We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice visit in the Rockies”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa
Ranked #13 of 33 Hotels in Banff
Reviewed May 15, 2014

This is a very well kept hotel close to downtown and all the best that Banff has to offer.The staff are very friendly and the hotel was very nicely appointed,we liked relaxing in front the fireplace or soaking in the hot spa pool.The addition of the Keg made dining easy and they also have a great brunch.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Arnold B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,078)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

921 - 927 of 2,078 reviews

Reviewed May 15, 2014

I stayed at this hotel for our Honey Moon. Great choice. What I liked best is its location, from the hotel it is about a 10min walk to downtown. But if you do not feel like walking, the bus stop is right in front of the hotel, also, the bus passes are complimentary! If you are planing to ski (which we did) the bus to all the main mountains also stops at the hotel entrance, plus you are the second stop on the route, which will mean you'll always find a seat and will get dropped off first. The staff was extremely helpfull, they gave us great advice on things to do, and seemed very exited that it was our honeymoon (they even send a bottle of sparkling wine to our room). They have a ski hub on site which was very helpfull. So to sumarize: Best: Staff helpfulness and location. Worst: I didn't enjoy the Keg restaurant in the hotel, the furniture seems a bit old (but clean and functional) We stayed at a corner room, it had a bath tub overlooking the street.

Room Tip: Rooms are better than their pictures.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Therandomnickname
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2014

Stayed here for three nights early May. We found the room, on the third floor, to be very pleasant and the beds very comfortable. The front desk staff were most helpful and the welcome couldn't have been warmer and more informative than it was. We felt the staff gave of their best and wanted to please guests.
As it was still quite cold we made full use of The Keg restaurant and bar. One breakfast could have been a little hotter but apart from that everything was up to the standard one expects from The Keg
We will be back in Banff again within the year and will stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stewart B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2014

We stayed at this hotel because we had a complimentary room night from a prize at a tradeshow. Driving up to the hotel it looks nice and keeps within the ambiance of Banff. The entrance is impressive and the hotel staff were very helpful and friendly upon check in.

We stayed on the 3rd floor facing the street. The room was nice and the decor I would describe as trendy cabin. Everything was clean and fresh. We tried out the hot pool in the basement and it was quite nice. It is basically a very large (small pool) sized hot tub. We had our 5 year old with us and the water was hot but not too hot for him to enjoy it. I do wish that there was a regular pool but the front desk did mention that we could use one of the pools at a sister location. The beds were very comfortable and we all had a great sleep. I was worried about the noise coming in through the window facing the street but we didn't here anything at night.

We would stay here again or at one of their sister hotels closer to downtown.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank teachartz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2014

Pleasantly upgraded! We came for an evening and upon our late check-in we were advised we had been upgraded. Our original booking was for a Superior King with breakfast. We were given a 2-story loft suite. The room was lovely with mountain and rustic décor to complement the mountain scenery and caribou theme. Upon entering there was a washroom then a seating area with a gas fireplace. Then you could precede up the stairs to the king bedroom with double doors that entered into a large area with a double Jacuzzi tub and then doors to the washroom with a glass walk in shower area. Now given our late arrival and our desire to head off to Sunshine Village to go skiing first thing in the morning we did not have an opportunity to enjoy the room and all it had to offer. If you were looking for a getaway weekend full of relaxation and just enjoying Banff and the town site – this room would have been wonderful to say in!

Room Tip: Our suite was on the top floor facing the back side of the hotel. There was no noise, it was nice an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sandra C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2014 via mobile

Hats off to the gentleman who works night shift at the front desk as his politeness was the best part of the stay. He is very good at his job!
The rooms are a tad small but pretty enough. Use caution with the coffee pots in the room as it was disgusting and dirty. In fact the entire room didn't feel clean. We were woken up several times at night as the hallways and rooms are not very sound proof. All in all, I would try another hotel before I stayed there again.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RickandVicky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2014

We spent a week here as home-base for our ski holiday in January. On a price-performance basis, it was a good choice. Can't fault it for what it is:: clean, comfortable and quiet. Room was fine, staff pleasant and helpful. Pool is more like a big hot tub than a swimming pool (can't do laps). Ski bus stops right outside. They have a service desk with a "concierge" type fellow who was actually very pleasant and knowledgeable. The Keg restaurant in right off the lobby, which is okay for a formula steak house & bar. Breakfast was adequate but less than special. A bit far from downtown (15 minute walk) but not onerous, and there's a local bus stop a block away.
There are better choices in Banff but there are worse ones too. We would stay here again if our 1st choice wasn't available.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stoic_Warrior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Banff hotels
0.5 mi away
Moose Hotel and Suites
0.1 mi away
Fox Hotel & Suites
Fox Hotel & Suites
#11 of 33 in Banff
2,194 reviews
0.1 mi away
Rundlestone Lodge
Rundlestone Lodge
#7 of 33 in Banff
1,159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hidden Ridge Resort
Hidden Ridge Resort
#14 of 33 in Banff
2,086 reviews
0.4 mi away
Banff Aspen Lodge
Banff Aspen Lodge
#8 of 33 in Banff
1,469 reviews
0.5 mi away
Elk + Avenue Hotel
Elk + Avenue Hotel
#12 of 33 in Banff
1,346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa

Address: 521 Banff Avenue | Box 1070, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1H8, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Banff
#7 Business Hotel in Banff
#10 Romantic Hotel in Banff
#11 Family Hotel in Banff
Price Range: $106 - $328 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 190
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Banff Caribou Lodge is centrally located on Banff Avenue, Banff's main street. It offers the Keg Restaurant, Red Earth Spa (a full service spa), free underground parking, free wifi, fitness room, hot pool and steam room. This lodge type accommodation has a large and inviting lobby to greet you to Banff. Enjoy your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelsforEveryone, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banff Caribou Hotel Banff
Banff Caribou Lodge And Spa
Caribou Banff
Caribou Lodge Banff

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing