We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well located and great room/views!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Red Carpet Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Red Carpet Inn
Ranked #28 of 32 Hotels in Banff
Edmonton
Level Contributor
90 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“Well located and great room/views!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014 via mobile

Checked in Thursday night and stayed through to Easter Sunday. Great and friendly check in and out service. Parking available around the back and limited underground (not for large vehicles or those who struggle to park!). Undergoing reno's at the moment but we didn't hear or encounter any issues. Hot tub has great views on 2nd Floor and lovely if you have it to yourself. You can use the pool next door too, changing facilities there and towels! There are 2 hot tubs and a fun pool for the kids here. So good value and a nice opportunity to change up surroundings.

Breakfast area is nice if not too busy. Basic fayre of cereal, muffins, bagels and toast with butter/cream cheese and jams/marmalades. Lovely fruit juice and coffee. There is a microwave there too if you wanted to use that.

We had room 310. Moved the seats to the balcony each night and watched the people go by. 2 queen beds partitioned by the bathroom was a nice separation and a good sized fridge meant that we could store lunch items and save eating out for evenings (St James Gate Irish pub highly recommended). Takes 5 minutes to walk to town and we found this excellent value for money.m. We paid $400 for the 3 nights there. We saw every season that long weekend - we'll be back soon beautiful Banff!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ruthiesid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff I, Manager at Red Carpet Inn, responded to this review, May 13, 2014
Thank-you for your kind review, we hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

501 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    98
    182
    143
    53
    25
See reviews for
102
231
26
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sant Julia de Loria, Andorra
Level Contributor
52 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014

Best value for money at the Banff avenue. We found a good offer and ended up being very cheap. The staff, although nice in the begining, took 45 minutes to get us a blanket that we had asked for because it was very cold. Breakfast was poor.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank judit_withouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatchewan
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014

I am a middle aged male skier. I stayed at the Red Carpet Inn from March 25 to 28, 2014.

After reading many reviews on the Red Carpet Inn, my expectations weren't high. As in most reviews I found the staff friendly, helpful and efficient.

The hotel was very clean except for the underground parking, which is a bit of a disaster! The garage is cluttered with junk, dirty, stuff dripping from pipes, the concrete is peeling, the whole place feels almost unsafe. The rest of the hotel is good.

My room on the 3rd floor was much better than I expected. The bathroom was large, recently tiled and spotlessly clean. The single control tap on the sink was plumbed backwards - hot was cold and vice-versa.

The furniture was in good shape but a little dated, same for the carpet. The bed seemed fairly new and was very comfortable. They use the double sheet method so other than the decorative strip at the foot of the bed you don't have to deal with other peoples cooties.

Breakfast is very basic, cereal, bagels, coffee, juice, toast. No fruit or anything hot.

The window in my room wouldn't close all of the way. The frame was rotted and the closing mechanism was loose and almost falling off. In a way this was good . . . There is a bad odor in the hotel, especially in the hall ways and is worse as you go up floors (3rd floor is the top). I left the bathroom exhaust fan on all of the time and with the window stuck open a bit it was tolerable. The smell is very much like when a septic tank gets pumped out so I suspect it is sewer gas, maybe the plumbing is vented inside instead of out.

Conclusion: If it weren't for the smell this place would be a super value. I think I would ask if they have dealt with the odor before staying there again, it is quite offensive. :)

Room Tip: Ask if the sewer odor problem has been corrected. March 2014.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank skibug23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andorra la Vella, Andorra
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2014

Best value for money at the Banff avenue. We found a good offer and ended up being very cheap. The staff, although nice in the begining, took 45 minutes to get us a blanket that we had asked for because it was very cold. Breakfast was poor.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jordi_dd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2014 via mobile

Even though they are in the midst of a renovation... I had a very comfortable stay... Third floor at the back facing norquay... Quiet after 10pm... Great staff--- very friendly !! No issues with my dog... Close to downtown-- few minutes walk!! Would stay here again... Good for the price and location!

Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Kim C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff I, General Manager at Red Carpet Inn, responded to this review, May 14, 2014
Thanks for your kind review!

Insider Tip! Next time you bring your dog make sure to ask for puppy treats at the Front Desk!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2014

Stayed here for 8 night in early March. I was just expecting a clean place to stay in a good location and it was that and more. Staff were all friendly. Location a few minutes walk (about 2-3 blocks) to the centre of town. Rooms were much larger than I expected (I had family suite for 3 of us). Rooms and hotel all clean. Based on some reviews stating place looks old / run down etc I was expecting it to look a lot more dated, smell etc but it was great. Felt very clean. Beds comfortable. Big TV, heater and air con. Only went to breakfast a few days but its all you need to get you started. Toasts, cereal etc. Free wifi worked great was always fast and never dropped out. Ski shuttles leave from hotel either side of the Red Carpet. 100% would recommend this hotel for someone who wants a cheap easy convenient place to stay in a good location. Would definitely stay here again myself. I may even be back in a few months. Usually am a solo traveller. Did this trip with friends so was incredibly cheap. Also very affordable to stay here on my own.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mambo202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff I, General Manager at Red Carpet Inn, responded to this review, March 24, 2014
Thank-you for your kind review. Our goal is to provide quality accommodation for less! Look forward to having you back.

Jeff Irwin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the RCI for 3 weeks while in Banff. The hotel is clean, in a perfect location, has great amenities and the staff could not have been more helpful and friendly. Angela, Breeda and Jason went above and beyond to make us feel welcome. We will be definitely staying here again.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jeremy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff I, General Manager at Red Carpet Inn, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
I am so glad that you had a terrific long term stay! I will pass on the encouraging feedback to my staff. Look forward to seeing you guys again.

Jeff Irwin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Banff hotels
0.0 mi away
Irwin's Mountain Inn
Irwin's Mountain Inn
#19 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 stars 489 reviews
0.0 mi away
High Country Inn
High Country Inn
#17 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 stars 318 reviews
0.5 mi away
Inns Of Banff
Inns Of Banff
#30 of 32 in Banff
3.0 of 5 stars 970 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Bow View Lodge
Bow View Lodge
#16 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 stars 509 reviews
0.4 mi away
Rundlestone Lodge
Rundlestone Lodge
#6 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 stars 968 reviews
0.4 mi away
Brewster's Mountain Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Carpet Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Carpet Inn

Property: Red Carpet Inn
Address: 425 Banff Ave., Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1B6, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 32 Hotels in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Red Carpet Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Locally owned and operated by the Irwin family, the Red Carpet Inn has a proud tradition of hosting guests from around the world! Just 2 ½ blocks from Banff’s famous downtown shopping area, the Red Carpet Inn offers excellent hotel accommodations for your Canadian Rockies holiday. With 52 well equipped guest rooms our friendly staff will help make your experience in Banff, Alberta a most memorable. The Red Carpet Inn is family friendly and offers Banff’s best value accommodation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Red Carpet Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Carpet Hotel Banff
Red Carpet Inn Banff
Banff Red Carpet Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing