We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“could be better”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa
Ranked #15 of 34 Hotels in Banff
Reviewed October 9, 2006

Together with my husband and parents we stayed here for 3 nights towards the end of Sept. On arrival to our surprise we were told that there wasn't complimentary parking( one of the main reasons for choosing the hotel) and that it would be $5 a night. I know it isn't much but a bit naughty. Then we were offered to upgrade our room to a superior room and it would be only a $10 per night extra per room. We decided to do this as we thought it would be worth it for a better room and then the parking was suddenly complimentary. When we got to our room it was not to the standard we were expecting. The sink in the bathroom was chipped, the tiles in the bathroom were chipped, there were pictures missing on the walls and ripped walllpaper. Also the room was quite dark. My parents room did not have any chipped tiles but was still dark. We were told that if we upgraded we would be on the outside of the hotel and the rooms are light. I dread to think what the rooms on the inside of the hotel are like.Also the beds were not very big for a superior room. There was underground parking which is heated but the entrance to the garage is quite narrow and lots of pillars. We come from a farming backround so are used to driving big transport and manoeuvering it in small spaces but even we found it tight and most of the pillars have got chips from being knocked by cars in them.
I would recommend going into town for breakfast, we didn't and regretted it. The service on the first day was o.k. The second day it was below average with a bill coming to our table the same time as our food and our table being cleared whilst my parents were still eating, even though it wasn't busy. The final day we should have learnt our lesson but the waiter got the toast wrong! and then had to wait 10 mins to get the correct order and for my mum who only drinks hot water in the mornings it was impossible trying to get some of this. Service was very poor.
The reception area is good with a nice log fire and comfy chairs.
The only other good thing about the hotel is the free shuttle to the centre of Banff and it runs from 4pm-11pm with pick up every half an hour. the girl who drives the bus was very helpful with advice about where to eat and what to see.
If you are thinking of staying in Banff I would try another hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank pole2pole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,100)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,900 - 1,906 of 2,100 reviews

Reviewed October 3, 2006

My brother and I booked this hotel through a United Vacation ski package. Nice, comfortable room that was well taken care of. Great underground heated parking with convenient lockers for skis and equipment. Pretty short walk to downtown. Very helpful staff, especially at the concierge desk when asking for details on skiing options.

  • Stayed: February 2005, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Mapwalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2006

Stayed at the Cariboo Lodge in September. Found the reception area and the spa area great. The Keg does lovely steaks -if you can eat there.Room was facing the middle of the hotel and was a bit dark but comfortable with all the ammenites(all british hotels should have a coffee machine) Good location for town centre.

  • Stayed: September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank t.Sutherland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2006

We stayed at the lodge on the first leg of our honeymoon and I must say it was a stunning start to our Canada trip. We were upgraded to the "Cascade suite", which consisited of a two level aparment, Lounge and toilet downstairs (also a t.v. and log fire place). Upstairs there was a good sized (queen sized?) bed, very comfortable and an ensuite bathroom with bath and shower. Next to the bedroom was a jacuzzi room, very nice! We also had a beatuiful view of Cascade mountain from our window.
The hotel had a very warm atmosphere with helpfull staff and a great restaurant called " the keg", very good quality food, but a little pricey in the evenings. Overall we had a great time staying at the Caribou Lodge and would not hesitate to return there in the future. Highly recommended!!

  • Stayed: August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank mandalay75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2006

Stayed at the hotel for 2 days in September. The hotel has a good location on Banff Av., ca. 600 m away from center of Banff. Rooms are large enough, friendly refurbished and clean. Staff is friendly. Parking in the garage was free of charge. One great advantage of the hotel is, that a good steakhouse (Keg) is in the same building and you have not to search for dining. Hotel can be recommended.

  • Stayed: September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Recall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2006

An excellent very well run hotel. Rooms are very clean and well equipped. The feather mattresses on the beds are a welcome bonus. Also has an excellent restaurant.

This was the best hotel we stayed in of four in the Rockies, and one in Vancouver.

    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank IFH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2006

Unfortunately it was only a one night stay for us at this lovely little hotel. Staff were very friendly, polite and efficient. Breakfast was not included in our deal but we paid C$12.99 for the buffet and it was excellent. The best night's sleep I'd had in a long while in the beautiful king size soft bed. OK the rooms are not luxurious and the bathroom quite small, but I'd stay there again if I visit Banff again.

  • Stayed: September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Laneylee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Banff hotels
0.5 mi away
Moose Hotel and Suites
0.1 mi away
Fox Hotel & Suites
Fox Hotel & Suites
#10 of 34 in Banff
2,225 reviews
0.5 mi away
Elk + Avenue Hotel
Elk + Avenue Hotel
#12 of 34 in Banff
1,510 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Rundlestone Lodge
Rundlestone Lodge
#7 of 34 in Banff
1,180 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hidden Ridge Resort
Hidden Ridge Resort
#14 of 34 in Banff
2,118 reviews
0.4 mi away
Banff Aspen Lodge
Banff Aspen Lodge
#8 of 34 in Banff
1,500 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa

Address: 521 Banff Avenue | Box 1070, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1H8, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Banff
#7 Business Hotel in Banff
#10 Romantic Hotel in Banff
#10 Family Hotel in Banff
Price Range: $85 - $336 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 190
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Banff Caribou Lodge is centrally located on Banff Avenue, Banff's main street. It offers the Keg Restaurant, Red Earth Spa (a full service spa), free underground parking, free wifi, fitness room, hot pool and steam room. This lodge type accommodation has a large and inviting lobby to greet you to Banff. Enjoy your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, HotelsforEveryone, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banff Caribou Hotel Banff
Banff Caribou Lodge And Spa
Caribou Banff
Caribou Lodge Banff

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing