We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed”
Review of Banff Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Banff Inn
Ranked #19 of 33 Hotels in Banff
Calgary, Canada
1 review
“Disappointed”
Reviewed January 9, 2014

My issue with the hotel was the late check in of 4pm and when it was time to check out at 11am, we were packing our stuff as there was a knock on the door at 11:05am asking if we were checking out. Then at 11:10am, there was a call from the front desk asking AGAIN if we're checking out. It felt like we were being harassed to leave immediately! Yes we were late for 10 minutes from the check out time but because we have a baby with us, it took us longer to pack our stuff. But there was no consideration for that. And with the late check in, they should be a little more lenient with their check out time, plus they know we have a baby.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2008Traveller912
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

805 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    185
    371
    172
    40
    37
See reviews for
237
321
32
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
1 review
Reviewed January 6, 2014

This was a last minute booking and the check in was seamless. Front desk staff were very friendly and helpful. While I chose to park on the street, it was great to know that underground, secure parking was available.
The room had everything I was looking for, including a small fridge to chill the wine. The beds were amazingly comfortable, which made for a very restful sleep.
In the morning, I took advantage of the continental breakfast in the restaurant, which was plentiful with cereal, toast, bagels, boiled eggs, fruit and drinks. I was impressed and it certainly filled the spot.
The hotel is within walking distance of downtown (about a 5 - 10 minute walk), so extremely convenient.
I would highly recommend it!

Room Tip: I would request a room facing Cougar Street rather than Banff Ave.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 68kelleyi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jasper, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 9, 2013

I actually stay here every time I'm in Banff.. The rooms are very nice and always extremely clean. For being in a massive tourist destination, the prices are awesome and fair.. The location is perfect, a 5 minute walk to the down town. Highly recommend this place!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Greenhell13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mexico
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 5, 2013 via mobile

Had a great stay in banff for the family ski trip. The Banff Inn was very accommodating for our family and the food in the restaurant was great. Definitely will stay here again. Also met the owner of the hotel who gave us some great recommendations for downtown dining. Absolutely loved banff

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank danmorgan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 28, 2013

The staff were rude and refused to help. Upon checking in the price they quoted me over the phone is not what they charged me prior to getting there . They charged me another $100 a night on top of this. Then months down the road I recieved my credit card statement and they had charged more to the card. When phoning the general manager they avoided me and never did get back to me so I talked to the day manager and she was very rude. She screamed at me and accused me of horrible crewd things with no knowledge of what she was speaking. This hotel is not what everybody thinks it is and i hope you dont book there as you will be very disappointed.

Room Tip: pick another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aaron l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CATEYES7, Manager at Banff Inn, responded to this review, December 4, 2013
Thank you for your response and concerns about our hotel, however based on your comments we do not charge our guests until they check out and based on your review you mentioned that we did prior to your arrival, perhaps you are mistaken with another Banff hotel that you stayed in, we always honor the rate given when time of booking, so if we overcharged you upon your arrival you would have noticed when you saw your credit card charge prior to arriving at the hotel as per your statement.

Sincerely,
Banff Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jasper, Canada
1 review
Reviewed November 28, 2013

headed out to banff last week to do some skiing. we had a great time at the banff inn. rooms were very nice, location is walking distance from the middle of banff maybe 5-10 mins at most. make sure to check out the hottub facility. also the continental breakfast in the morning was quite good.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank melnyk9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jasper, Canada
1 review
Reviewed November 27, 2013

I love this hotel. I stay there every time I travel to Banff. Not too far from Dowtown but far enough to keep the "Bar Crowds" away. Nice quite sleep, clean & comfortable rooms. Great whirlpool and a nice simple breakfast. Heated, Underground parking is perfect in the winter time!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JasperPizza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Banff hotels
0.4 mi away
Moose Hotel and Suites
0.0 mi away
Fox Hotel & Suites
Fox Hotel & Suites
#12 of 33 in Banff
2,159 reviews
0.3 mi away
Banff Aspen Lodge
Banff Aspen Lodge
#7 of 33 in Banff
1,430 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Elk + Avenue Hotel
Elk + Avenue Hotel
#11 of 33 in Banff
1,246 reviews
0.2 mi away
Rundlestone Lodge
Rundlestone Lodge
#6 of 33 in Banff
1,124 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hidden Ridge Resort
Hidden Ridge Resort
#15 of 33 in Banff
2,047 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Banff Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banff Inn

Property: Banff Inn
Address: 501 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1A9, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Banff
#7 Spa Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Banff Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 107
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Agoda, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Banff Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banff Hotel Banff

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing