We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa
Nearby Hotels
Hidden Ridge Resort(Banff)(Great Value!)
$242
$207
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Douglas Fir Resort & Chalets(Banff)(Great Value!)
$151
$141
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$224
$192
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Rundlestone Lodge(Banff)(Great Value!)
$245
$209
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$406
$311
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Fox Hotel & Suites(Banff)(Great Value!)
$232
$216
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Fairmont Banff Springs(Banff)
$434
$388
Fairmont.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$227
$166
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Banff Aspen Lodge(Banff)(Great Value!)
$254
$216
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$255
$243
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (2,157)
Filter reviews
2,157 results
Traveler rating
789
881
329
114
44
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
789
881
329
114
44
Show reviews that mention
All reviewskeg restaurantfree bus passrocky mountaineerlovely hotelsuperior roomunderground parkingfree roamski bussteam roomten minute walklog firereception areawalk into townlarge hot tubbuffet breakfastski lockersthere is no air conditioning
Filter
Updating list...
1,962 - 1,967 of 2,157 reviews
Reviewed August 12, 2006

We stayed here on the last four nights of our trip in Canada. The hotel was ok with clean rooms. There was no pool but a large hot tub, this was a disapointment for our son. The gym was poor and could not really be called that. We were also charged for parking where there was no mention of this in booking the hotel.
Banff it self was a good base for the rockies and we will go back to Banff but not sure if we would stay here again, nothing wrong with the rooms but we like a pool and a gym.

  • Stayed: August 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank 43iiainbw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2006

This was our first main stop on our "Trip of a lifetime" around Canada and we were very pleased with our choice!

The lobby was bright and comfortable and there was plenty of car parking spaces on arrival. The Reception staff were very helpful despite not being able to let us have our room on arrival due to us being early (we weren't told by our travel agent that check-in was 4.00pm). They also accommodated our small gripe about the car parking charge and gave it to us complimentary as the website had not been updated at this point with the change in policy and also due to the room delay.

Our room was a nice size with a small window view of the mountain and back street. It was a quiet and clean room with 2 comfortable queensize beds. It was dimly lit but not too badly and the only thing we could critisize was that there was no airconditioning (only a noisy fan) and there was no fridge to keep my husband's medication cool. However, we got over these obstacles and it didn't impede our judgement of the room or hotel.

The other hotel facilities were wonderful! We really enjoyed using the spa's hot-tub and steam room (free of charge - you only pay for other treatments) and found the steaks in the restaurant tasty. We had a free cheesecake with our dinner using a coupon given to us by the hotel and by eating before 6.00pm and also didn't get any problems in service by eating earlier - something to bear in mind for future patrons!

We both walked and used the Hotel's complimetary bus service into Banff. The walk was great to burn off the calories but having walked all day aswell, it was good to catch the bus back in the evening (caught outside the info centre every 20 minutes).

Banff itself is very pretty and for those who are budget conscious, you could eat quite cheaply in the Cascade Plaza foodcourt on Banff Ave and get nice deli sandwiches for a picnic from Kellers supermarket on Bear Street (free coffee for patrons too). The gardens were lovely but watch out for very aggressive Mozzies - I caught them chomping on my leg at midday, even with repellant on, and 3 weeks later the bites are only just clearing. I could also recommend taking the Gondola up Sulphur Mountain, a picnic at Lakes Minnewanka or Johnson, a visit to Bow River Falls and a look at the Fairmont Springs Hotel - all locations could easily be found on the map supplied by hotel reception.

On a whole, I would recommend the Banff Caribou Lodge as lovely base in beautiful Banff and hope that other travellers enjoy themselves there as much as we did!

  • Stayed: July 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JanieP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2006

Stayed here for two nights when touring in July. Room was well appointed though a little on the small side, given it housed two queen beds. Hotel is a short walk from the centre of Banff where there are plenty of good restaurants and shops, and it was well placed for sightseeing. Room faced onto enclosed courtyard which was quiet although obviously lacked a view. But we had come to travel around the area so this wasn't an issue. The scenery around Banff is stunning - a trip up Sulphur Mountain is a must.

We didn't eat in the hotel, so no idea of the standard of the food. The room had tea/coffee facilities which was handy.

Staff were friendly and helpful though a bit keen on trying to sell the services of local tour companies (we weren't persuaded !)

Thank Casey001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2006

We stayed here for four nights as part of a self drive holiday in the Rockies.

The hotel is located on Banff Avenue - but a fair way from Downtown - about a 20/30 minute stroll (or 15 minutes brisk walk). It's a good location to drive in and out of as you don't have to go through downtown if you take the right exit off the Highway.

Rooms were fine - clean and comfortable with coffee/tea making equipment and an iron/ironing board.
We were upgraded (on request) to a Superior room. The difference from Standard is that your window faces outward and not into the courtyard. There was quite a bit of noise from the street and railway line so maybe the standard room would have been better :-) Also, the ice machine was right outside our door - and that was pretty noisy too.

The hotel has a laundry service charging $15 for a bag. You drop it off at 9am and the laundry is back at 5pm. It had been dried and folded well and so most things didn't even need ironing. This was really useful to us as we had been on the road for a while and needed some stuff washing.

We didn't use the Spa. The hotel's lobby is very nice. They have free coffee in there every morning - which is handy if you want to take a cup with you if you're having an early start.

Downsides: they charged us for parking. Only $4 a night, but hey - they have ample underground parking and it should be free for guests.
Aircon in room was not working - this was in the middle of a heatwave - so we had to sleep with a noisy fan on all night. At least it drowned out the sounds of trains blowing their whistles.
Restaurant - we ate here for breakfast once. It was hot, busy and the service was awful. Even our waitress told us she didn't expect a tip!! We were in there over an hour for just pancakes and eggs benedict. The bacon was like processed meat. Horrible! If you do eat there for breakfast, I suggest the buffet option - at least you'll get some fresh fruit and cereal/toast. We went for a la carte breakfast and wish we hadn't bothered.
Also, one evening we decided last minute to have dinner in the restaurant as we were tired and didn't fancy a walk downtown. We arrived just after 8.30pm and were told there would be at least a 30 minute wait for a table. We walked downtown!

Banff itself is lovely - plenty of choice for eating out, and loads of shops to wander round (open until 11pm when we were there in July). We were there on 1st July and really enjoyed the Canada Day parade.

We ate at le Beaujolais for our 1st wedding anniversary, and whilst expensive, it was really very good. I'd say it was worth it though. We also ate at the Elk and Oarsman (lovely rooftop patio and good burgers), the Rose & Crown (ok, for pub grub) and Melissas (great value and good food). Melissas was also good for breakfast - the swiss apple pancake was wonderful!
For breakfasts on days when we headed west, we would stop off at the Largan Bakery at the "mall" near Lake Louise and buy coffee/buns to take away and eat somewhere nice.

All in all, I loved Banff. The Caribou Lodge was a good base, but if I went to Banff again I would try to stay somewhere a bit closer to downtown.

  • Stayed: July 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank rosieh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2006

This hotel was the best we stayed in whilst in Canada. We stayed in 5 other hotels (including the Fairmont Palliser in Calgary) and this was by far the best when you took everything into consideration. OK, the old style ambiance in the Palliser is great but the the Caribou Lodge just outshone it in every other way. We were upgraded when we arrived and had a room with 2 King sized beds which was extremely clean and bright. The spa was a bit expensive but offered a good range of treatments and the hot tub was excellent, very clean, warm and huge! The Keg restaurant attached to the hotel has excellent lobster and the service was second to none. If you are in Banff try the walk up Sulphur Mountain - it took us 2 hours 25 minutes - I am sure you will be able to beat that!

9  Thank tomnvivi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews