We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa
Ranked #13 of 33 Hotels in Banff
Reviewed September 23, 2006

Stayed at the hotel for 2 days in September. The hotel has a good location on Banff Av., ca. 600 m away from center of Banff. Rooms are large enough, friendly refurbished and clean. Staff is friendly. Parking in the garage was free of charge. One great advantage of the hotel is, that a good steakhouse (Keg) is in the same building and you have not to search for dining. Hotel can be recommended.

  • Stayed: September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Recall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,051)
There are newer reviews for Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,861 - 1,867 of 2,051 reviews

Reviewed September 20, 2006

An excellent very well run hotel. Rooms are very clean and well equipped. The feather mattresses on the beds are a welcome bonus. Also has an excellent restaurant.

This was the best hotel we stayed in of four in the Rockies, and one in Vancouver.

    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank IFH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2006

Unfortunately it was only a one night stay for us at this lovely little hotel. Staff were very friendly, polite and efficient. Breakfast was not included in our deal but we paid C$12.99 for the buffet and it was excellent. The best night's sleep I'd had in a long while in the beautiful king size soft bed. OK the rooms are not luxurious and the bathroom quite small, but I'd stay there again if I visit Banff again.

  • Stayed: September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Laneylee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2006

Expected this hotel to be just an average lodge but was pleasantly surprised. The room was nothing special but was confortable nonetheless and had everything you would need in a room. The best features of the stay were the staff, the breakfast and the free shuttle bus into town. The staff recommended and booked for us a horse riding trip which they had been on themselves and gave us tips on what to do and see. The breakfast was included and consisted of a buffet which was not only very good but was very nicely displayed and replenished. The staff were very attentive. The hotel offers a free shuttle bus to the centre of Banff which was such a bonus. Overall the hotel was very good value for money.

  • Stayed: August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank ShirleyAnnS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2006

Stayed here for two nights. fine place to stay in banff, if a little overpriced, but seems like most places in banff are. It's about a 15 minute walk to town. you pass other hotels along the way and it's completely safe.
I also stayed at one of the other hotels the same company owns -- the driftwood inn. it was much closer to town and cheaper. the rooms arent as nice as caribou but you do have access to the whirlpool and health club at the place next door.

  • Stayed: August 2006, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dsess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2006

Nice clean rooms, with 2 double beds with duvet, which is way better than itchy wool blankets, it was just like a typical American room! We went to the restaurant on the first night which stays open till nearly midnight, my sister has very strict dietary requirements and they kindly offered to go off menu for her and mix and match 2 meals which is very rare that restaurants will be so kind to her!

The only thing I could fault about the hotel is the free shuttle bus which runs from early evening until 10.15pm then you will have to walk, which takes about 10/15 minutes and the fresh air is quite sobering but considering the shops stay open until 11pm, I think 10.15pm for last pick up is not very good!

You do have to pay for hotel parking but in hindsight we could have probably parked in the residential streets behind the hotel as there weren't many parking restrictions, mind you an elk might have head butted the car as we saw a few elk roaming one night near our hotel. The hotel is one of the first few on your way into Banff on the main road and when first driving into the car park if you have a big hire car like I did then the access into the car park is scary, especially if you drive through the entrance, just cheat and drive in through the exit otherwise you nearly hit the walls and pillars on the bend down to the car park!

  • Stayed: August 2006
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank BetsyB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2006

We stayed at the start of our tour of canada. just two nights.
We upgraded our room and asked for a quiet area. Had both with a balcony on the side of the hotel.
Reception was helpful and we were assigned a basic room by our tour company. It was well worth upgrading and they did throw in the car park costs. The room was adequate but no air con which might nhave been needed if we had had the weather that Banff had had the previous week.
The hotel was fine for a two night stay.

  • Stayed: July 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rcha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Banff hotels
0.5 mi away
Moose Hotel and Suites
0.1 mi away
Fox Hotel & Suites
Fox Hotel & Suites
#11 of 33 in Banff
2,186 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hidden Ridge Resort
Hidden Ridge Resort
#14 of 33 in Banff
2,077 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Banff Aspen Lodge
Banff Aspen Lodge
#8 of 33 in Banff
1,457 reviews
0.1 mi away
Rundlestone Lodge
Rundlestone Lodge
#7 of 33 in Banff
1,149 reviews
0.5 mi away
Elk + Avenue Hotel
Elk + Avenue Hotel
#12 of 33 in Banff
1,308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa

Address: 521 Banff Avenue | Box 1070, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1H8, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Banff
#7 Business Hotel in Banff
#10 Romantic Hotel in Banff
#11 Family Hotel in Banff
Price Range: $111 - $326 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 190
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Banff Caribou Lodge is centrally located on Banff Avenue, Banff's main street. It offers the Keg Restaurant, Red Earth Spa (a full service spa), free underground parking, free wifi, fitness room, hot pool and steam room. This lodge type accommodation has a large and inviting lobby to greet you to Banff. Enjoy your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone and HotelQuickly so you can book your Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banff Caribou Hotel Banff
Banff Caribou Lodge And Spa
Caribou Banff
Caribou Lodge Banff

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing