We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brewsters Mountain Lodge”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Brewster's Mountain Lodge
Ranked #10 of 33 Hotels in Banff
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Brewsters Mountain Lodge”
Reviewed April 20, 2009

The hotel is right in the centre of Banff. Perfect location for eating out, shopping, bars and ski bus.
Staff go above and beyond to make the stay very enjoyable. If you have any problems just ask and they will address them. Free ski lockers and safety deposit boxes are a good thing and the little touches like an open fire, good coffee, cookies (although get in early) and shampoo etc adds to the charm. The breakfast was always well stocked at busy times and as it's a small area it encourages people to get to know each other. I liked this! I understand what people have said about it being downstairs but it's fine if thats what you are expecting. It does say "light breakfast included" and I thought the choice was excellent for this. You can eat as much as you want.

The hotel get 25% discount from ski stop right accross the street. The skis were good quality and boots were like slippers which is very unusual!. An excellent hotel, good service and the best place I have been for all round good ski and apres ski :)

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank physical80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

977 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    293
    428
    172
    51
    33
See reviews for
201
489
41
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (190)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lancashire
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2009

Just returned from a great skiing trip in Banff, a great place with really friendly people and amazing scenery, unfortunately didnt see any wildlife though. Stayed at Brewsters for a week, it was a great location right in the centre of town. Was clean and comfortable with nice staff but didnt have the mountain charm we expected. The room was a good size and lovely furniture and bathroom but our view was off a courtyard in the centre of the hotel with no balcony, we stayed in a deluxe king room so were expecting a bit more. The lobby was clean but small and the fire was never lit. Breakfast was okay but only consisted of cereal, toast and fruit salad could do with more choice. The sauna and big jacuzi were clean and nice but wouldnt say there was a fitness centre it was just a couple of bikes and they didnt seem to work. Although it had its downsides the hotel overall was good for the money paid though some of the others in the area did look nicer.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stuntguys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Albans
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2009

We stayed at Brewster's Mountain Lodge for 9 nights for a ski trip. We'd stayed at the Banff Park Lodge and Banff Springs before, and although we wanted to be in the center, we hoped that Brewster's would be upscale from the BPL.

There is no better location if you want to be in the middle of town, just off Banff Avenue in the middle. The hotel is probably because of location and it's a bit slack as a consequence. There were three downsides to it:

1. The breakfast arrangement is dreadful. Located in a windowless basement, with nothing but a bunfight over toast, cereal and a few pastries, it made for a depressing first morning of the holiday. Nowhere to sit as every chair was taken with all skiers getting up and about at the same time. We didn't eat breakfast there again, and often went to Melissa's round the corner.

2. The hotel has all the ingredients to be great, but they don't bother. They don't even light the log fire in reception for 90% of the time - in a ski resort!

3. Although the rooms were clean (we had a loft suite and were disappointed at how basic it was), if you didn't ask for fresh towels they didn't even fold and stow your used ones. They just left them where they were.

Not sure that we'd stay again - wish there was a really good, really central hotel in Banff.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jenks58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SalesBML, Management at Brewster's Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, March 19, 2009
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of our hotel. We are pleased that you enjoyed the central location our hotel offers.

We are disappointed that you didn’t enjoy our breakfast facilities. This is a relatively new concept for us and we are constantly looking at ways to improve this and other aspects of the hotel. We will certainly be taking your comments into consideration.

Your comments in regards to the log fire have reminded us of the atmosphere the log fire brings to our hotel, and we will be sure to keep this in mind for the stay of our future guests.

With regard to your comments about housekeeping, we have received many awards in this department and pride ourselves on the service we provide. Be assured that we have taken the appropriate steps to rectify the concern that you had.

We sincerely hope that you choose to stay with us again, and we appreciate the feedback you have given us.

Regards,
Management Brewster's Mountain Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 10, 2009

Hotel was basic, but in a great location. Breakfast was simple, bagels, cereals, coffee and juice, but there are some fantastic breakfast restaurants close by. Rooms were clean and adequate. No hotel restaurant and limited space in foyer to sit and relax. Fresh cookies everyday go quickly, so get in first to guarantee one! Would stay again on location alone and would recommend if you want a clean, friendly, basic hotel.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paula100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
calgary
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2009

We stayed in a suite for a romantic weekend. We were expecting a large suite but basically it was a regular size room. The hotel is in a great location and walking distance to fine dining. overall a nice hotel but too expensive for what you get.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank luvtotravelmd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2009

My family and I stayed for 5 nights at Brewsters recently and it was fine. The room was a decent size, although there wasn't much storage space for 4 people. The hotel is in an excellent location, surrounded by lots of restaurants, bars and shops. It was very quiet and close to the bus stops taking you to the various ski resorts. The staff were very helpful. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MaggieBourke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2008

Spent 2 nights at Brewsters recently and my wife and I really enjoyed the stay. We were more than happy with the room and the fact it had a 2 person jetted tub and the room was very clean with more than enough space. The hotel itself is right in the heart of downtown and is a great location for getting out to bars, restaurants and shopping. Though it had been about 15 + years since my last vist to Banff the town has stayed almost the same and still very beautiful. We are looking forward to our next visit and will probably go closer to December when the snow is there. The staff were very friendly and we would stay again when we go back.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — low flow from the shower
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank redwoodsbay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Banff hotels
0.3 mi away
Moose Hotel and Suites
0.6 mi away
Fox Hotel & Suites
Fox Hotel & Suites
#12 of 33 in Banff
2,161 reviews
0.3 mi away
Banff Aspen Lodge
Banff Aspen Lodge
#8 of 33 in Banff
1,434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Elk + Avenue Hotel
Elk + Avenue Hotel
#11 of 33 in Banff
1,252 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hidden Ridge Resort
Hidden Ridge Resort
#14 of 33 in Banff
2,050 reviews
0.8 mi away
Rundlestone Lodge
Rundlestone Lodge
#6 of 33 in Banff
1,128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brewster's Mountain Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brewster's Mountain Lodge

Property: Brewster's Mountain Lodge
Address: 208 Caribou Street, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1J3, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#14 Romantic Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Brewster's Mountain Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Brewster’s Mountain lodge is located in the heart of Downtown Banff, steps from shopping, dining, and nightlife. This 77-room hotel features complimentary continental breakfast and wireless internet included in all of our rates. We offer a sauna, hot tub, and small exercise area for our guests to enjoy after an exciting day of exploring! Handcrafted log furnishings and western décor define the interior of our lodge, as well as a wood-burning fireplace in the lobby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, HostelWorld, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Brewster's Mountain Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brewster`s Mountain Hotel Banff
Brewsters Mountain Hotel
Brewsters Mountain Banff
Brewsters Mountain Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing