We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ski Weekend”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa
Ranked #13 of 33 Hotels in Banff
Calgary, Canada
1 review
“Ski Weekend”
Reviewed March 14, 2014

Had a really great stay and can't wait to come back again. The service was phenomenal, particularly James at the front desk. He was able to answer all of our questions and was supremely helpful and did so in a really happy manner.

Thanks again.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Jenna0356
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,999 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    749
    817
    286
    108
    39
See reviews for
374
1,053
74
62
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (359)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Clovenfords
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2014

I travelled with my husband and my 9 year old son to Banff in February, and we stayed at the Banff Caribou Lodge for 2 weeks. This was my first time in Canada, and my experience there has just made me more determined to go back!
The Caribou is lovely. The staff are wonderful, and the facilities are excellent. I couldn't fault anything. Everyone was so friendly and helpful. The rooms are just right, if a little warm, but that's just a quibble. The Keg is a MUST. The food is to die for, and the waiting staff are attentive and friendly. Thanks must go to Mark, who looked after us all superbly well. Whatever he is paid can't possibly be enough!
Same must be said of the hotel reception. Ciaran ( probably spelled wrong) was a lovely guy, who always went that extra mile for you.
The bus for the ski resorts stops right outside the hotel, which is great when you've got 3 sets of skis to lug about! Those with ski passes travelled free every day ( I presume it's factored into the cost of the pass) . Those paying cash paid 15 dollars return. We also received a Roam bus card from the hotel, which allowed us to hop on and off the local Banff bus whenever we liked, which I thought was a nice touch. We used it quite a bit, as some nights it was too cold to walk up the street, for fear you would lose a nose on the way!
The skiing was FANTASTIC! It's my fist time in Canada, so I have nothing stateside to compare it with, but the ski resorts were superb. No queuing for chairlifts, no grumpy lift attendants, just great skiing, whatever your ability. European resorts would do well to go over there and see how it's done. These guys make it look easy. They even have ski friends or buddies on the slopes. They are around to answer any queries you have, and give free guided tours of the slopes. We didn't take advantage of them, but saw them around the slopes often. They were usually of a retired age, but BOY, were they good skiers!

Would we return? Hell yeah! Already saving up for 2016. And I'm willing to forego an interim European ski break to afford it! To think you can have a fortnight in Canada for £5k, but you'll pay £3k for a week in Europe. It's a bit of a no-brainer, really.
Anyone thinking of the Rockies for their next Canada trip could do a LOT worse than the Banff Caribou Lodge. It's got my vote!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Suzanne L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2014

Nothing bad about this hotel, all positive. Only thing I can think of that was below standard is the fact that the underground parking stalls were very narrow, I mean VERY narrow and tight especially if you're driving a SUV or mini van. The breakfast buffet inside the Keg restaurant was excellent. It may or may not come with your room package, do check first. We had a room with a balcony facing the main street. But with good insulation, we didn't even hear the traffic going by. And the hot tub/pool is big and spacious. Highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alvin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innerleithen, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 9, 2014

stayed at the caribou for the second time and this hotel does not disappoint, excellent staff , yummy food served by the kegs excellent staff (mark.s, Rikki and the young ski guy cannot remember hisname) rooms clean and beds sooo comfy after a days skiing, lovely lobby with log fire and good efficient check in staff , all in all a great stay and will go again, WELL DONE CARIBOU LODGE !!
P.S give the keg staff a raise, they well deserve it!!!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank janicepringle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
59 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here with my husband and daughter for 3 nights for a ski trip.
Pros: Keg restaurant
-nice hot tub
- beautiful foyer with nice fireplace
- nicely renovated bathrooms since my last stay in 2005

Cons: rooms are super small
- no fitted sheet on beds- the sheet kept slipping off, revealing a nasty plastic mattress topper under... Icky.
- we were given an "upgrade" to a balcony room, too bad it was directly over top of the parkade garage doors
- SUPER hot in the room, had to turn off the heat AND sleep with our balcony door open in mid winter.

Overall, staff were very accommodating and pleasant. The hotel has a nice ambiance and the smell of the fireplace is amazing to come back to after a long day of skiing.

Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Zoeybear123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 2, 2014

Had a great stay this weekend at Caribou Lodge. Very nice hotel and excellent service. James was the best, whether it was where to eat, places to go out or activities for the day he was there to help. Definitely recommend staying here!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank al519867
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2014

My wife and I are just back from a 10 day ski trip and had an excellent stay in this hotel. Check in was quick and efficient and staff were friendly and helpful throughout. We were booked in to a standard room but ended up in room 349 overlooking Banff Avenue with a personal balcony. Much better than I expected..! Breakfast is served in the Keg restaurant within the hotel and is either A La Carte or Buffet. We opted for the Buffet on each occasion which at $15.95 each was good value. Good selection of cereal, fresh fruit, breads pastries and croissants as well as the usual hot buffet offerings. Unlimited tea coffee and fruit juices. No issues with housekeeping who maintained our room to a high standard throughout .I also liked their ski storage facilities. We were assigned an individual locker with combination lock provided within their heated garage. Safe and secure and not the usual refrigerated conditions that I have experienced in some other hotels. I should also mention that the ski shuttle bus pick up and drops off right outside this hotel which is very convenient. The main town centre is a pleasant 10-15 minute walk (depending how fast you walk) and a free 'roam' bus pass was provided by the hotel which gives you unlimited bus travel in and around Banff. Welcoming log fire always on the go in reception area and room temperature was always pleasant even when it was -31 outside. Wi-fi was reliable and we never had any issues getting our devices connected. Free digital room safe which is ideal for those travel valuables. Hot pool and steam room are good for those cold days when you get back from the slopes. No problems getting our hire car into the garage for a couple of days which is provided free of charge to guests. Would thoroughly recommend this hotel to others and wish to extend my thanks to all the staff for making this such an enjoyable stay.

Room Tip: Can only comment on our room, 349 which was corner room with balcony overlooking Banff Ave. No compl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Iain A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Banff hotels
0.5 mi away
Moose Hotel and Suites
0.1 mi away
Fox Hotel & Suites
Fox Hotel & Suites
#12 of 33 in Banff
2,159 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hidden Ridge Resort
Hidden Ridge Resort
#15 of 33 in Banff
2,049 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge
0.4 mi away
Banff Aspen Lodge
Banff Aspen Lodge
#7 of 33 in Banff
1,431 reviews
0.1 mi away
Rundlestone Lodge
Rundlestone Lodge
#6 of 33 in Banff
1,125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa

Property: Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa
Address: 521 Banff Avenue | Box 1070, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1H8, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Banff
#7 Business Hotel in Banff
#10 Romantic Hotel in Banff
#11 Family Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 190
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Banff Caribou Lodge is centrally located on Banff Avenue, Banff's main street. It offers the Keg Restaurant, Red Earth Spa (a full service spa), free underground parking, free wifi, fitness room, hot pool and steam room. This lodge type accommodation has a large and inviting lobby to greet you to Banff. Enjoy your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banff Caribou Hotel Banff
Banff Caribou Lodge And Spa
Caribou Banff
Caribou Lodge Banff

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing