We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Best location in Banff” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Brewster's Mountain Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Brewster's Mountain Lodge
Ranked #12 of 32 Hotels in Banff
Certificate of Excellence
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
200 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
“Best location in Banff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2013

This is a pleasant hotel I have stayed at previously. Rooms are adequate and clean, although can be a bit small depending upon which room you get. The hotel is also not as modern as some. Still, I stay there as it is the best location I have found, right in the middle of town and yet not noisy (despite there being a night-club across the road). It really is in the centre of things, and particularly when the weather is colder that is a big advantage since you don't have to walk a long way to get anywhere. It also has its own underground car park and the staff are very pleasant.

Room Tip: We specifically asked for a very quiet room, and they have some which are well away from the streets
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

865 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    263
    370
    154
    49
    29
See reviews for
164
436
37
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (173)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
48 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2013

We stayed for several days and definitely recommend this hotel to anyone wanting to be centrally located in Banff township. Our room was located facing an interior courtyard and was very quiet (we unplugged the not-that-loud mini-fridge for extra peace and quiet). Its a very short walk to lots of restaurants and shopping (and even a bit of hiking and sightseeing). Our room was relatively modern and clean with a spacious bathroom. We didn't spend much time in the room outside of sleeping, though.

The hotel breakfast is available early (at 6:30am) which was a big plus. Its a pretty basic spread (coffee, several cereal choices, pastry, bagels, and fresh fruit), but worked well for us. (We picked up oatmeal packets at the grocery store to add some variety to the breakfast after a couple days.)

Room Tip: 3rd floor is the top floor; interior-courtyard facing worked well for us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Patrick T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wiltshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
201 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2013

We stayed here for three nights recently and loved it. It's a tad out of date and old fashioned but the rooms are large. It's very central and you can walk everywhere. The staff were brilliant and one even planned me a special trip, complete with map when I asked where we could go visit that wasn't too touristy. If you like a quiet night, ask for an inside room with a balcony: it's no extra cost and lovely for sitting out in the sunshine. Other guests said the road side rooms were very noisy.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BJDLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Drayton Valley, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2013

Stayed her for you wedding in 2009. Came back for our 4th wedding anniversary. We just reserved a plain Jane room this time and it was still cozy and nice. Only downside was I didn't realize standard rooms don't come with a fridge :( still a great stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ashley C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
205 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2013

We have stayed in several Banff hotels and this was as good as most of them. It is within walking distance of everything in town and we thought that was a plus. The room was clean and comfortable. The staff were friendly and helpful. The complementary breakfast offers less choices than what I am used to, but at least they had one.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank D T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire Dales National Park, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2013

This hotel is in an excellent location just off Banff avenue. Check in staff were friendly and informative.

We had a standard room which was adequate but nothing special. It was clean and had tea and coffee making facilities. It was however quite noisy, the walls are very thin and noise from other rooms and the corridor outside disturbed us late into the night. Also, we seemed to be near some sort of central plumbing area as there was a regular sound of running water which continued all night.

Continental breakfast is provided which is very basic, in a canteen environment they call the Birds Nest. Everything is self service and plates have to be cleared into a big plastic box before you leave. I didnt like all the signs around giving instructions on what should and should not be done.

Yes, this is a good location, but I would stay somewhere else next time having seen some of the other accommodation available in Banff.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank June B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013

This is a beautiful hotel. Reserve the third floor lodge suites. Balcony and loft arrangement are lovely. Hotel is remarkably quiet for downtown location. Hotel is, however, understaffed. Twice in a week our room was not made up before3:30 pm. Thus a post-hike nap on one day caused us to lose the opportunity to have a clean room. Do not expect to eat the continental breakfast. There is only a very limited selection of cold cereal, some fruit, and poor pastry. Expect to go across the street to theWild Flour bakery for granola or muesli.

Room Tip: Definitely the lodge suites on the third floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MJ_Guttieri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Banff hotels
0.3 mi away
Moose Hotel and Suites
1.0 mi away
The Juniper Hotel
The Juniper Hotel
#4 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 791 reviews
0.3 mi away
Banff Aspen Lodge
Banff Aspen Lodge
#5 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Fox Hotel & Suites
Fox Hotel & Suites
#13 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,001 reviews
0.8 mi away
Rundlestone Lodge
Rundlestone Lodge
#9 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,042 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hidden Ridge Resort
Hidden Ridge Resort
#10 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,893 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brewster's Mountain Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brewster's Mountain Lodge

Property: Brewster's Mountain Lodge
Address: 208 Caribou Street, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1J3, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#14 Romantic Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Brewster's Mountain Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Brewster’s Mountain lodge is located in the heart of Downtown Banff, steps from shopping, dining, and nightlife. This 77-room hotel features complimentary continental breakfast and wireless internet included in all of our rates. We offer a sauna, hot tub, and small exercise area for our guests to enjoy after an exciting day of exploring! Handcrafted log furnishings and western décor define the interior of our lodge, as well as a wood-burning fireplace in the lobby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and HostelWorld so you can book your Brewster's Mountain Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brewster`s Mountain Hotel Banff
Brewsters Mountain Hotel
Brewsters Mountain Banff
Brewsters Mountain Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing