We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Average extremely poor parking” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Red Carpet Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Red Carpet Inn
Ranked #28 of 32 Hotels in Banff
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Average extremely poor parking”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

Unless you drive a very small car and have no intention of moving your vehicle during your stay, do not chose this hotel. Parking lot is very small and ackward. Underground parking is worse and the desk staff honestly does not care. Nor do they care of damage sustained to your vehicle in their parking facilities. We will not be staying here again and will NOT recommend to anyone ever

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jo G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

536 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    98
    194
    156
    59
    29
See reviews for
117
246
27
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lincolnshire, UK
Level Contributor
66 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here recently for 1 night. The rooms are a little dated but the beds are nice and comfortable! We booked a king room but were given a double and didn't realise until later that evening so ended up swapping rooms at 10pm as were told we wouldn't get refunded the difference.
Just a word of warning - the first room had a balcony, but also another window further up from the balcony which a man unexpectedly appeared outside! Obviously the balcony for the room next door was right outside our windows and they could see right into our room! Luckily we weren't getting changed or anything but it could have been very embarrassing and also felt a bit awkward going to shut the curtain so they couldn't see in.

Breakfast was just ok. The location is great and parking wasn't a problem, however given the choice of accommodation in Banff, we would probably choose somewhere else next time. Having said that, it's fine for a night or two :-)

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Carolyn82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederick, Maryland
Level Contributor
43 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

I had an occasion, recently, to stay at this hotel for two nights. It was a great choice as it is centrally located in Banff and is within walking distance to many restaurants and activities. There was also a city bus route along this street that made the entire town, as well as attractions, easily accessible. The hotel has ample parking in the back alley or in an underground parking garage. Check in went smoothly as I had a reservation and the clerk was friendly and was able to answer any questions I had. The room was spacious, very clean and visually inviting. The bathroom had a nice shelf next to the sink area which was handy for all the toiletries.There was a front balcony porch that faced the busy street. The mattresses were very firm and comfortable and even though the street outside was busy, it was quiet in the room. We enjoyed a nice continental breakfast in the morning with the usual choices. Wish we had time to spend a few more days here.

Room Tip: Booking very early may get you a nice discount!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank maptrotter62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Mohave, Arizona
Level Contributor
210 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

Friend and I spent 3 nights here in early August. It's a very clean, nice and very friendly staff! We had a room on the top floor looking out over the back parking lot and majestic views of Mt. Norquay, Stoney Squaw and Cascade Mtn.Was nice and quiet and would recommend a back room due to the traffic out front. Also had a nice back patio with two chairs and an A.C. unit in the wall for those warm summer days. Had a nice continental breakfast which offered a vast variety of things to eat. What made me mad was the greedy patrons (especially the bus folks!!) who would take 3-4 bananas and or oranges etc per person and not consider the rest of the people that may have come down later for breakfast. How cheap can you be and take more than you should and have no thoughts that ,hey, other folks might want a banana or an orange, so when they come down they are all gone and not replaced either!! I asked the girl about this and she said, "there is nothing we can do about it" If I was running the place I would do something about it!!! Put a sign up at least stating, "1 item per person on fruit". Problem solved!! And watch them like hawks too!!

Room Tip: Upstairs back room, nice and quiet!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bobby31225
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

I spent just a night at this little motel. It is on the main street, Banff Ave, and is walking distance from the shopping area, railway station etc. Friendly staff, good clean rooms, free in-room wi fi with good reception. Breakfast included is continental, self serve. No restaurant as such but close to a whole bunch, even next door is El Toro, so no problem. I would stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Craigger_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnersh
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

Very good, very clean staf friendly except for the elderly lady who refuses to smile under any circumstance. The decor is alittle dated but it is a nice place with ample parking. Tried to book for 2 nights but the website said that they were full. NOT TRUE! Ithappened to a group of Germnas who booked in before us.

Stayed August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Bob H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Banff hotels
0.0 mi away
Irwin's Mountain Inn
Irwin's Mountain Inn
#21 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 stars 509 reviews
0.0 mi away
High Country Inn
High Country Inn
#16 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 stars 351 reviews
0.5 mi away
Inns Of Banff
Inns Of Banff
#30 of 32 in Banff
3.0 of 5 stars 1,020 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Banff Ptarmigan Inn
Banff Ptarmigan Inn
#27 of 32 in Banff
3.5 of 5 stars 1,042 reviews
0.4 mi away
Rundlestone Lodge
Rundlestone Lodge
#8 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 stars 1,009 reviews
0.5 mi away
Bow View Lodge
Bow View Lodge
#18 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 stars 558 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Carpet Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Carpet Inn

Property: Red Carpet Inn
Address: 425 Banff Ave., Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1B6, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 32 Hotels in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Red Carpet Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Locally owned and operated by the Irwin family, the Red Carpet Inn has a proud tradition of hosting guests from around the world! Just 2 ½ blocks from Banff’s famous downtown shopping area, the Red Carpet Inn offers excellent hotel accommodations for your Canadian Rockies holiday. With 52 well equipped guest rooms our friendly staff will help make your experience in Banff, Alberta a most memorable. The Red Carpet Inn is family friendly and offers Banff’s best value accommodation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TravelClick, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Red Carpet Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Carpet Hotel Banff
Red Carpet Inn Banff
Banff Red Carpet Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing