We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“dark but comfortable room”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa
Ranked #13 of 33 Hotels in Banff
Reviewed September 28, 2006

Stayed at the Cariboo Lodge in September. Found the reception area and the spa area great. The Keg does lovely steaks -if you can eat there.Room was facing the middle of the hotel and was a bit dark but comfortable with all the ammenites(all british hotels should have a coffee machine) Good location for town centre.

  • Stayed: September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank t.Sutherland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,043)
There are newer reviews for Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,852 - 1,858 of 2,043 reviews

Reviewed September 24, 2006

We stayed at the lodge on the first leg of our honeymoon and I must say it was a stunning start to our Canada trip. We were upgraded to the "Cascade suite", which consisited of a two level aparment, Lounge and toilet downstairs (also a t.v. and log fire place). Upstairs there was a good sized (queen sized?) bed, very comfortable and an ensuite bathroom with bath and shower. Next to the bedroom was a jacuzzi room, very nice! We also had a beatuiful view of Cascade mountain from our window.
The hotel had a very warm atmosphere with helpfull staff and a great restaurant called " the keg", very good quality food, but a little pricey in the evenings. Overall we had a great time staying at the Caribou Lodge and would not hesitate to return there in the future. Highly recommended!!

  • Stayed: August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank mandalay75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2006

Stayed at the hotel for 2 days in September. The hotel has a good location on Banff Av., ca. 600 m away from center of Banff. Rooms are large enough, friendly refurbished and clean. Staff is friendly. Parking in the garage was free of charge. One great advantage of the hotel is, that a good steakhouse (Keg) is in the same building and you have not to search for dining. Hotel can be recommended.

  • Stayed: September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Recall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2006

An excellent very well run hotel. Rooms are very clean and well equipped. The feather mattresses on the beds are a welcome bonus. Also has an excellent restaurant.

This was the best hotel we stayed in of four in the Rockies, and one in Vancouver.

    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank IFH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2006

Unfortunately it was only a one night stay for us at this lovely little hotel. Staff were very friendly, polite and efficient. Breakfast was not included in our deal but we paid C$12.99 for the buffet and it was excellent. The best night's sleep I'd had in a long while in the beautiful king size soft bed. OK the rooms are not luxurious and the bathroom quite small, but I'd stay there again if I visit Banff again.

  • Stayed: September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Laneylee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2006

Expected this hotel to be just an average lodge but was pleasantly surprised. The room was nothing special but was confortable nonetheless and had everything you would need in a room. The best features of the stay were the staff, the breakfast and the free shuttle bus into town. The staff recommended and booked for us a horse riding trip which they had been on themselves and gave us tips on what to do and see. The breakfast was included and consisted of a buffet which was not only very good but was very nicely displayed and replenished. The staff were very attentive. The hotel offers a free shuttle bus to the centre of Banff which was such a bonus. Overall the hotel was very good value for money.

  • Stayed: August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank ShirleyAnnS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2006

Stayed here for two nights. fine place to stay in banff, if a little overpriced, but seems like most places in banff are. It's about a 15 minute walk to town. you pass other hotels along the way and it's completely safe.
I also stayed at one of the other hotels the same company owns -- the driftwood inn. it was much closer to town and cheaper. the rooms arent as nice as caribou but you do have access to the whirlpool and health club at the place next door.

  • Stayed: August 2006, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dsess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Banff hotels
0.5 mi away
Moose Hotel and Suites
0.1 mi away
Fox Hotel & Suites
Fox Hotel & Suites
#11 of 33 in Banff
2,184 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hidden Ridge Resort
Hidden Ridge Resort
#14 of 33 in Banff
2,072 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Banff Aspen Lodge
Banff Aspen Lodge
#8 of 33 in Banff
1,451 reviews
0.1 mi away
Rundlestone Lodge
Rundlestone Lodge
#7 of 33 in Banff
1,146 reviews
0.5 mi away
Elk + Avenue Hotel
Elk + Avenue Hotel
#12 of 33 in Banff
1,298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa

Address: 521 Banff Avenue | Box 1070, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1H8, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Banff
#7 Business Hotel in Banff
#10 Romantic Hotel in Banff
#11 Family Hotel in Banff
Price Range: $109 - $321 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 190
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Banff Caribou Lodge is centrally located on Banff Avenue, Banff's main street. It offers the Keg Restaurant, Red Earth Spa (a full service spa), free underground parking, free wifi, fitness room, hot pool and steam room. This lodge type accommodation has a large and inviting lobby to greet you to Banff. Enjoy your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banff Caribou Hotel Banff
Banff Caribou Lodge And Spa
Caribou Banff
Caribou Lodge Banff

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing