We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Great Weekend Away!”
Review of Banff Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Banff Inn
Ranked #17 of 34 Hotels in Banff
Reviewed March 25, 2013

Being both my boyfriend and my birthday, we decided to spend it in Banff with a couple close friends. From the moment we checked in, to the time we left, we were treated so well. The staff were very polite and friendly, the parking and breakfast were included, and the king sized rooms were great! Everything was so clean and up to date. We each had a fireplace in our rooms, and they were both together in our own little nook at the end of the hallway. It was very private and quiet. I would definitely recommend the Banff Inn if your looking to get the most for your money.
We will be coming back!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Haylstorm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (851)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

629 - 635 of 851 reviews

Reviewed March 13, 2013

Stayed 2 nights late February and found this hotel to offer good clean rooms, breakfast and parking were included. This hotel is on main road and we had a room right over the entry, however noise was not an issue. The breakfast was basic but all we needed and complimentary parking great, we had no problems parking our mid size SUV as described by some others. Internet was also included and while slow, worked for us.
Bed was comfy, shower bath fine and room was quite roomy.
Overall I would highly recommend this hotel for a great value stay close to snow fields with a shuttle pick up right at your door.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank carolg2510
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2013

We booked the loft sweet. Price was reasonable. We weren't expecting much.
Indoor parking is not recommended if you have a SUV. There are lots of spots but due to design issues most of the spots are designed for cars due to height restrictions. Whats worse are the inconsiderate and/or bad parkers who take up 2 spots when with a bit of time and attention they could fit into the single space they need. The staff were very helpful here and walked throught the garage and called some guests. We never had a problem after that.

Next up was our room. We had one issue with the front door in the loft. It looked like someone had kicked the door in and then a bad patch job done to get the door closed and locked. It was basically a big peephole into the sleeping area of the loft. Once I mentioned it to the staff they had no problem moving us to another loft.

2 of the 3 queen beds were amazingly comfortable. The third was a bit firmer than I thought comfortable. We all slept well so we can't complain.

Continental breakfast was filling and levels of everything provided were kept full.

WiFi was a bit troublesome but then I am an IT geek so 'slumming' it on wireless G was simultaneously nostalgic and annoyingly slow. A lot of people will sigh at my nitpicking here and they are probably correct.

First time at this property. I can see myself visiting again based on price point and the customer service.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Skip T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2013 via mobile

5 of us stayed in a loft unit for 3 days just after Christmas. The room was ok but quite cramped for 5 and very little space to move around or put our belongings. The continental breakfast was the usual fare of baked goods and cereal but did feature really good coffee. I have stayed in many Banff hotels and while this one isn't terrible I probably wouldn't stay again.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jewelsmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2013

Warm, friendly, convinent, large rooms, free undercover parking....need I say more? Oh yes, the very reasonable price and the tasty I house pizzeria.
No ski in ski out in Banff....Mt Norquay - 15 mins, lake Louise - 50 mins, best of all Sunshine- 25 mins
There is a ski bus but a car makes it all more convinent , beware of the national parks permit for using a car within the park area $139 !! Got one for sale if anyone wants one!!

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Alyson F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2013

From 17 until 23 th February 2013 we have stayed (4 persons/ 2 bedrooms) in this hotel in room 441 and 437. Ok, this is not the newest hotel in town, but the rooms were spacy enough for us, warm showers (after a long day of snowboarding) a good bed, and...the hot-tub outside the hotel, is really awesome. We have had breakfast (14 dollar) which was good, friendly staff and reception. This hotel is nearby banff downtown (walking distance) and the shuttle for Lake louis, Norquay or Sunshine village, stops at the front of the hotel. All we san say is thank you for having us!
Only one thing, there is a special way for finding your room in the hotel, which is divided over 3 buildings(?) .

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sparkling_Bob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2013

A group of us stayed at the Banff Inn and hit lack of service that superseded just about anything I have encountered before.

Being four guys from Australia having a good Internet connection is critical because Skype connections back home are the way to communicate. The night we arrived the Internet was so intermittent and slow making it unusable, forcing us to use real phones at great expense! Not planned.

The next morning we complained to the front desk, and received the reply " The Internet service is provided free of charge, and if it did not work, too bad, it's free!!". We then asked if during the day something would be done to fix it, and got the reply "There is nothing I can do, sorry, what we have is what you will get". Unbelievable but that's the management attitude - stick it!

On top of this when I returned to the room at 3.30pm it had not been serviced!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gordon K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CATEYES7, Manager at Banff Inn, responded to this reviewResponded February 26, 2013

Thank you for sharing your feedback and our apologies regarding the dificult time you had with our complimentary wi-fi,the staff cannot fix this short of problem they did however reset the main box and it takes a few hours to reset the whole system and the wifi did get better after this.
I understand it was inconvinient and the internet can be a base of communication,at anytime you could have used the coin operated kiosk in the lobby that would have been cheaper then using you phone device,again our apologies.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Banff hotels
1.2 mi away
The Juniper Hotel
The Juniper Hotel
#4 of 34 in Banff
1,005 reviews
0.4 mi away
Moose Hotel and Suites
0.4 mi away
Elk + Avenue Hotel
Elk + Avenue Hotel
#12 of 34 in Banff
1,458 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Fox Hotel & Suites
Fox Hotel & Suites
#11 of 34 in Banff
2,212 reviews
0.3 mi away
Banff Aspen Lodge
Banff Aspen Lodge
#8 of 34 in Banff
1,486 reviews
0.6 mi away
Brewster's Mountain Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Banff Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banff Inn

Address: 501 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1A9, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Banff
Price Range: $95 - $254 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Banff Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 107
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Travelocity, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your Banff Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banff Hotel Banff

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing