We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good quality motel is excellent value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Red Carpet Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Red Carpet Inn
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   425 Banff Ave., Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L1B6, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
5% off Lowest Online Rate
Ranked #28 of 32 Hotels in Banff
Miramichi, Canada
Level Contributor
48 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Good quality motel is excellent value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014 via mobile

This older property offers very good value if one doesn't worry about having everything new and shiny.
- good sized, clean rooms offering more than the "basic" amenities
- good breakfast offered in a pleasant dining area off front lobby
-very polite and helpful desk staff
-great location, slightly away from the downtown section, so a short walk to shops and most restaurants.
- my biggest negative would be the shabby appearance of the back entrance and elevator area; this could definitely stand a facelift
- this was our third stay and we will return on our next stop in Banff

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Margaret M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

500 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    98
    182
    142
    53
    25
See reviews for
102
230
26
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kalispell, Montana
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2014

My husband and I stayed at the Red Carpet Inn for 4 nights to enjoy the cross-country skiing in the Banff and Lake Louise areas in late February, 2014 (and at a great rate--about $60/night). We've stayed at the Red Carpet many times over the years and keep coming back. We had a quiet, clean, cozy room with a comfortable bed and pillows; very important for us 60ish folks! The hot tub was perfect, and on our floor. Their continental breakfast kept us going all day. We appreciated the great location to be able to walk to the restaurants and stores, while our car stayed warm in the underground parking garage in the sub-zero temperatures. We highly recommend the Red Carpet!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Buddy21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff I, General Manager at Red Carpet Inn, responded to this review, May 15, 2014
Folks,

Thank-you so much, for your continued patronage over the years. Look forward to having you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Red Deer, Canada
Level Contributor
37 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

While in Banff we stayed at the Red Carpet Inn and Jamie was working the front counter when we checked in and checked out. After we had arrived home we received a phone call from Jamie saying that housekeeping had found an apple cord in our room after we had left. Even though it was not our cord I was very impressed that Jamie phoned us thinking it was ours.

Room Tip: The rooms are looking a bit old but since we are only in the room to sleep it really doesn't mat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa OK
Level Contributor
72 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2014

Stayed at the RCI for 3 nights in mid Feb 2014. Yes, the place is not a 5 star hotel. The lobby, the floors and even elevator are not in perfect condition and show wear and tear. BUT, for what we paid, we were very happy with our stay. The room was plenty big, had a small out door balcony, had great heat, great water pressure, and we never ran out of hot water. And we took some long showers after a great day skiing. The wifi worked perfectly and was included. Check in was simple, and the place is 2 blocks from the main shopping street in Banff. In fact, there is a Safeway supermarket only 2 blocks away as well. We found the bed and pillows very comfortable. Even the breakfast, while somewhat boring and predictable, was sufficient. There was a selection of 4 juices, coffee, white/wheat bread for toast, bagels, 5 or 6 different cereals, and plenty of different jams/jellies. This Inn does not pretend to be luxurious and its rates are very reasonable. We paid $66/night (US) tax included for a room with two queen sized beds during the heart of ski season. If you expect luxury/upscale at this price, you really are not in touch with the world. Yes, the halls might not be brand new and smell a bit, the room layout a bit clunky, but overall, if you want a very affordable, clean and decent hotel to stay at in Banff, close to the action, this place fits the bill. A few other points, there is hourly train sounds at night, but this is not the hotel's problem, as the trains can be heard in much of the city. Also, bus rides to/from Lake Louise, Sunshine ski resorts leave from the hotel immediately next door, about 50 steps away!!! Can't get much easier.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gsx1990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Apex, NC
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014

Hotel is located in a prime area in Banff. Walking distance to many dining and shopping establishments. Rooms were clean and big enough for a family of four and all of our ski gear. Furnishings in good repair. Room had a coffee maker, refrigerator and hair dryer. Beds were very comfortable. We found the staff very courteous and willing to recommend local dining experiences.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

We stayed at the Red Carpet over the Family Day weekend; great value and location with very helpful and friendly staff! It is a short walk from plenty of great restaurants. We will definitely stay again.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Lianne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Quebec
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

The price for this location and amount of comfort was excellent. Nice giant bed and soft pillows, access to Banff downtown within 5 min walking distance, hot tub. Would recommend this to anyone visiting Banff :)

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Andrea M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Banff hotels
0.0 mi away
Irwin's Mountain Inn
Irwin's Mountain Inn
#18 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 stars 489 reviews
0.0 mi away
High Country Inn
High Country Inn
#17 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 stars 316 reviews
0.5 mi away
Inns Of Banff
Inns Of Banff
#30 of 32 in Banff
3.0 of 5 stars 968 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Bow View Lodge
Bow View Lodge
#16 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 stars 506 reviews
0.4 mi away
Rundlestone Lodge
Rundlestone Lodge
#6 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 stars 962 reviews
0.4 mi away
Brewster's Mountain Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Carpet Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Carpet Inn

Property: Red Carpet Inn
Address: 425 Banff Ave., Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L1B6, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 32 Hotels in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Red Carpet Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Locally owned and operated by the Irwin family, the Red Carpet Inn has a proud tradition of hosting guests from around the world! Just 2 ½ blocks from Banff’s famous downtown shopping area, the Red Carpet Inn offers excellent hotel accommodations for your Canadian Rockies holiday. With 52 well equipped guest rooms our friendly staff will help make your experience in Banff, Alberta a most memorable. The Red Carpet Inn is family friendly and offers Banff’s best value accommodation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Red Carpet Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Carpet Hotel Banff
Red Carpet Inn Banff
Banff Red Carpet Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing