We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Lovely Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa
Ranked #13 of 32 Hotels in Banff
Fontana, California
Level Contributor
42 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Lovely Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

Summer visit. sufficient parking. clean open lobby with welcoming staff. Room was clean, quiet and good size (King Suite). Some rooms come with a balcony, wish I'd known that ahead of time so that I could have requested one. We had a king size bed that was not very comfortable, unfortunately I could not put my finger on why. It could have been the bedding or the mattress or a combination of both. All I know is that even though I hiked my butt off almost every day I was there and therefore should have slept like baby, instead I tossed and turned most every night.

Keg Steakhouse on the first floor served good food and also had extremely freindly staff.

The hot pool was little disappointing as it was too shallow in every part of it and the first night we used it, it was only about 80 degrees farenheit. There is an adjoining steam room. meh.

Less than mile from the Banff Village Proper. they have bike rentals available.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CTCamQOTU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,745 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    670
    707
    244
    93
    31
See reviews for
324
912
64
52
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (319)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Independence, Kentucky
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

My wife and I stayed at the Banff Caribou Lodge for our honeymoon. We paid for the upgraded Mountain View Suite, and we just don't feel like we got our money's worth. When we first checked into the hotel, one of the staircases smelled awful (we avoided that staircase from then on), there was a towel under the fitted sheet for whatever reason, and the shelves and drawers were extremely dusty, as if they hadn't been dusted in several weeks. Additionally, the duvet on the bed was not really appropriate bedding for summer visits, it's far too heavyweight. The duvet inside the cover would not stay in place, resulting in a bunched up duvet at one end and just the duvet cover at the other. After a couple of nights, we just got rid of the duvet and used a blanket that was in the closet downstairs. To compound that, there was no air conditioning, so the room, especially in the loft area, was much warmer than we would have preferred. Giving us a small fan doesn't really solve that problem. I can only imagine what it feels like in the rooms in mid-July.

Additionally, the shower drain drained extremely slowly (resulting in a pool of water in the shower a couple inches deep after a 10 minute shower) and the under-rim of the toilet in the master bathroom was either stained or dirty, but regardless, it did not leave a great first impression. We dusted the shelves ourselves and got rid of the likely dirty towel under sheet, but we notified the front desk THREE TIMES about the shower drain and it never got fixed. We also notified them about the stained toilet but that never was resolved either. I understand the Caribou Lodge isn't a five-star hotel, but I expected these basic things to be taken care of, especially since we were in a suite.

I will say that the spa downstairs and the hot pool were fantastic, and the views were incredible, but overall, we were disappointed with our stay. The first few days of our honeymoon in Vancouver and on the Rocky Mountaineer, we were made to feel special, but that feeling died quickly at the Caribou Lodge.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Greg C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CaribouFOM, Front Office Manager at Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
Thank you for your detailed review. We have noted and addressed the issues mentioned and have also contacted you in private.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
35 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014 via mobile

I recently spent 2 nights at this lodge and was disappointed. Unfortunately, Banff was hotter than usual and the rooms in this hotel are not air conditioned. We were given 2 fans and left the window opened as well. The room in the evening did not cool down sufficient for us to sleep comfortably. The amenities were very basic but the people working here were helpful and very friendly.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Marilyn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014 via mobile

Lovely hotel and very friendly staff. Its quite central and they even give you a free bus pass for getting around and booklet of vouchers. .. highly recommended. . There is a swimming pool and Spa facilities if you have had a long day and just want to unwind as well as a lovely restaurant - The keg..

Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Aggieg80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sedgley
Level Contributor
33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

I was worried about this hotel, but in the end was proven wrong.

The staff are friendly and helpful. Particular mention should be made to the barman in the Keg originating from Ipswich, who went out of his way to assist us and showed great kindness to my wife who was ill when we went in for a meal.

The rooms are dark but nicely furnished, and the fact that they did not have AC was cured by a fan provided and the fact the window could be opened. I would imagine however that in very hot conditions a fan would not be sufficient to cool the room.

The Keg also doubled has the breakfast room, with a decent selection of food, but the scrambled eggs you could have used for filling in potholes. Their Egg Benedict was however not bad at all. Because of my wife's stomach problem we only ate once in the Keg in the evening, she did not have a full meal at all, but what I had the quality was very good.

Overall a nice hotel, and we would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Graham E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CaribouFOM, Front Office Manager at Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us on TripAdvisor. We hope everyone is in good health, and hope we can welcome you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

We also had a dark room on the inside of the property, but it was clean and comfortable with an excellent bathroom. The Keg restaurant which is attached to the hotel does excellent steaks in the evening and a good pint of draft IPA. I found the full buffet breakfast rather disappointing but the continental had a very good selection. The staff were all friendly and helpful. it's a bit out of town, but there is an infrequent bus service.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rodgedodge1945
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
norfolkUK
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

It's 10pm. I am in my hotel room. It's 29degreesC. Sleep will be impossible.There is no air conditioning. I'm dripping with sweat. No, I don't mean it's broken. In a class, expensive hotel with 1st floor spa and pool, with all sorts of luxury services (paid for of course), they are too money grubbing to bother to fit air conditioning. This in an area of continental climate known to have hot periods, on the same latitude as southern England. They will give you a fan to move the hot air around.
All this for $200 a night?
The restaurant attached has priced that are high for dinner and eye-watering for breakfast.
The general décor is adequate.
In comparison to the 2 hotels of similar price so far used on this tour, this hotel is by far the worst
Location is poor- on a main road and much further out of the centre than the competition. Fortunately, other hotela close by will take in waifs and strays and feed them at reasonable prices.

Room Tip: If in June-September, unless it's raining or cold, find another hotel. Rooms on the southern si...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cheapskate33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Banff hotels
0.7 mi away
Hidden Ridge Resort
0.1 mi away
Fox Hotel & Suites
Fox Hotel & Suites
#12 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 stars 1,937 reviews
0.1 mi away
Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
The Juniper Hotel
The Juniper Hotel
#3 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 stars 722 reviews
0.1 mi away
Rundlestone Lodge
Rundlestone Lodge
#7 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 stars 987 reviews
0.4 mi away
Banff Aspen Lodge
Banff Aspen Lodge
#6 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 stars 1,223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa

Property: Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa
Address: 521 Banff Avenue | Box 1070, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1H8, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Banff
#7 Business Hotel in Banff
#10 Romantic Hotel in Banff
#11 Family Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 190
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Banff Caribou Lodge is centrally located on Banff Avenue, Banff's main street. It offers the Keg Restaurant, Red Earth Spa (a full service spa), free underground parking, free wifi, fitness room, hot pool and steam room. This lodge type accommodation has a large and inviting lobby to greet you to Banff. Enjoy your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Odigeo, Cancelon and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banff Caribou Lodge And Spa
Banff Caribou Hotel Banff
Caribou Banff
Caribou Lodge Banff

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing