed Wi-Fi. 4 star Canada Select Rating. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Mountain Home Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mountain Home b&b
Mountain Home Hotel Banff

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing