We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“average but comfortable hotel in Banff”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Banff Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Banff Inn
Ranked #19 of 32 Hotels in Banff
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
39 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“average but comfortable hotel in Banff”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2013

The hotel was comfortable and fine overall. The decor was dated and they could use some new linens and lighting fixtures. We were in a loft room, which the kids thought was cool, but there was almost no room to walk around the edge of the bed to get to the stairs to get to the loft. The spa was surprisingly new and beautiful. It was well appointed and we enjoyed it during our stay. The pizza restaurant was also a pleasant surprise...the prices were fair and the poutine was excellent. The breakfast buffet was average. Overall, this hotel was fine. It was an easy 5 minute walk to all the shops and restaurants on Banff avenue. Besides, who hangs out in their hotel room in Banff anyway. The option of the 3 bed room was nice, especially for a family or for friends there to party.

Room Tip: The loft with 3 queen beds was a nice option
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CraftyValentineGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

749 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    171
    341
    163
    39
    35
See reviews for
215
298
31
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Notts
Level Contributor
112 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2013

Stayed 4 nights as part of a 3 week Rockies and Alaska holiday. About 10 to 15 minutes walk from downtown but regular buses stop close by if you need transport - fare $1 irrespective of length of journey. Hotel, clean, services Ok, room good size with twin double beds and quite comfortable. The pizzeria lounge serves breakfast but this was lacking in variety and quite disappointing. Cannot comment on value for money as hotel cost, including the breakfast was built into our total holiday price. Overall quite a nice hotel, quiet if you want to get away from a busy area. Local wild life sometimes seen near the hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank historian90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2013

Been to Banff 10 times. Stayed in this hotel on our last stay. Had a few minor problems and wrote about them in a review on this site. Dan the manager of the hotel emailed me and asked me to remove the poor review and in return he would give my wife and myself a 2 day stay in a king room in the future. Booked our trip to banff in september and emailed Dan for my comp. He told me it was a busy time then and he was booked up for the 2 days in question. On 3 different occations i have called the front desk to inquire about rooms and have been told thet there are plenty of rooms for my request, including 6 king rooms. So Dan this review is not coming down and thank you for your help. I will never be back.

Room Tip: Our room was in back and we had a bus idle outside our window every morning for 15 minutes.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank agent1313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2013

We stayed at this hotel in May 2013 for a weekend. The location of the hotel is quite good...quick walk to downtown. Therefore close to many restaurants. There is a pizzeria/lounge on the main floor which is quite good. There is free underground parking included.

We stayed in an outside room on the top floor, which is a good location. However it appears the hotel has some renovated rooms and some older rooms. We were staying with our family and had 4 rooms. The 3 rooms that our family stayed in were renovated and were quite nice. Tile and hardwood flooring, granite countertops or new carpeting and tile were included in the newer rooms. However our room was much older and therefore not near as nice. If staying in this hotel again I would ask for a renovated room! Our bathroom looked straight out of 1985 and the carpet was dirty and stained. If I had not seen the other rooms I would likely never book at this hotel again. It almost seems unfair to charge people the same price and some guests get a newer room and others the older rooms. The sheets in the hotel were nice and the pillows were good. The beds are quite firm...I prefer softer, but those aren't common in most hotels.

We did have difficulty sleeping as the guest in the room beside us was quite loud. We phoned the front desk, however their response was that they would do a walk by. We don't believe they did anything about it as we never heard the phone ring or their door open and thus, we just had to wait for the person to go to bed. Then we got the pleasure of hearing them snore. Note that we had an adjoining room ( not sure why we weren't given an adjoining room with our family, but instead were given an adjoining room with a stranger ) and therefore the noise was much more prevalent. Not the hotels fault they are loud, however our room was not very sound proof. Note that our family did not have this issue in their rooms ( not adjoining rooms ).

The sauna, steam room and hot tub are quite nice...not as nice as some other hotels in Banff, but still quite good.

Overall if we got a good deal on this hotel we would return.

Room Tip: Request a non adjoining room .... Unless you need one. The outside rooms have a better view and the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Wicket2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

Overall, it was a good place to stay. It was clean, there was good service, the rooms are reasonably nice. It's perfect if you're looking to spend the day out and about in Banff/the mountains. There's nothing that stands out as exceptional about it, but you don't need that if you're looking to spend the day out around the town.

We also stayed using a LivingSocial deal... that discount amounted to 50% off and was WELL worth the money. We were very happy with our experience.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SD3131
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shropshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
137 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2013

the Banff Inn was lovely about a 10 minute walk into Banff itself. the views were lovely.
the room had air con, tea and coffee making facilities. there was a spa there whih was a beautiful addition with a Jacuzzi, sauna and steam room. The bed was very comfortable.
The hotel only does a cold unfelt breakfast so we opted to go to The Keg which was next door and have breakfast thee - not to be missed.
We were in room 106 which was just off reception so we could hear noise at times.
Wifi was free.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sandra A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2013 via mobile

Grabbed a loft room for three and it was great. Ended up staying an extra night and they were more than accommodating. Breakfast was included and it was great value. Good spot just on end of main street but within walking distance of the busiest areas. Thanks Banff.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank happytotry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Banff hotels
0.2 mi away
Rundlestone Lodge
Rundlestone Lodge
#8 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,085 reviews
0.0 mi away
Fox Hotel & Suites
Fox Hotel & Suites
#13 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,069 reviews
0.4 mi away
Moose Hotel and Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
The Juniper Hotel
The Juniper Hotel
#4 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 865 reviews
0.6 mi away
Brewster's Mountain Lodge
0.1 mi away
Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Banff Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banff Inn

Property: Banff Inn
Address: 501 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1A9, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Banff
#7 Spa Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Banff Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 107
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Despegar.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Banff Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banff Hotel Banff

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing