We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Brewster's Mountain Lodge
Ranked #12 of 34 Hotels in Banff
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 10, 2012

I was at the hotel in the beginning of October so Banff was not that busy. The hotel is located right downtown and is within walking distance to everything. If you are looking for something in the middle of the action, this is the right place. The room was comfortable. The beds were very nice, the bedding was substantial and the bathrooms were clean. It would have been nice to have a mini fridge but you can get anything you need within steps of the hotel. The staff were very nice and helpful. Parking is underground and tight if you have a bigger car but you can't beat the price at $5 per night. Breakfast was good. Only cold food served but enough to get you on your way. You can ask for a "to go" cup and they will give you one. If you like a large coffee, I would bring a travel mug of some sort. My only complaint would be the noise factor. You can hear everything that goes on in the hallways and in the street. There is no way to change this, it is the way the hotel is built. If you don't want to hear your upstairs neighbour using the facilities, I would suggest you ask for a room on the top floor. Other than the noise, this is a great choice of hotels. If you want a great steak dinner, head to Melissa's which is just around the corner.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the top floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank OnTheRoadAgain328
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SalesBML, Manager at Brewster's Mountain Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2012

Hello and thank you for taking the time to write a response. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you wrote such a thorough review. We are also glad to see that you will be returning to us in another month and we have your requests noted. We hope we are able to better exceed your expectations with your room allocation and look forward to welcoming you back to Brewster's Mountain Lodge. Please don't hesitate to contact us if you require anything further.
Kindest regards,
Staff & Management
Brewster's Mountain Lodge.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,030)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

677 - 683 of 1,030 reviews

Reviewed October 8, 2012 via mobile

Pleasantly surprised by free homemade cookies on arrival and the price of overnight parking- $5 per night. Room was fine, had a balcony which was nice but was right beside our floors ice machine which made a lot of noise. Complimentary continental breakfast was an added bonus. Free wifi in rooms. Best thing about hotel was location, right in middle of town and walking distance to pretty much everywhere!!!

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank fifinelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SalesBML, Manager at Brewster's Mountain Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2012

Dear fifinelly, thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and yes our cookies are quite yummy aren't they. We get a number of pleasantly surprised guests on check-in about them. We actually had one guest who was looking for them in the morning for his ski day. We thought he should wait to get his apres ski reward though for when he got back to the hotel. Our location is one of our most notable points being in the centre of town next to all of Banff's best restaurants, entertainment and attractions.
We hope that if you are in the area again we are able to welcome you back to our hotel.

Thank you again,
Staff & Management
Brewster's Mountain Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2012

First off I should tell you we LOVE Banff and usually go to Banff or Canmore 2-3 times a year. At certain times of the year it is quite expensive so we are always looking for the best price for accommodations. We found it odd that for a Wednesday stay in October (which I though would be off-Season) that the prices were quite high, however I found a reasonably priced room at Brewster's. We've stayed at Brewster's before and love the location. I booked online then I checked Tripadvisor, only to find some terrible reviews. I wrote to Brewster's with my concerns about the bad reviews written about them. My fears were quickly put to rest after Maureen (the Sales Manager) wrote a very detailed response. Our room was very quiet, extremely clean, the bed was very comfortable and we thought the complimentary breakfast had more than enough selections for everyone. A PLUS was the fruit salad was FRESH and not the canned variety. I would suggest checking the Brewster's Mountain Lodge website before booking through other sites as they have many internet specials to choose from if you book directly on their site. The "20 shades of Banff" has some great coupon offers but I'm not sure how long it is being offered. As for the reviews about the hotel being noisy.....I'm sure it's dependant on the time of the year you go, we know how busy Banff is during the high season.

Room Tip: No matter how many times we go to Banff.....we always include Lake Louise, Moraine Lake ( if the roa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank meanddan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SalesBML, Director of Sales at Brewster's Mountain Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2012

Thank you for taking the time from your busy day to write a review. We are so glad you enjoyed your return stay with us and thank you for taking the time initially to ask us questions based on the reviews you saw so that we could address them directly. Unfortunately I hadn't had a chance to get back to some of the reviews with our response and thought it very kind that you would bring that to our attention directly. We are glad you enjoyed our 20 Shades of Banff Package as it was quite a feat to put together and we feel it is the package that certainly carries the MOST value. We only wish you could have stayed a little longer to appreciate all the vouchers in the package. We hope to be able to welcome you again to Brewster's Mountain Lodge upon your next trip to Banff.

Kindest regards,
Staff & Management
Brewster's Mountain Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2012

Brewsters mountain lodge was awesome. My friend and i went to banff for a girls weekend septer 28-30 2012. The hotel is in a perfect location. right downtown close to everything! walking distance to everyyything! The beds werent bad, the rooms were small, but all we needed considering how much time is spent in the room. the continental breakfast was okay.. some toast and bagels.. a couple pastries. nothing special. but its free.. what more can you ask for! We didnt find it too noisy at night, lots of reviews mention the noise from the magpie and stupm across the street.. it wasnt that bad, just keep your window closed ! :D overall.. great hotel. we will definitely come back and stay at brewsters mountain lodge!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank karismms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SalesBML, Manager at Brewster's Mountain Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded October 26, 2012

Thank you for your kind review and taking the time to post your comments. We are delighted that you enjoyed your girls weekend away and look forward to welcoming you back to Brewster's Mountain Lodge upon your next visit to Banff.

Kindest regards,
Staff & Management
Brewster's Mountain Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2012

We were in Banff because I was running the 22k in the Melissa Road race and had already booked our hotel but changed our reservation from Mount Royal to this from a suggestion of a friend. We stayed at Mount Royal before and loved it. Brewster's actually have rooms inside with no windows which we were supposed to be in and quickly asked to change. After some time, they put us in a room with an alley view. The room was stuffy and no AC. We couldn't open the window because it was the alley of a neighboring restaurant and very noisy. We stayed 2 nights, after coming back later in the day after our first night and my running of the race, the bed looked like it was made by a 6 year old. Terrible. I have stayed in way cheaper hotels with better bed making. Speaking of beds, it felt like we were sleeping on a solid board. The most uncomfortable bed I have slept on in a long time.

For the measily $20 difference from Mount Royal this was not a bargain. Loging into the free wifi, you have to put in the code EACH AND EVERY TIME you want to use it. Very annoying. The free continental breakfast mostly consisted of bread, about 4 pasty choices, 3 cereal choices a couple bagel choices and a fruit bowl with yogurt. Not bad if that is what you eat for breakfast, but I like more substantial breakfast since it's my most important meal of the day. We did not eat the free breakfast the second morning and went to a close by restaurant instead.

Overall...we will never stay there again, it's over priced only because they can get away with it being in the centre of Banff. There are other better choices which are not much more and you get a much better stay and with the cheap bus service you can access anywhere just as easily.

Room Tip: Don't bother unless you are not picky.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wylde-p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SalesBML, Manager at Brewster's Mountain Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2012

Dear Wylde-p, we would firstly like to thank you for taking the time to write your review as we know that your time is valuable and we also like to hear from all our guests as we feel it is an important process to helping better ourselves.
I would like to address a few of your points noted:
I have spoken with our housekeeping department about your comments on how your room was made up to ensure that they speak directly to the housekeeping team who was on to ensure a better quality service. With regards to the WIFI we do have everyone log-in with a password to protect people against sharing and having security issues.
As you were here over a "sold out" weekend for town many hotels in town do experience increased noise levels and where we are located - in the centre of town this can be somewhat difficult to manage but when advised we do work directly with the RCMP to handle excess and try to work with the local vendors to minimize when possible. Also the hotel has a "0" noise policy which each guest signs on arrival to ensure quiet in the hotel itself. You are correct that we do not have air-conditioning as the nights generally are cooler and we do not advertise as such. Also, we offer a Complimentary Continental Breakfast which is a cold breakfast (toast, bagels, fruit, yogurt, cereals, pastries, coffee, tea & juice) and should not be confused with a Full Breakfast.
We are sorry that we did not meet your expectations and if you would like to discuss this further we would be happy to hear from you. You can either call me at 888-762-2900 or email me at info@brewstermountainlodge.com. Thank you again for taking your time to review.

Kindest regards,
Management
Brewster's Mountain Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2012

Start with the positives, great location, great staff, great atmosphere. The room was too warm, we understand, that this time of the year is cooler but it was 25 this week and the national parks don't allow air conditioners. The bed was harder than we are used too, made for an uncomfortable sleep. What will keep us away from now on is the noise. Eddie's Burger and Bar across the street has a permit to have live bands and to allow the doors to be open until 2:30 am (probably too hot in there too). Friday night was not as bad when they had canned music, but the live band made it impossible to sleep until they were done. The front desk was no help, we will take it into our own hands by complaining to the town that the noise ordinance was clearly violated, but the hotel should have offerred some assurance.

We will look at hotels that are further from the noise from now on, even though it will be further to walk.

Room Tip: Don't face Caribou Street, that is where the bars are.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Canadian_Zeek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SalesBML, Manager at Brewster's Mountain Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2012

Dear Canadian _Zeek, we first would like to thank you for taking the time to put forward a review as it allows us to address issues to work toward a better product. We do understand that at certain times and certain locations in the hotel there is noise due to our location from nearby. I was saddened to hear though that you were not offered any solutions or assistance from our Night Staff. I have brought this up with them to ensure they are aware of things they can do to assist the situation. We do work closely with the RCMP to ensure people are not lingering, we work with the bars (Hoodoos across the street) when we can, to ask them to close their doors and the bouncers to keep the people moving and we have a "0" noise tolerance policy here in the confines of our hotel. We do appreciate the offer to mention this to the Town as it does help to hear from people and give recognition to these issues.
Again, thank you for your time and I'm glad that you enjoyed the staff, location and ambiance. We are sad that you have chosen not to return but if you see it to change your mind please feel free to contact me directly at sales@brewstermountainlodge.com to assist.

Kindest regards,
Management
Brewster's Mountain Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2012

Based on price, location and TA reviews booked 3 nights at BML. We had a deluxe king room with a large clean bedroom, sitting area, flat screen TV, fridge and portable stand fan (note: I do not think there is A/C). The bathroom had the smallest shower I have ever seen in a hotel. I am 5’1” and had issues with it never mind my 6’1” husband. For some reason there is a huge jacuzzi and a miniscule shower. The toilet didn’t flush very well, but we mastered it by day three. Biggest complaint was the street noise. Our room was right on the corner of Bear and Caribou and each night brought new noises; trash trucks beeping at 6:30 am, doors slamming shut, and night club thumping music all of which was heard with ear plugs and the industrial roller blinds down. Breakfast in the “Eagles Nest” (in the basement) offered the usual choices and was perfectly fine. Secure parking for $5 per night. Benefits include location, location, location.

We did not complain about the noise, toilet or shower as we did not want the hassle of moving rooms, etc. Maybe our experience would have been better. Overall it was a good stay but not great.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NekoCat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SalesBML, Manager at Brewster's Mountain Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded October 26, 2012

I'm glad to hear the rest of your stay was an enjoyable one. We hope to welcome you back to Brewster's Mountain Lodge if you are ever in the area.

Regards,
Staff & Management
Brewster's Mountain Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Banff hotels
0.3 mi away
Moose Hotel and Suites
1 mi away
The Juniper Hotel
The Juniper Hotel
#4 of 34 in Banff
1,012 reviews
0.2 mi away
Elk + Avenue Hotel
Elk + Avenue Hotel
#11 of 34 in Banff
1,511 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Banff Aspen Lodge
Banff Aspen Lodge
#8 of 34 in Banff
1,500 reviews
0.6 mi away
Fox Hotel & Suites
Fox Hotel & Suites
#10 of 34 in Banff
2,230 reviews
0.8 mi away
Rundlestone Lodge
Rundlestone Lodge
#7 of 34 in Banff
1,180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brewster's Mountain Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brewster's Mountain Lodge

Address: 208 Caribou Street, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1J3, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#14 Romantic Hotel in Banff
Price Range: $92 - $331 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Brewster's Mountain Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Brewster’s Mountain lodge is located in the heart of Downtown Banff, steps from shopping, dining, and nightlife. This 77-room hotel features complimentary continental breakfast and wireless internet included in all of our rates. We offer a sauna, hot tub, and small exercise area for our guests to enjoy after an exciting day of exploring! Handcrafted log furnishings and western décor define the interior of our lodge, as well as a wood-burning fireplace in the lobby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Brewster's Mountain Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brewster`s Mountain Hotel Banff
Brewsters Mountain Hotel
Brewsters Mountain Banff
Brewsters Mountain Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing