We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Red Carpet Inn” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Red Carpet Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Red Carpet Inn
Ranked #28 of 32 Hotels in Banff
Bedfordshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Red Carpet Inn”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2014

The room we had a this hotel was very shabby and in need of refurbishing. We left the hotel each morning between 9 -9.30am returning at 4.30pm and on both days our room had not been serviced. The breakfast was basic, if you like eating out of polystyrene bowls, plates and cups and using plastic cutlery then you were alright. The under ground car park was like a builders yard and there was no lift from the car park to the hotel. The only good point was the location, easy access walking into Banff. We would not stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Patricia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

570 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    102
    207
    166
    64
    31
See reviews for
119
267
29
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sherwood, OR
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2014

We visited Banff in June and spent five nights at the Red Carpet Inn. We had a very spacious room. When we checked in we were told it was a "light" continental breakfast. So, we were expecting just bread and a toaster(yes, we have been places where this is the case)but they had cereal, breads, bagels, juices, coffee and tea. It was plenty to get us started. Very close to downtown Banff. The staff was very friendly. There is no laundry room on site but you can use the laundry room at their sister property next door(along with the work out room). We had a beautiful view of the surrounding mountains out on our balcony. Although free, the Wi-Fi is very slow, unless you took your computer down to the lobby!

Room Tip: We were on the back side of the hotel and had a great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PBJIlly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2014

I really enjoyed my stay here. It was within walking distance to downtown. The rooms were clean and big. Nice beds, comforter and pillows, and big TV. People and staff were very nice. They have a nice underground parking that is safe and secure and private. Breakfast was ok. It was continental.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jackie m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2014

My wife and I have been visitors to Banff in October annually since 1976, with the exception of the odd Fall trip to Mexico.
Each and every year we have stayed at the Red Carpet Inn. We have seen it grow from a single floor atypical motel to the current three story welcoming establishment overseen by Mr. Irwin himself, who always had time to talk with his guests.
Over the years we have seen some staff changes(inevitable), all of whom have left us with wonderful memories, especially "Geraldine" who would always welcome us with open arms!
The current staff has obviously been chosen for the same traits. This became apparent when I booked last Fall (and the upcoming one as well) my reservation was signed by Angela Towler, Front Desk Agent and then signed off with *Awsome*. great sense of humour. The only downside to our visits has been the passing of Mr. Irwin in 2012, a great entrepreneur lost.
Go and enjoy the Red Carpet Inn as we have many times!!!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Brian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orangeville, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2014

We stayed for 4 nights after booking on line directly with the hotel. We also showed our CAA card for a further discount. The prices were very good and we were pleasantly surprised to have a small balcony with a street view. The service was excellent-very friendly and helpful. The location was terrific. We were visiting family and could walk everywhere. It was great to be right down town. We parked our rental car at the hotel and enjoyed walking around Banff. The continental breakfast that was included made a smooth start to the day. Free wi-fi was another bonus. We will come back if we are in Banff again.

Room Tip: ask to be away from the elevator and if there is a street view balcony that's a nice add on.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank REH8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
166 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2014

The location is very good, you can get everywhere by walking. The hotel itself could use some renovation. But it is clean, the receptionist was very friendly and helpful. The room was ok and comfy very good to stay for the night, it was just very loud. You could hear the come and go of guests next door at night. We were a bit disapointed with the plastic and paper service they had for breakfast.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Angelika40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Wales
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2014

My room was what I expected for this standard of hotel; it was comfy and clean. The breakfast is served with everything as disposable; paper plates, bowls, plastic cutlery . It was however the staff that make me say disappointing. There was no smile or welcome when I checked in, I almost felt a nuisance for disturbing the gentleman behind the counter. The lady organising breakfast seemed surprised when I said good morning, she wasn't going to say this to me without my prompt. When I checked out the lady behind the counter did not ask if if my stay was OK, she didn't look at me once, she just handed the bill over. I would not stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank littleoneNorthWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Banff hotels
0.0 mi away
Irwin's Mountain Inn
Irwin's Mountain Inn
#21 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 526 reviews
0.0 mi away
High Country Inn
High Country Inn
#15 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 371 reviews
0.5 mi away
Inns Of Banff
Inns Of Banff
#30 of 32 in Banff
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,051 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Bow View Lodge
Bow View Lodge
#20 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 615 reviews
0.2 mi away
Elk + Avenue Hotel
Elk + Avenue Hotel
#19 of 32 in Banff
3.5 of 5 bubbles 872 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mount Royal Hotel
Mount Royal Hotel
#23 of 32 in Banff
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,079 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Carpet Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Carpet Inn

Property: Red Carpet Inn
Address: 425 Banff Ave., Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1B6, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 32 Hotels in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Red Carpet Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Locally owned and operated by the Irwin family, the Red Carpet Inn has a proud tradition of hosting guests from around the world! Just 2 ½ blocks from Banff’s famous downtown shopping area, the Red Carpet Inn offers excellent hotel accommodations for your Canadian Rockies holiday. With 52 well equipped guest rooms our friendly staff will help make your experience in Banff, Alberta a most memorable. The Red Carpet Inn is family friendly and offers Banff’s best value accommodation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TravelClick, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Red Carpet Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Carpet Hotel Banff
Red Carpet Inn Banff
Banff Red Carpet Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing