We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“banff and caribou lodge - both perfect”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa
Ranked #15 of 32 Hotels in Banff
Belfast
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“banff and caribou lodge - both perfect”
Reviewed July 29, 2007

stayed 3 nights in Banff at the Caribou Lodge in a superior room. room was quite large and very comfortable. spa and pool in the hotel was 1st class - very relaxing. food and service 1st class as well - although we pre-paid our meals when booking the room but realised when we got there it would have worked out cheaper and we would have had more of a choice had we just paid for each meal out there. reception staff very friendly.
would def stay there again.

  • Liked — very relaxing - service and foos 1st class
  • Disliked — all good
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank GAWA_on_tour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,908 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    718
    774
    274
    106
    36
See reviews for
355
1,000
69
60
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (347)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Guildford
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2007

just returned from a tour of Rockies and stayed at this fabulous hotel for 2 nights. Room was fab with views of the mountains, with the biggest bathroom of all the places we stayed at. Breakfast was plentiful if buffet chosen. Didn't try eating there in evening as many other options available. there are major roadworks going on in the town but this did not affect out stay one bit. this is a lovely place and we regret not being able to stay longer. plenty of activities available. we went white water rafting and this was one of the main highlights of our stay - do try this even if like me, you don't normally do this sort of thing. Banff was however in middle of heatwave and an outside pool would have been welcome. As our stay was short, we couldn't get any spa treatments so think about booking ahead. TIP take mosquito repellent if going up gondola, we got attacked!

Stayed July 2007
Helpful?
4 Thank GuildfordTodds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2007

Don't Stay here in Summer! It was over 80 degrees in my room all night. George, the manager, was an incredibly rude guy. He originally told that it was my fault since I booked a standard room. Mind you that it was $240. He also mentioned that they had moved me already. When I checked in with my wife, they sent us to a room with two full beds and I immediately called to see if we could have a room with one larger bed for the two of us to sleep in together. After all, we are married. They were very nice to move us immediately.

After asking for a second fan at 10:30 at night when the room was still 85 degrees, they told me that many rooms didn't have fans. Unbelievable for those poor souls. They gave me a reduction in price to $199 and two free drinks but I would have been willing to pay anything to have a comfortable night. I was told that it was a heat wave and it made no sense for them to have air conditioning for the 5-10 days a year that it was too hot to be comfortable. Given that other hotels in Banff have air conditioning, I would never risk staying here. Plus, the room we had was on the top floor with an incedibly small window. I am sure it was hot many more days that the 5-10 they claimed. This room would suck in Winter!

When I asked for advice for food since the restaurant in the hotel was booked, they only mentioned other places with their lodging group, even thought there was a great place next door.


All in all, the worst night I have ever spent in a hotel. It still was $200.

  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank tahoedan528
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wilts
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2007

After staying here in December 06, when we decided to return in May 2007 there was simply no choice for us. The prices were slightly higher, but the excellent standard of the hotel was as good.

We actually had to break the stay into 2, as one night it was fully booked, so for the first section we spent 2 nights in a Superior room (Queen Twin) as we upgraded last time and were impressed. The room wasnt as good as our last stay, as it was at the front of the hotel, but it was comfortable and surprisingly quiet!
When we checked in for the second time, we managed to get upgraded to an inner suite, which was fantastic. Okay, no mountain views, but skylights and an incredible room! though i dont think I would have paid the full price for it.

The service was, as before, excellent, the restaraunt and room service were very impressive, and the spa as before, though it seemed to be less appealing in the warmth!

We were blown away once again, even though it was much busier, and we wont hesitate to stay here again!

  • Liked — The staff and location
  • Disliked — nothing.
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Ian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2007

We stayed at the Caribou Lodge & Spa 2 night in early June 07. It is a very warm, clean & welcoming hotel...although I found the decor a little OTT with all the logs & stuff. Staff and facilities are excellent. The hot pools is well worth a visit and for a real treat book yourself in for a massage at the spa. The bar is overly priced although the atmosphere is nice. I didn't think much of the restaurant evening menu (steak, steak & more steak...but then I guess it is Alberta!) The buffet breakfast is fantastic.
I would go back here!!

  • Liked — Great atmosphere
  • Disliked — Expensive bar prices
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank CarolineOHare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clemson, SC
Level Contributor
46 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2007

I booked a room at the Banff Caribou Lodge on Priceline and was a little disappointed in the hotel. The normal price for a standard room is $230 per night. I would have been greatly disappointed had I paid the full rate.

The rooms were not air-conditioned, which normally would have been OK. However, we had an interior room which was facing other rooms on all three sides. No air or breeze could flow into the room, which made it very stuffy. I had to sleep with the windows open and could clearly hear the other neighbors.

The rooms were small, but clean. I was also disappointed that Internet access was an additional $10 per day.

The location was convenient to access from the highway since the hotel is located near the end of Banff Avenue. However, it was about a 10 minute walk to the center of downtown.

  • Liked — The location
  • Disliked — No air-conditioning
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank MsMorgan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weston super Mare, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2007

Caribou Lodge, Banff – We had a good room allocation in this edge of town hotel with 10 – 15 min walk to town centre. We booked a twin queen room over the internet and were allocated a lodge room on arrival. The room was clean and huge - with a sitting room, stairway, king bed and large bathroom (Whitehorn room 407). This was a centre facing room on two levels and provided a very comfortable, noise free stay for our 3 nights in Banff – there was no a/c in the room but after asking for an additional fan it was delivered to the room almost immediately. The room was made up daily and with 2 bottles of water left also. Car parking was available under the hotel for a small charge per night – and limited free parking can be had on the roadside nearby. Check in and check out was efficient, pleasant and very helpful.
We had an evening meal in The Keg Restaurant (part of the hotel) where reservations are required at busy times – meals are of a good standard and reasonable price.
We booked our entire trip to BC using tips from Trip Advisor staying in Barclay House Bed & Breakfast Vancouver, Plaza Heritage Hotel Kamloops, Whistlers Inn Jasper and Sandman Inn Downtown Calgary and were not disappointed.

  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank wsm-mart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Banff hotels
0.1 mi away
Fox Hotel & Suites
Fox Hotel & Suites
#13 of 32 in Banff
2,069 reviews
0.5 mi away
Moose Hotel and Suites
0.1 mi away
Rundlestone Lodge
Rundlestone Lodge
#8 of 32 in Banff
1,085 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hidden Ridge Resort
Hidden Ridge Resort
#12 of 32 in Banff
1,979 reviews
0.2 mi away
Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge
1.2 mi away
The Juniper Hotel
The Juniper Hotel
#4 of 32 in Banff
864 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa

Property: Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa
Address: 521 Banff Avenue | Box 1070, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1H8, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Banff
#7 Business Hotel in Banff
#10 Romantic Hotel in Banff
#11 Family Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 190
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Banff Caribou Lodge is centrally located on Banff Avenue, Banff's main street. It offers the Keg Restaurant, Red Earth Spa (a full service spa), free underground parking, free wifi, fitness room, hot pool and steam room. This lodge type accommodation has a large and inviting lobby to greet you to Banff. Enjoy your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, TravelUp, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banff Caribou Lodge And Spa
Banff Caribou Hotel Banff
Caribou Banff
Caribou Lodge Banff

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing