We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Couple Weekend Away” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa to your Saves list
Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   521 Banff Avenue | Box 1070, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1H8, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 32 Hotels in Banff
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Couple Weekend Away”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

We stayed two nights in a loft/king/jacquzzi Suite. It was a nice get-away. The room was super comfortable. We ate breakfast at the Keg twice, great buffet choices. Also used the spa for a couples massage and a workout in the morning. It was nice to be able to dip into the hot pool afterwards....a very relaxing day. I would recommend the Suite for a special night, worth it!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Fourniers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,696 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    658
    686
    234
    87
    31
See reviews for
310
888
64
51
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (315)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Laurencekirk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

We stayed for two night at The Caribou Lodge , when we went through the Rocky Mountains in the Great Rocky Mountaineer train , which was a great experience . When we went into the hotel , just at the right hand side of the check in desk was a roaring log fire which was a great welcome for me .All the staff were very helpful the food was very good . Our room was very comfortable with great bathroom . We could not say anything about the swimming pool and spa , so we cannot comment on that side of the hotel , but the rest was excellent .

Room Tip: Our room was very comfortable and nice and quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew William B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013 via mobile

Booked 'bed & breakfast' promotion online. Fantastic value. Room was very clean and well appointed. Bathroom was nice but toilet was situated so close to the vanity it was laughable. Angle seating required if you are larger than a 10 year old girl. The included breakfast at the Keg was more than ample.
Only complaint was that we returned late after a movie to find the parkade full. No access code required to park and a few vehicles did not have passes so that is bound to happen.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Ryan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

We stayed at the lodge as it was the host hotel for the Winterstart night race. We arrived early as the roads leading from Calgary to Banff were questionable. Once we arrived the people at the test made sure our room was ready even though we were 2 hours from check in.
Our room was clean and comfortable.
The spa was spacious and well maintained. Although we only live 1hr away from Banff we WILL be staying at the Caribou Lodge and Spa again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Maria R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth
Level Contributor
40 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

Stayed at Caribou lodge at the beginning of our Canadian adventure.
Very easy welcoming check in. Room great .best bed I have ever slept in. Staff very helpful.on our first visit to the bar we asked if they had any potato chips to go with our drinks. When they came the chef had actually made them.
Breakfasts very good. We're given free bus passes to use during our stay.We used them to go to the gondola ride and hot springs .although we enjoyed the 15 minute walk into town.
Would not hesitate in staying again.
Good laundry facilities .Used the spa for a manicure which was fine but some of the treatments were a bit pricy

Room Tip: Breakfast buffet is extensive at around 14 dollars . But if your not big eaters first thing it's...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Val041
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelowna, Canada
Level Contributor
65 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

I booked the Banff Caribou Lodge using Olotel for a song - $105 a night for the Canadian Thanksgiving weekend. This almost seemed too good to be true as most other sites listed $160 or more - but low and behold it was legit.

Our experience was overall excellent. The hotel is well situated, a few blocks down from downtown Banff. The property is 20 years old, but all rooms and the hot tub room were recently renovated.

Parking is indoors, warm and free, and check in was a cinch. Our room was in a quiet corner of the 3rd floor, and nicely appointed including a balcony. There are caribou antlers adorning the bed and art on the walls, and historic photos of Banff in the corridors. The hot pool area is very attractive, and the pool is quite big. It was however much too hot and chlorinated (my only complaint about our stay). The lobby has a roaring fireplace, and is a nice place to sit after everyone else has gone to bed.

Our family of four found this to be an excellent base to explore this stunning corner of the world. banff is one of those very special places, and the Banff Caribou contributes to the overall ambiance with grace.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tizmania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toowoomba, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

recently stayed for 3 nights at this hotel. Check in was smooth and reception staff extremely friendly and welcoming. Our room was vey nice, but no A/C, very 'stuffy', we removed the insect screening and opened the window for some fresh air. Rooms must be very hot in the summer months. The hotel restaurent was closed for renovations during our stay, but staff were very
helpful in suggesting alternatives for both breakfast and dinner and offered to organise transport. There were plenty of close by eating options.
Free wifi and a comfortable walk to the town centre.We did note that the bathtowels were very worn, thin and ' fraying ' on the edges of towels, obviously need replacing. We also had a maintenence issue one evening and this was attended to very promptly. would we stay again? yes i think so and i would recommend to others.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank majella b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Banff hotels
0.7 mi away
Hidden Ridge Resort
0.1 mi away
Fox Hotel & Suites
Fox Hotel & Suites
#12 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 stars 1,901 reviews
0.1 mi away
Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Rundlestone Lodge
Rundlestone Lodge
#6 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 stars 959 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Juniper Hotel
The Juniper Hotel
#3 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 stars 678 reviews
0.4 mi away
Banff Aspen Lodge
Banff Aspen Lodge
#9 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 stars 1,188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa

Property: Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa
Address: 521 Banff Avenue | Box 1070, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1H8, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Banff
#7 Business Hotel in Banff
#10 Romantic Hotel in Banff
#11 Family Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 190
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Banff Caribou Lodge is centrally located on Banff Avenue, Banff's main street. It offers the Keg Restaurant, Red Earth Spa (a full service spa), free underground parking, free wifi, fitness room, hot pool and steam room. This lodge type accommodation has a large and inviting lobby to greet you to Banff. Enjoy your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Odigeo, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banff Caribou Lodge And Spa
Banff Caribou Hotel Banff
Caribou Banff
Caribou Lodge Banff

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing