We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An Ideal Choice in Banff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa
Ranked #15 of 32 Hotels in Banff
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“An Ideal Choice in Banff”
Reviewed March 24, 2014

This is a great hotel, ideally situated in Banff just a short walk from the main downtown area. The room was clean and well maintained and the staff were welcoming and hospitable throughout our stay. The Keg restaurant serves good food at reasonable prices and the breakfast buffet is great value for money.

As others have said, the only drawback is the heat in the bedrooms. Whilst I appreciate that Banff in Winter is a cold place and there is a need to ensure the pipes don't freeze, the lack of cooling (other than opening the windows to sub-zero temperatures) sometimes made it uncomfortably warm during the night. Oh, and on two occasions during our stay there was no hot water because of problems with the plumbing.

Overall, the positives greatly outweigh the negatives and I'd certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ian G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,908 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    718
    774
    274
    106
    36
See reviews for
355
1,000
69
60
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (347)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cochrane, Canada
Level Contributor
24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2014 via mobile

This hotel was very nice at first glance. The feel walking in was amazing. They have a big fireplace when you walk into the lobby. Our room seemed to be newly renovated which was nice. It was nice to have a balcony too. It wasn't until the morning that I noticed that the room could have been more carefully cleaned. I had to pump milk for my baby so I went into the bathroom so I wouldn't wake the other kids, there was a lot of dust on the ledge under the bathroom mirror, tooth paste and scum going down the front of the sink, and vent was covered in a thick coat of dust. Next I really needed my morning coffee only to discover that all that was in my room was 2 packs of decaf, I had to opt for tea instead. The last thing I noticed was when I went to plug in my phone charger behind the night stand was the very thick layer of dust, and garbage that was left behind by other guests. Other than that... Beds were comfortable, sheets were fresh, pillows were comfortable, temperature was easy to control. The hotel was very accommodating, they supplied us with a play pen for our little one. I wouldn't say that our stay was bad because it wasn't, I just think that this hotel needs to pay closer attention for the fine details. I'm a little bit of a clean freak and have higher expectations especially when staying in a hotel.

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Alicia P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2014

Booked on a bed and breakfast rate for two. Best deal in town. Very good breakfast buffet and the room was great. Opted for the standard room, as a room with a view is of no value... unless you go to Banff to stay in your room!

Room Tip: Ask for the best rate over the phone.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank theoracle44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
1 review
Reviewed March 14, 2014

Had a really great stay and can't wait to come back again. The service was phenomenal, particularly James at the front desk. He was able to answer all of our questions and was supremely helpful and did so in a really happy manner.

Thanks again.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Jenna0356
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clovenfords
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2014

I travelled with my husband and my 9 year old son to Banff in February, and we stayed at the Banff Caribou Lodge for 2 weeks. This was my first time in Canada, and my experience there has just made me more determined to go back!
The Caribou is lovely. The staff are wonderful, and the facilities are excellent. I couldn't fault anything. Everyone was so friendly and helpful. The rooms are just right, if a little warm, but that's just a quibble. The Keg is a MUST. The food is to die for, and the waiting staff are attentive and friendly. Thanks must go to Mark, who looked after us all superbly well. Whatever he is paid can't possibly be enough!
Same must be said of the hotel reception. Ciaran ( probably spelled wrong) was a lovely guy, who always went that extra mile for you.
The bus for the ski resorts stops right outside the hotel, which is great when you've got 3 sets of skis to lug about! Those with ski passes travelled free every day ( I presume it's factored into the cost of the pass) . Those paying cash paid 15 dollars return. We also received a Roam bus card from the hotel, which allowed us to hop on and off the local Banff bus whenever we liked, which I thought was a nice touch. We used it quite a bit, as some nights it was too cold to walk up the street, for fear you would lose a nose on the way!
The skiing was FANTASTIC! It's my fist time in Canada, so I have nothing stateside to compare it with, but the ski resorts were superb. No queuing for chairlifts, no grumpy lift attendants, just great skiing, whatever your ability. European resorts would do well to go over there and see how it's done. These guys make it look easy. They even have ski friends or buddies on the slopes. They are around to answer any queries you have, and give free guided tours of the slopes. We didn't take advantage of them, but saw them around the slopes often. They were usually of a retired age, but BOY, were they good skiers!

Would we return? Hell yeah! Already saving up for 2016. And I'm willing to forego an interim European ski break to afford it! To think you can have a fortnight in Canada for £5k, but you'll pay £3k for a week in Europe. It's a bit of a no-brainer, really.
Anyone thinking of the Rockies for their next Canada trip could do a LOT worse than the Banff Caribou Lodge. It's got my vote!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Suzanne L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level Contributor
117 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2014

Nothing bad about this hotel, all positive. Only thing I can think of that was below standard is the fact that the underground parking stalls were very narrow, I mean VERY narrow and tight especially if you're driving a SUV or mini van. The breakfast buffet inside the Keg restaurant was excellent. It may or may not come with your room package, do check first. We had a room with a balcony facing the main street. But with good insulation, we didn't even hear the traffic going by. And the hot tub/pool is big and spacious. Highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alvin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innerleithen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 9, 2014

stayed at the caribou for the second time and this hotel does not disappoint, excellent staff , yummy food served by the kegs excellent staff (mark.s, Rikki and the young ski guy cannot remember hisname) rooms clean and beds sooo comfy after a days skiing, lovely lobby with log fire and good efficient check in staff , all in all a great stay and will go again, WELL DONE CARIBOU LODGE !!
P.S give the keg staff a raise, they well deserve it!!!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank janicepringle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Banff hotels
0.1 mi away
Fox Hotel & Suites
Fox Hotel & Suites
#13 of 32 in Banff
2,070 reviews
0.5 mi away
Moose Hotel and Suites
0.1 mi away
Rundlestone Lodge
Rundlestone Lodge
#8 of 32 in Banff
1,085 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hidden Ridge Resort
Hidden Ridge Resort
#12 of 32 in Banff
1,979 reviews
0.2 mi away
Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge
1.2 mi away
The Juniper Hotel
The Juniper Hotel
#4 of 32 in Banff
864 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa

Property: Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa
Address: 521 Banff Avenue | Box 1070, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1H8, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Banff
#7 Business Hotel in Banff
#10 Romantic Hotel in Banff
#11 Family Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 190
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Banff Caribou Lodge is centrally located on Banff Avenue, Banff's main street. It offers the Keg Restaurant, Red Earth Spa (a full service spa), free underground parking, free wifi, fitness room, hot pool and steam room. This lodge type accommodation has a large and inviting lobby to greet you to Banff. Enjoy your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Priceline, TravelUp, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banff Caribou Lodge And Spa
Banff Caribou Hotel Banff
Caribou Banff
Caribou Lodge Banff

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing