We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“A little overpriced.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Red Carpet Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Red Carpet Inn
Ranked #28 of 32 Hotels in Banff
NSW
Level Contributor
131 reviews
111 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
“A little overpriced.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

My wife and I stayed here for 2 nights in June 2014. Unfortunately (from our perspective) there was a major bicycle competition happening the weekend we were there and I expect that was why, firstly, we had trouble finding a room in Banff and secondly, why the cost seemed high.

Our room was on the ground floor of the Inn with our windows viewing the front, or rear, of vehicles parked in the raised carpark. No mountain views there! The room itself was only of an average size with not a lot of floor space available after we had opened our suitcases.

The room contained a table and 2 sofa chairs, a king-sized bed, a buffet unit with drawers underneath and a TV on top, coffee/tea facilities, a refrigerator and a safe. Complimentary wifi was also available in the room. The room rate included a simple continental breakfast comprising cereals and bread/toast with various condiments.

The inn was located on the edge of the town, about 10 mins walk away, so very handy.

I thought the room and services were fine but overpriced and I have rated the Inn accordingly.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank aussie_bmh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

519 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    98
    187
    150
    58
    26
See reviews for
110
239
26
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Langley, Canada
Level Contributor
71 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

The location is great for walking into the main street shopping area (about 2 blocks). Very close to restaurants, and souvenir stores.
The Inn is from an older era and is showing some wear. All the Inns and Motels get a beating especially in the winter ski season. However the rooms are very nice. We had a king size bed, table and 2 chairs, armoire, tv, and a small balcony with 2 chairs. If you like quiet ask for a backside room... you face Mt. Norquay.. Top floor (3 rd) has larger balconies than the second floor. Hot tub is nicely maintained ... on second floor.
Continental breakfast was a choice of 5 cereals, coffee, tea or juices, bagels, English muffins or toast with jam, peanut butter, honey, or cream cheese. One block towards town is a Ricky's restaurant that serves breakfast all day, plus other American style meals.
The staff were very pleasant, and efficient. Rooms were very clean. I would recommend this Inn to anyone who doesn't require 'The Ritz' treatment.
A long time Banff family run Inn , and they also own the Inn next door ... Irwin's Mountain Inn which is a little newer.
Thanks to the friendly staff and the Irwins for an enjoyable stay.

Room Tip: We had a room in back 223 , much quieter, king size bed, small balcony. Rooms in the back on the top...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BullwinkleLineman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014 via mobile

Stayed at the Red Carpet Inn while on vacation with my husband in Banff. This is a great hotel if you're really into the trucker-motel vibe. Don't let your eyes fool you - the photos posted online are wearing some serious lipstick and mascara. We had originally booked two nights, but upon seeing the room in person, decided to skip out on the second. This was probably a pretty sweet hotel when it was built however many decades ago, but it's in desperate need of a facelift before they can justify their prices.

Just a few things of the top of my head: the creaky, squeaky, uneven floors; toilet that takes 5 thousand tries to flush, vanity drawer that fell off when we tried to open it, non-functioning or impossible to find outlets; scary parking garage with no elevator; loads upon loads of furniture piled up in said parking garage, etc.

Two stars because the location is pretty good, and the gentleman at reception was very nice. Otherwise, spend a bit more money and get something way less dodgy.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank elabenes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Banff hotels

Edinburgh, Scotland
Level Contributor
242 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for 4 nights while we explored the area. Our initial thought was that the hotel was in need of a little TLC, in part because we started off by parking in the basement, but our room was a very pleasant surprise.

The room was modern and clean, and well-equipped. The bed was comfortable, towels clean and fluffy, and the shower worked well.

Breakfast was fine - bagels, English muffins and bread to toast, fruit juice, a small choice of cereals and tea and coffee; enough to start the day on!

The one thing that we didn't particularly like was the noise of water cascading down the pipes when someone upstairs flushed a toilet or had a shower - the first time it happened, I thought something had burst and flooded the room! - but we were generally so tired that we slept through it.

If we return to Banff, we will stay here again, although we will probably ask for a top-floor room.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank M1DXB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miramichi, Canada
Level Contributor
50 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

We have stayed here several times and haven't been disappointed yet. A pleasant, clean room, little noise, a light breakfast and friendly staff. The young man at the desk was kind enough to change our room to a better location for our very old dog with mobility issues. Thank you again for that!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Margaret M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff I, General Manager at Red Carpet Inn, responded to this review, June 6, 2014
Dear Guest,

I am happy to hear that you had another pleasant stay with us at the Red Carpet Inn, and that our Front Desk Agents were able to make life a little easier for you and your pet.

Remember to always book direct with us for the lowest rate!

Cheers,

Jeff Irwin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vanderhoof, BC
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

We had our travel trailer, plus our two dogs with us when we needed to stay overnight in Banff. The Red Carpet Inn was good value for dollar. They accommodated our vehicle and trailer in their pull-through. They charged a pet fee per dog. Staff was excellent. Rooms were older and OK, but needed a good cleaning.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jbccVanderhoof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff I, General Manager at Red Carpet Inn, responded to this review, May 29, 2014
Dear Guest,

I appreciate your comments, especially concerning our staff! As a Manager that's invaluable feedback! Although, I'm surprised to hear that your room cleaning was less than adequate as we have some of the best housekeepers around. I sincerely apologize if something got missed.

Kind Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014

The place could use some renovation (although the rooms themselves are great), and the breakfast is poor, but the staff were the nicest I've ever met (and I've stayed in a lot of hotels over the past few years). Also, they generously gave us towels to use at the hot springs (which is something none of the other hotels I've ever stayed at in Banff ever did).

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MKST2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff I, General Manager at Red Carpet Inn, responded to this review, May 12, 2014
Thank-you for your review!!!

I appreciate to hear that our staff are held in such high regard. We are a family owned property and are intentionally fostering a friendly family culture which extends to our guests.

Kind Regards,

Jeff Irwin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Banff hotels
0.0 mi away
Irwin's Mountain Inn
Irwin's Mountain Inn
#21 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 stars 499 reviews
0.5 mi away
Inns Of Banff
Inns Of Banff
#30 of 32 in Banff
3.0 of 5 stars 1,000 reviews
0.0 mi away
High Country Inn
High Country Inn
#16 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 stars 334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Banff Ptarmigan Inn
Banff Ptarmigan Inn
#27 of 32 in Banff
3.5 of 5 stars 1,022 reviews
0.4 mi away
Rundlestone Lodge
Rundlestone Lodge
#6 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 stars 984 reviews
0.4 mi away
Brewster's Mountain Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Carpet Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Carpet Inn

Property: Red Carpet Inn
Address: 425 Banff Ave., Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1B6, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 32 Hotels in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Red Carpet Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Locally owned and operated by the Irwin family, the Red Carpet Inn has a proud tradition of hosting guests from around the world! Just 2 ½ blocks from Banff’s famous downtown shopping area, the Red Carpet Inn offers excellent hotel accommodations for your Canadian Rockies holiday. With 52 well equipped guest rooms our friendly staff will help make your experience in Banff, Alberta a most memorable. The Red Carpet Inn is family friendly and offers Banff’s best value accommodation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, TravelClick, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Red Carpet Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Carpet Hotel Banff
Red Carpet Inn Banff
Banff Red Carpet Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing