We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“1980 called - it wants its hotel back.” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Red Carpet Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Red Carpet Inn
Ranked #28 of 32 Hotels in Banff
Montreal, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“1980 called - it wants its hotel back.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014 via mobile

Stayed at the Red Carpet Inn while on vacation with my husband in Banff. This is a great hotel if you're really into the trucker-motel vibe. Don't let your eyes fool you - the photos posted online are wearing some serious lipstick and mascara. We had originally booked two nights, but upon seeing the room in person, decided to skip out on the second. This was probably a pretty sweet hotel when it was built however many decades ago, but it's in desperate need of a facelift before they can justify their prices.

Just a few things of the top of my head: the creaky, squeaky, uneven floors; toilet that takes 5 thousand tries to flush, vanity drawer that fell off when we tried to open it, non-functioning or impossible to find outlets; scary parking garage with no elevator; loads upon loads of furniture piled up in said parking garage, etc.

Two stars because the location is pretty good, and the gentleman at reception was very nice. Otherwise, spend a bit more money and get something way less dodgy.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank elabenes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

519 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    98
    187
    150
    58
    26
See reviews for
110
239
26
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, Scotland
Level Contributor
242 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for 4 nights while we explored the area. Our initial thought was that the hotel was in need of a little TLC, in part because we started off by parking in the basement, but our room was a very pleasant surprise.

The room was modern and clean, and well-equipped. The bed was comfortable, towels clean and fluffy, and the shower worked well.

Breakfast was fine - bagels, English muffins and bread to toast, fruit juice, a small choice of cereals and tea and coffee; enough to start the day on!

The one thing that we didn't particularly like was the noise of water cascading down the pipes when someone upstairs flushed a toilet or had a shower - the first time it happened, I thought something had burst and flooded the room! - but we were generally so tired that we slept through it.

If we return to Banff, we will stay here again, although we will probably ask for a top-floor room.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank M1DXB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miramichi, Canada
Level Contributor
50 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

We have stayed here several times and haven't been disappointed yet. A pleasant, clean room, little noise, a light breakfast and friendly staff. The young man at the desk was kind enough to change our room to a better location for our very old dog with mobility issues. Thank you again for that!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Margaret M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff I, General Manager at Red Carpet Inn, responded to this review, June 6, 2014
Dear Guest,

I am happy to hear that you had another pleasant stay with us at the Red Carpet Inn, and that our Front Desk Agents were able to make life a little easier for you and your pet.

Remember to always book direct with us for the lowest rate!

Cheers,

Jeff Irwin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vanderhoof, BC
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

We had our travel trailer, plus our two dogs with us when we needed to stay overnight in Banff. The Red Carpet Inn was good value for dollar. They accommodated our vehicle and trailer in their pull-through. They charged a pet fee per dog. Staff was excellent. Rooms were older and OK, but needed a good cleaning.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jbccVanderhoof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff I, General Manager at Red Carpet Inn, responded to this review, May 29, 2014
Dear Guest,

I appreciate your comments, especially concerning our staff! As a Manager that's invaluable feedback! Although, I'm surprised to hear that your room cleaning was less than adequate as we have some of the best housekeepers around. I sincerely apologize if something got missed.

Kind Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014

The place could use some renovation (although the rooms themselves are great), and the breakfast is poor, but the staff were the nicest I've ever met (and I've stayed in a lot of hotels over the past few years). Also, they generously gave us towels to use at the hot springs (which is something none of the other hotels I've ever stayed at in Banff ever did).

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MKST2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff I, General Manager at Red Carpet Inn, responded to this review, May 12, 2014
Thank-you for your review!!!

I appreciate to hear that our staff are held in such high regard. We are a family owned property and are intentionally fostering a friendly family culture which extends to our guests.

Kind Regards,

Jeff Irwin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton
Level Contributor
90 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014 via mobile

Checked in Thursday night and stayed through to Easter Sunday. Great and friendly check in and out service. Parking available around the back and limited underground (not for large vehicles or those who struggle to park!). Undergoing reno's at the moment but we didn't hear or encounter any issues. Hot tub has great views on 2nd Floor and lovely if you have it to yourself. You can use the pool next door too, changing facilities there and towels! There are 2 hot tubs and a fun pool for the kids here. So good value and a nice opportunity to change up surroundings.

Breakfast area is nice if not too busy. Basic fayre of cereal, muffins, bagels and toast with butter/cream cheese and jams/marmalades. Lovely fruit juice and coffee. There is a microwave there too if you wanted to use that.

We had room 310. Moved the seats to the balcony each night and watched the people go by. 2 queen beds partitioned by the bathroom was a nice separation and a good sized fridge meant that we could store lunch items and save eating out for evenings (St James Gate Irish pub highly recommended). Takes 5 minutes to walk to town and we found this excellent value for money.m. We paid $400 for the 3 nights there. We saw every season that long weekend - we'll be back soon beautiful Banff!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ruthiesid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff I, Manager at Red Carpet Inn, responded to this review, May 13, 2014
Thank-you for your kind review, we hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sant Julia de Loria, Andorra
Level Contributor
52 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014

Best value for money at the Banff avenue. We found a good offer and ended up being very cheap. The staff, although nice in the begining, took 45 minutes to get us a blanket that we had asked for because it was very cold. Breakfast was poor.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank judit_withouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Banff hotels
0.0 mi away
Irwin's Mountain Inn
Irwin's Mountain Inn
#21 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 stars 499 reviews
0.5 mi away
Inns Of Banff
Inns Of Banff
#30 of 32 in Banff
3.0 of 5 stars 1,000 reviews
0.0 mi away
High Country Inn
High Country Inn
#16 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 stars 334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Banff Ptarmigan Inn
Banff Ptarmigan Inn
#27 of 32 in Banff
3.5 of 5 stars 1,022 reviews
0.4 mi away
Rundlestone Lodge
Rundlestone Lodge
#6 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 stars 984 reviews
0.4 mi away
Brewster's Mountain Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Carpet Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Carpet Inn

Property: Red Carpet Inn
Address: 425 Banff Ave., Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1B6, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 32 Hotels in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Red Carpet Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Locally owned and operated by the Irwin family, the Red Carpet Inn has a proud tradition of hosting guests from around the world! Just 2 ½ blocks from Banff’s famous downtown shopping area, the Red Carpet Inn offers excellent hotel accommodations for your Canadian Rockies holiday. With 52 well equipped guest rooms our friendly staff will help make your experience in Banff, Alberta a most memorable. The Red Carpet Inn is family friendly and offers Banff’s best value accommodation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and TravelClick so you can book your Red Carpet Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Carpet Hotel Banff
Red Carpet Inn Banff
Banff Red Carpet Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing