We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutley Fantastic”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa
Ranked #15 of 33 Hotels in Banff
Dundee, Scotland, UK
Level 5 Contributor
41 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“Absolutley Fantastic”
Reviewed February 12, 2007

My husband and I stayed here recentley and we are just back from a 7 day break at this hotel and I have to say it was absolutley marvelous.

The staff were quick to get us checked in and the bell took out bags to our room for us. The lobby has a massive cosy open log fire which was really welcoming and warm, there is also plenty of seats so we didn't have to wait in the cold.

Our room was a superior which meant we had patio doors out on to a little balcony, but it was far too cold to sit out. There were 2 queen sive beds, TV, tea and coffee, iron and board and hairdryer in the room.

The bathroom was large with one wall all mirrored. The maids service was second to none and there was always an abundance of clean fluffy towels.

There is a spa, hot tub and sauna at the hotel. We used the hot tub and sauna it was fantastic. Just what you needed to get warmed up after being outside.

The Keg restaurant onsite offers breakfast and diner. We ate there most mornings as they had a buffet breakfast for $12.99 so we stocked up for the day. We had our evening meal there once too (there was so many other places to eat) it was delicious.

The staff are very knowledgeable about Banff and the National Park itself and they were very approachable.

All in all this hotel is fantastic. This is our second time to Banff and we would definatley stay here again - no questions.

Stayed February 2007
Helpful?
5 Thank LucyPuppy77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,972 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    738
    803
    285
    107
    39
See reviews for
371
1,032
74
62
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (356)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Overijse, Belgium
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed February 7, 2007

We stayed at the Caribou Lodge over Christmas and had a really lovely time. The staff was friendly and very helpful, the room was spacious and had 2 x king beds though we did have a peek in one room and saw it had 1 x king and 1 x sofa. We thought that was more practical if you were only 2 sharing and we will book that next time - yes, we would go again tomorrow!

The foyer was so welcoming with a huge fire and lovely decorations with sofas, magazines and coffee on offer. The Red Earth Spa was definitely needed at the end of a hard days ski-ing and the Keg Restaurant served excellent food and great cocktails.

You are 10 mins walk from downtown but there is a regular shuttle bus if you don't have the energy - and it's driven by a real character! However the situation of the hotel works extremely well for the ski shuttle bus as Caribou is the 2nd stop so the bus is always nearly empty. Not so for the other hotels further along the route! Ditto returning from the slopes; you are the 2nd stop so no need to wait for ages whilst it drops everyone else off.

The ski-ing is awesome, the National Park is beautiful and there are no queues on the ski lifts compared to Europe. We had absolutely no complaints or quibbles and can't wait to return.

  • Liked — Comfortable, welcoming, friendly, great location
  • Disliked — Possibly more cupboards/wardrobes for bulky ski wear
  • Stayed December 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
6 Thank DeuxCarr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2007

We stayed at the hotel for several nights over christmas. As a few others have mentioned we were offered and accepted an upgrade for $10 per night to a room with king beds (as opposed to the doubles in the standard room booked). The room was nice and spacious. The property is not brand new, but the room was well maintained and we had no complaints. The staff were all very friendly and eager to offer any help or assistance. The hotel is located around 10 min walk from downtown. Although not far, we really appreciated the courtesy shuttle given it was around -10 below freezing every day.

The Keg restaurant and bar was very nice and great value for breakfast (not your typical hotel restaurant).

  • Stayed December 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
7 Thank Oz23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed December 25, 2006

We have just had a fantastic experience of Canada. As our first winter sports holiday we were a little unsure of what to expect, but were we infor a great treat. The hotel staff couldn't do enough to help you, they wanted to know what you were doing each day, offering advice on the best snowboarding locations, where to eat, what to wear and where the best views were. The hotel was lovely and welcoming with a roaring fire in the lobby area and all decorated ready for Christmas. The room was fairly spacious for the 3 of us, the 2 large beds were really comfortable and warm at the end of a long day. The hotel breakfast buffet was really good value and opened at 6.30am so you could get an early start on the slopes.
The hotel is situated just inside the town of Banff, it takes about 10 minutes to walk to the town centre which is full of shops and restaurants, an ideal place.
We had a tri-area lift pass which included free transport to the slopes this was brilliant with several pick ups for each slope right outside the hotel. We also booked a "Big 3 Board School" course which included snowboard coaching on a different slope for 3 days in groups of about 9. This was fantastic value for money and really built your confidence up to use all types of lifts and slopes. Definately recommend it for first timers.
We had an absolutley brilliant time and can't wait to go again.

  • Liked — Location and friendly staff
  • Disliked — Nothing I didn't like .
  • Tips/Secrets — Do 3 day ski/board school so you get a coach at all 3 slopes giving you the best tips and help.
  • Stayed December 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank sk8ermum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2006

The hotel is on one of the main streets in town so I don't think there is a "view" from any of the rooms. (There are other hotels and motels up and down this street right next to each other. There are photos that make it appear like its by itself which its not.) We were actually at ground level, and facing the a residential street. But we were just staying one night, so having a "view" was not important. Because it was the middle of October between fall colors and ski season, the Keg restaurant was not crowded. The food was very good and the waitstaff was very attentive. The room was comfortable, had large bathroom, and the beds with the down comforters very relaxing. I enjoyed my stay very much.

  • Liked — Quiet and comfortable
  • Stayed October 2006
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank DeenaJeremy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ENGLAND
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2006

This hotel has a good location in Banff and very easy to find from the Icefields Parkway. The beds in the rooms are very comfortable and the rooms are very clean. The Keg Restaurant serves good food and wine and there is a lovely big fireplace in the lobby with lots of sofas. The hotel has a spa which I heard was very good from another guest. There is a shuttle bus into town in the evening if it's too cold to walk, but is really only a 15 min walk into Banff. The toiletries in the room are from the Rocky Mountain Soap Co which is a lovely touch. I would have liked bigger windows in our room as they were pretty small and maybe a fireplace. Also the noise from the ice machine can be a bit much!

  • Liked — the beds
  • Disliked — small windows
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank 5634
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wales
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2006

we stayed at the Caribou Lodge for five nights and had a great time, the staff on the front desk were excellent, friendly and very helpful especially George and Jim, rooms were comfortable. The hot tub and sauna were a real treat after a long day walking in the mountains sightseeing. The Keg restaurant and bar being in the Lodge was brilliant I would recommend this hotel to all and can't understand the moaners. Would go back again to Banff and certainly stay at The Caribou Lodge

  • Liked — The friendly staff The Keg restaurant and bar the location good atmostphere
  • Disliked — could not find fault
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank dabthesaab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Banff hotels
0.5 mi away
Moose Hotel and Suites
0.1 mi away
Fox Hotel & Suites
Fox Hotel & Suites
#12 of 33 in Banff
2,137 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hidden Ridge Resort
Hidden Ridge Resort
#11 of 33 in Banff
2,023 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Rundlestone Lodge
Rundlestone Lodge
#8 of 33 in Banff
1,117 reviews
0.2 mi away
Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge
0.7 mi away
Brewster's Mountain Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa

Property: Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa
Address: 521 Banff Avenue | Box 1070, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1H8, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Banff
#7 Business Hotel in Banff
#10 Romantic Hotel in Banff
#11 Family Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 190
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Banff Caribou Lodge is centrally located on Banff Avenue, Banff's main street. It offers the Keg Restaurant, Red Earth Spa (a full service spa), free underground parking, free wifi, fitness room, hot pool and steam room. This lodge type accommodation has a large and inviting lobby to greet you to Banff. Enjoy your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banff Caribou Hotel Banff
Banff Caribou Lodge And Spa
Caribou Banff
Caribou Lodge Banff

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing